We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome with a very few hiccups”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Silver Sands Holiday Village
Ranked #26 of 64 Hotels in Candolim
Mumbai
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Awesome with a very few hiccups”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

The hotel was highly recommended by a Goan friend and it didn't disappoint.

We had requested a pool-facing room and to my delight, we were given a really early check-in as the room was available.

Shailesh at the reception was incredibly efficient and friendly. There was another lady at the reception whose forever smiling face really made us feel at home. They even arranged an Avenger motorcycle for us within 30 minutes of asking for it.

The room was large, airy and clean but AC was not upto the mark- the maintenance people tried their best but cooling was mediocre at best. Though it was offered, we didn't bother with a room change as we were out most of the time and the AC was adequate during the night time when run at full blast.

Except for one of the waiters who was quite rude, I found the staff very helpful and ever-willing to go out of their way to make us comfortable.

Though the hotel is not located right on the beach, it's barely a minute's walk to the sand. While on the beach, I highly recommend Bono's Shack- good food and the cleanest washrooms I have seen in any shack. There are a number of fantastic restaurants in the area as well.

The pool was clean and the water was crystal clear in spite of the heavy traffic.

The only thing that really nagged me was being charged 1500 (which apparently is 400 above norm) for an airport pick-up and the driver saying it did not cover the cost of putting the car's AC on.

All in all, a great experience and I absolutely recommend this hotel if you're staying in Candolim.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank Sunil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    186
    85
    33
    33
See reviews for
97
280
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights and really appreciated the value we got.
The staff is very polite and "liked" the fact that we were there. This is so much missing in Hotel staff around the world.
The rooms were good size that allowed us to have an additional mattress.
The chefs were friendly and accommodated to our food preferences and even cooked out of menu dishes for us.
The access to beach is great. Swimming pool was cold and probably needed more chlorine so I was little afraid for my kids who I am sure were drinking from it as all toddlers do.
Breakfast is not that great so that is something they can improve on.
Overall a great value for money. We would love to stay there again.

Room Tip: I would say book the cottage as it gives you an impression of having your own space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sumaximus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Not recommended if you are going for an Indian Family Vacation. It's not worth the money you pay for a standard room.The rooms are average with bare minimum amenities, open parking and no kids pool.

For full review, please visit <http://geekytalks.com/?p=18>

Room Tip: There are rooms with balconies facing Amenities or peaceful compound. Choose one based on your perso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pooja S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

we had booked a bungalow room with Thompson, when we arrived they tried to put us in what I can only describe as a beach shack!!! all the other bungalows are made of brick and this one they tried to put us in was made of wood, with holes everywhere, no proper shower, only a hand held one and no working a/c. we complained and I must say they didn't seem surprised. they said they would not have another bungalow room until tomorrow but they would move us to a standard room until then. so when we finally got a proper bungalow we were happy. many people we spoke to had moved rooms for one reason or another. other than that the staff are really helpful and the bar staff are really friendly. the room where the safes were, were always full of mozzies. we had a few cockroaches in our room but staff soon dealt with this. as my heading says a mixed bag. location is excellent, rooms are ok, staff are lovely

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tab80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We recently returned from the SSHV and this was our second visit when previously we had a standard room three years ago booked with TC. This room was a bit tired with not much of a view. This time we stayed in a superior room booked with Thomson and that was one of the best rooms I have ever stayed in. Certainly the largest bed and the flat screen TV was spot on. Reading about the A/C did remind me how loud it was but I recommend a Honeydew or three at night to sleep through it! We had a wonderful view of the gardens from the balcony and spotted mongoose and squirrels from the balcony. The staff were really friendly in the Chicago restaurant on-site and the seats outside and we never waited long to be served. Breakfast is a bit of a joke but it serves a purpose but if you miss it don't worry as there are plenty of places a stones throw away to eat at and that's not including the superb shacks on the great beach. We are going back in 2015 for 3 weeks this time, the hotel, location and staff being that good.

Room Tip: Make sure you book a Superior Room or a Bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank majorboggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
72 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We stayed in this hotel in the month of March after reading the reviews in Tripadvisor....Word of caution: All the high ratings are given by tourists from abroad whose expectation in service levels are really not that demanding...and here in comes the difference. Let me elaborate a little. We were 2 couples and we booked directly without going through any travel website. We had spoken to Mr. Peter, the hotel manager and we had specified not to put us in the annexe. We were in the hotel on the scheduled date and to our utter surprise we were directed towards the annexe only which is known as the Angara. And we anticipated what was in store for us. The rooms there although big were very shabby. There was no water or tea coffee machine in the room. Surprisingly there were no toiletries. After speaking to Peter a lot he promised to shift us to the cottages the next day. He is a good man and he kept his promises. The cottages were better though everything was basic. So please do not have high expectations in terms of services or privileges. What you will get is a decent room, some basic services but a great location and also very less Indians. The pool is nice. The breakfast is served in place opposite to the hotel. The complimentary breakfast includes bread butter jam and tea. Everything else is chargeable. The location is great and hence you will get a lot of restaurants in and around. Just on the crossing you have a great departmental store which will help you get all the necessary stuff including water, alcohol and all other essential items. You pay less and you get less is what Silver Sands Holiday Village is all about. However if you are in the cottages you will not be disappointed. Its basic but still gives a good feeling. We did not regret much but had expectations which this hotel could not live upto.

Room Tip: Choose the cottages, its basic but still much better than the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buzo_Pops_Dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandigarh, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2014

we arrived at this Hotel in check in hours of the evening surprised to know they have no cottage that was booked by us they give us standard room and not refund the difference of price. we saw big spider on the roof, when we got to the room, it was the most basic room I have seen in many years. The bed was not good, uneven, the pillows smelt, when I looked under the pillowcase, and mattress, it was so stained that I consider it a health hazard! the shower had filling with dust. As if that was not bad enough, the view from the door was a rubbish dump at the back of the hotel The air conditioning unit was filthy and was blowing dust everywhere in non working condition, another health hazard!.The breakfast was toast and tea, the staff did not even bother to speak to us or try to be helpful. Appalling ,We have been coming to Goa for 10 years and have never stayed in such poor accommodation. If you are considering this Hotel, .......don't.

Room Tip: Please conform your booking before going to hotel because you pay for cottage and get standard room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amrinderdaffu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Candolim hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Silver Sands Sunshine
0.2 mi away
Sea Mist Resort
Sea Mist Resort
#24 of 64 in Candolim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ruffles Beach Resort
Ruffles Beach Resort
#38 of 64 in Candolim
3.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Casablanca
Casablanca
#20 of 64 in Candolim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Candolim
Casa Candolim
#30 of 64 in Candolim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lui Beach Resort
Lui Beach Resort
#39 of 64 in Candolim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Sands Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Sands Holiday Village

Property: Silver Sands Holiday Village
Address: Murodd Waddo, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Candolim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Sands Holiday Village 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Silver Sands Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Sands Holiday Village Hotel Candolim
Silver Sands Holiday Village Candolim
Silver Sands Holiday Village Goa/Candolim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing