We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good for the price you pay.”
Review of Lui Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lui Beach Resort
Ranked #39 of 64 Hotels in Candolim
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Really good for the price you pay.”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We booked this hotel as part of a very cheap package holiday. It was in fact the cheapest holiday that Monarch had online. I checked Trip Advisor and the price to book was just over £10.50 a night for 2 people, bed and breakfast. I am deliberately labouring the point that this hotel is very, very cheap and we found it excellent value for money. I am completely bemused by the recent reviews on here as I really find them to be unreasonable, as did the many other guests I spoke to at breakfast last week after we had read them whilst still there.
Even though the checkin time was at 3pm on the arrival day, all of the guests on our bus were allowed immediate entry at about 7am. We didn't like our first room due to a stale smell in our clothes cupboard and we were moved with no hassle to a different room, with the room 'boys' actually helping us to repack and move.
Staff were unfailingly friendly and helpful, pool was cleaned at length every day, bed was comfy, ceiling fans did the biz and food was good, if a little pricey in comparison with other local places. We were happy with our stay and would recommend this for a good budget hotel.

Room Tip: We declined room 123 due to the smell (think we may have been the first people in this season) and w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shasmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    63
    32
    15
    15
See reviews for
32
99
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We stayed nov 2013On arrival we were shown to a room we had not requested after 30 minutes of hearing many excuses and arguing with the owner and manager we were shown a better room.the room was ok apart from being very dirty . The bed linen was dirty was dirty the towels were filthy we asked for clean towel but they were just as bad.the curtain didn't cover the Frosted glass windows we could not shut two of the smaller window lots of cobwebs still the cobwebs pro alex caught a few mossies .more time could have been spent cleaning the rooms rather than making swans etc out of the towels .pool area and stairs up to room were very dirty.the dining area was a few plastic tables and chairs around the bar with sky sports and news on all day no music.we booked band b which consisted of two pieces of toast and one butter portion and jam not really a breakfast.for another two pieces of toast and 1butter portion we paid 70rupees each.the manager tried to get us to eat there all the time but didn't feel it was worth the risk .live entertainment was a karaoke night once in two weeks.all in all a very very poor stasome people go back time after time WHY is beyond me

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 123capri280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stockport
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

My wife and I and 11 friends arrived back on saturday 30 th of november after 3 weeks at the lui beach resort in candolim. On arrival at the hotel we had to wait 5 hours for our room to be ready. Not the the best start to the holiday, but never mind this is Goa. We all changed money at the hotel reception 95 rupees to the pound, l thought not bad at all until we got 200 yards down the road , the rate there was 100rps to the pound. It may not sound a big difference but every hundrerd pound spent is a fiver x 13 persons is 65 quid so beware. When we got to our room it was very basic but quite clean we were put into room 110 overlooking the swimming pool. Most of our party were put into this block but some were put further down the street to what my friends called the dungeon. They asked for a move but had to stay there because the management said there were no more rooms available . Sleep there was almost impossible due to dogs barking all night and men selling samosas and bread from there push bikes tooting their horns at all times of the day, they did eventually after a week get moved into the reception block. The hotel has a couple of theme nights per week usually barbecue nights or sizzler nights with karaoke following after . Beware of these nights as the foods takes forever to come , and its never what you order. The hotel staff are fantastic especially the room boys and the lads on the bar , special mention to raj great lad . They work stupid hours and the management make them sleep in reception , totally unacceptable. That enough said about the hotel. The rest of our first week was usually spent at the calamari shack not bad at all but the music did get a little repetitive and loud at times. After a few days spent in south goa in tents we returned to candolim to find our favourite shack Bonos had opened this shack is a must place to visit the staff are fantastic the sunbeds are new and the toilets are spotless. All said and done would I use the lui beach resort again probably not as there so many just a little more upmarket hotels in the area

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderer334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed at Lui Beach leaving on the 30th November after having a very good time.
Joe and all the staff could not do enough for us are room was cleaned daily and may I add standards were very good,dining and pool area always cleaned daily or when needed, staff were very friendly and polite always on hand if you should need anything
We are ready to go back there the area peaceful and relaxing only a few minutes away from the beach.
My husband went fishing each morning and evening to catch the elusive salmon which Joe did i daresay we will be returning in the near future and then the fishing can begin again.
Thanks to all at Lui Beach.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sukiWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We had booked rooms together via expedia. Reaching there they gave us one room in another block and remaining in another. Since you have a group booking and are on a holiday, you would love to stay together, but the hotel owner joe quim does not agree at all. He said, you should stay in a chawl or dormitory if you want rooms together. This is the welcome we received at this so called resort. On complaining to Expedia, the expedia customer care guy talked to the owner and replied - the owner talked to him in the same rough way and insulted him. That was funny. Haha. The owner talks in such a way that you feel that you are asking for a free stay or getting paid to stay. No one cares that you have paid for a holiday. It's like you have paid so now you repent since you can't do anything.

In no way, you can call it a resort. Resorts are for relaxation. Here, your next door neighbour are residents with kids going to school. Maybe the owner or his staff's family. You cannot make noise in the swimming pool. You are a big group of friends. They want you to sit quietly and do meditation it seems. The pool is cleaned from 8 am to 10 am - if that is when you wish to go swimming, you cannot. If you ask for extra towels, they refuse, Instead they threaten if they find stains on the towels already given, they would charge you extra. They say they provide you towels on alternate days. When asked to give towel on alternate day, they say you are checking out today. I said should we not take a bath, the manager smiled. If they have towel rules, they should put a notice in the room.

I spotted a big worm on the bed. See photo. There were lot of dead flies lying around near the attached balcony.

* Electricity goes randomly at any time.
* Water becomes unavailable at any time - including in the mornings.
* Their waiter smiles at you when the manager tells about the towel rules. Later he tells you this is a bad place, isn't it and smiles. And informs he plans to quit soon.
* Their breakfast has nothing - just bread and toast and terrible tea. And everything is very expensive. A bowl of cornflakes for 120 bucks, milk glass for 50 bucks, omlette for 90 bucks and mind you this is not even a 1 star. This is how they loot you. and to get 2 pieces bread and toast, they take 15-20 mins. It would have been cheaper if we had purchased a premium toaster and our own bread. or a pack of cornflakes.
* their extra mattress should have been photographed - i forgot to do that. you can touch the floor in patches in between. they are so bad.
* if you are 10 ppl, they will give you 5 towels and make you beg for more and take half hour to get.

On the plus side,
location is fine, 10 mins walking from beach. pool is clean after cleaning - that guy alone seems sincere.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank luckyady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Location of the hotel is really good. Just five mins walk from the serquim beach. Rooms are very clean and service is also really good. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Highly recommended for budget travellers.

Room Tip: They have two buildings. Choose the rooms in apartment type building since they are really big with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rushir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

I am on the last day of my stay here. Having been to goa several times i have stayed in some very iffy places. This hotel is clean friendly affordable. It also boasts a very good pool and small garden . It is a 2 star that thinks it is a 3 star. I would recomend and i will come back.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lordleyfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Candolim
0.6 mi away
Ruffles Beach Resort
Ruffles Beach Resort
#38 of 64 in Candolim
3.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.1 mi away
Xavier Beach Resort
Xavier Beach Resort
#42 of 64 in Candolim
3.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casablanca
Casablanca
#21 of 64 in Candolim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Silver Sands Sunshine
3.7 mi away
Hotel Palacio De Goa
Hotel Palacio De Goa
#13 of 47 in Panjim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aldeia Santa Rita
Aldeia Santa Rita
#17 of 64 in Candolim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lui Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lui Beach Resort

Property: Lui Beach Resort
Address: Dando Candolim | Near Kingfisher Villa Candolim, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 64 Hotels in Candolim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lui Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lui Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lui Beach Hotel Candolim
Lui Beach Candolim
Lui Beach Resort Goa/Candolim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing