We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sea Mist Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sea Mist Resort
Ranked #22 of 64 Hotels in Candolim
Certificate of Excellence
Zeist, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

We spend two week here in January 2014. Fortunally we had two rooms here after we left another hotel. Staff is very friendly, rooms are India norm, clean and comfortable Breakfast is a litle bit poor Evert morning The same card and not much variations on it. But its ok to stay here for two weeks but note that iTS locaties Ad The Amin road in Candolim so the restaurant is on a Bush postion.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank kokvandermeij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    77
    22
    3
    8
See reviews for
39
87
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Dartford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

Our stay, 8th to 22nd December 2013 was our fourth visit to Casa Sea Shell. It soon became clear that standards have dropped.

We had pre-booked and requested a high floor without A/C. Our room was in the first block on the first floor. All rooms now have a/c and we did not want to be mistakenly charged at the end, so we handed back the remote for the a/c unit. A fridge was offered for 150 rupees per day, (£1.50), but we declined.

ROOM, the room had a very musty smell about it when we entered, I don't think it had been used for some time. The floor and furniture was very dusty, I cleaned the inside of the wardrobe and drawers to remove the layer of dust before we unpacked our clothes. This place underwent a room refurbish a few years ago but already the mattresses were old and tired. The edge of mine was completely broken down on the side where, (overweight?), guests sat. We stripped off the bedding and completely flipped the mattress over. This improved things marginally but two weeks in a bed like this and I kept rolling to the side which was collapsed. I washed the little tray which held two glasses. The dirt which came off when I soaped it was amazing! On our second day, and after the room had been serviced, the floor seemed much cleaner underfoot because the cleaner had been in and swept it. The floors, to my knowledge, were never mopped, in fact I never saw a mop in all the time we were there, only a broom. Perhaps no-one has taught these room cleaning men how to clean properly.

BATHROOM, we had no hot water from day one. My husband had a quiet word with reception and lo and behold suddenly there was water! Next time we wanted to shower - no hot water again. Another word and it appeared as before. After a bit of detective work on his behalf he discovered that they were turning the pressurisation pump situated in the loft off. It seems, by the noise which it is making, that the pump is on its last legs and staff were putting off the inevitable - a new pump. One night, there was no water to flush the toilet! The hand basin was badly cracked and the floor needed deep cleaning especially around the edges in order to remove the black scale.

BREAKFAST, included, tea or coffee and toast with jam. One day we were given margarine instead of butter which we refused. Toast was cold every day as was the coffee which needed crutches to get out of the pot. We took the toast to the beach to feed to the cows, they were always grateful!

POOL, rare in this price bracket. It was very pleasant area with beds and umbrellas together with towels. The water was absolutely freezing though! Many species of birds here and in the lovely gardens.

STAFF, Wilfred the manager and Clyde were lovely people, as were the staff with whom we came into contact. Not much English spoken though,

Would we stay here again - Not unless the levels of service are improved and the hotel undergoes a refurbishment. and deep clean.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Eric Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

We ate at the Sea Shell on our 2nd night and was lovely. We both had starters of onion bhaji and garlic mushrooms followed by a curry each. The butter chicken was lovely and everything was hot and fresh with friendly staff, although on occasion Misunderstood us due to the language difference. Great value for money and a really nice atmosphere.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Lavina1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
197 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

We enjoyed our second visit of 10 days to the Casa Sea Shell. It's been 4 years since our last visit. Since then there's been a change of owners. The standards of cleanliness and courtesy are still high. The pool area is well maintained each morning. The restaurant is still serving very good food, too. It was also nice to see a TV and phone in the room. However, I was dismayed with the extra payment of a refridgerator which is now standard in hotels of the same rating. Also, new owners, I strongly suggest you install WIFI into the hotel as well. I would have stayed in for meals, coffees, drinks rather than being sent elsewhere. Screens in the windows wouldn't go amiss either. These are positive suggestions because the Casa Sea Shell is such a friendly and nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Any room is fine. They all have little balcony which faces the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NiniBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

I booked this place based on my past experience. Their management has changed now and the hotel will be called Sea Mist from now on. Majority of their staff are from Kolkata, Odisha and North-Eastern states and unfortunately cannot understand English and Hindi. It is always a guesswork whether they have understood your instructions.
Though I had mentioned i will be coming with family they did not mention that they only have single beds, which when joined pose extreme discomfort. The person who setup our room was very rude and refused giving extra blankets when we tried to stuff them in the gap between two beds to make it suitable for our kid. When we insisted, manager visited and implemented our solution.
Good part: swimming pool
They had promised breakfast included, but it actually includes only tea/coffee and bread butter and nothing else. They do not have parking facility as well.
When i suggested the manager that they should train their people to be more polite in the service industry, he gave me a shocking answer. He said, "Our patrao (boss in konkani) says don't allocate rooms to Indians in the peak season".
Do i need to say more?

Room Tip: they don't have double beds and spring mattresses are horrible
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amitdharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in early December and have a very enjoyable stay. The rooms are large, bed was comfy and a big tv with film channels (handy to have on in the background when you are getting ready). The pool was lovely and clean.

The staff were very polite, very helpful and very happy. The food is so delicious in their restaurant we didnt eat anywhere else! I would absolutley recommend the fish masala, probably the best thing I ate for the whole holiday.

Management are very helpful in helping to arrange trips and if you can, try to get Sunny the taxi driver. A very lovely happy many who speaks excellent English and is a safe pair of hands to have on the wheel! :0).

We would definately love to go back here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jennie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

Stopped here from 1 December and leaving the 16 th I would recommend this hotel for any one stopping in candolim, the staff can't do enough for you, the rooms are great with a nice 21 inch flat screen tv plenty of sports channels( premiership) comes in handy when your waiting for the missus getting ready. Rooms Cleaned everyday the gardens and pool area are always well kept. The food at the restaurant is great although we only ate here once on a evening ( only as we love trying different places) the food that was served was marvellous.
A few things need to be addressed (are not enough around the umbrellas around the pool area and no wifi apart from that a big thumbs up

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerrynufc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Candolim hotels
0.5 mi away
Casablanca
Casablanca
#21 of 64 in Candolim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Silver Sands Sunshine
1.1 mi away
Lui Beach Resort
Lui Beach Resort
#38 of 64 in Candolim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Silver Sands Holiday Village
0.2 mi away
Casa Candolim
Casa Candolim
#28 of 64 in Candolim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ruffles Beach Resort
Ruffles Beach Resort
#36 of 64 in Candolim
3.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Mist Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Mist Resort

Property: Sea Mist Resort
Address: Vaddy, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India (Formerly Casa Sea Shell)
Region: India > Goa > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 64 Hotels in Candolim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sea Mist Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Mist Resort is Located just 100 Meters away straight walk to the famous Candolim Beach and on the main street where all happening nightlife and major restaurants dazzle each traveler; a popular tourist destination in North Goa, 12 kms from the capital city of Panaji and 40 kms from Dabolim Airport. The Resort offers a charming blend on idyllic beach side location and a base to explore North Goa, a former Portuguese colony famed for places of worship like the Basilica of Bom Jesus, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, and world heritage architecture like the Fort Aguada. All rooms are carefully designed to tickle the tastes buds of modern travelers and over look beautiful gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Sea Mist Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Sea Shell Hotel Candolim
Sea Mist Resort Goa/Candolim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing