We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazingly Unique”
Review of Aashyana Lakhanpal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aashyana Lakhanpal
Ranked #24 of 64 Hotels in Candolim
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
85 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Amazingly Unique”
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

Spend few days with college friends after 23 years since we parted. Couldn't be a better place on planet earth for our get together after ages. Aashyana Lakhanpal made all the difference in making our holiday so much more fun & memorable with its unique ambience, decor, architecture, quite & relaxing environment which is in complete harmony with nature and second to none in the entire state of Goa. The atmosphere is homely, staff is courteous & caring, food is just what one wants but never gets out of home and the whole property is so unique that experiencing it is the only way one can understand it's understated charm. This should be one of the places on the "must visit list of places of the world before one dies". We all were glad that we selected Aashyana Lakhanpal as our first get together since we left college. We are definitely coming back again pretty soon to escape the maddening life we lead in cities!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Anuraag M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    19
    7
    1
    4
See reviews for
46
18
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 December 2013

I stay at aasyhana lakanpal for three days. Amazing and outstanding place. Recommend you stay here if you truly want to have an goan holiday at ease and luxury. The morning walk to fort aguada was the most amazing walk i have ever had.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sorabhjain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We spent a week at Aashayana Lakhanpal. Overall we were pretty impressed, and had a good time, but a couple of reservations. The development is very stylish, clearly the owner has a passion for art and style, reflected certainly in the decor of the main house and gardens. But in pursuit of the artisitic ethos, it felt to us that some of the basics of resort provision have been overlooked.

I've visited India on a few occasions. You're always going to get bugs and things, but having a tree frog living permanently in your toilet from 6pm until 3am every day is a problem hat needs addressing. There are always staff knocking about, but it seems surely sensible to provide some sort of buzzer/ telephone form the villas to the main house?

There is a lovely path from the resort, but it is unlit for the 100 yards or so from the beach to the spa area. I always have a head torch for my foreign travels, but this is a glaring omission. I realise there is little benefit to the resort of the guests going to the beach where there is other, cheaper food on offer!

Laundry - there are no clear instructions anywhere as to how/ when it is done? Luckily, Matilda is very helpful.

Food - only on the last day did we discover that breakfast is included, but that all other meals are charged at IR700 PER HEAD PER MEAL. This is very expensive by Indian standards. By and large the food was ok, but you can get more choice, and same quality in the beachfront restaurants for a fraction of the price. Also, they deliver it, then come an hour later to collect the trays, but spend a while in your kitchen washing up before toddling off. It's ok, but all a little bit invasive really.

There is air con in the bedrooms, but not in the main living area of the Casinas. We were only really in of an evening, but this seems a bit of a let down in a resort of such cost and apparent quality.

I can't complain too much, they were all very friendly, although all the younger guys clearly angling to the 'end of week tip'. Miraculously Matilda, the matriarch was nowhere to be found when we went to give it at the end of the week, and it went into the pocket of one of the younger guys who actually ran towards me to intercept when he saw me on my way to the big house on the day of departure holding an envelope! Seemingly, Matilda (who is omnipresent), 'wasn't around'. I hope it got shared because although some parts of this review seem harsh, we had a good week, and it is a nice resort.

Room Tip: Main house hugely superior to the casinhas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dadmancat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candolim, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 December 2013

The lovely grounds unfold as you drive past the entrance from which you can glimpse the main house, beautifully designed with an open plan, courtyards and verandahs. Materials used are natural, speaking to India's talented craftspeople with beautiful woods, stone floors and lovely cottons. Our room was very large with a sit in area, great light, zen courtyard and large bathroom. We could hear the ocean waves and the palms rustling! The staff was attentive and responsive and made us feel at home, We were so relaxed that we did not want to leave the property with it's new teal stone infinity pool, so divine in the way it was set into the grounds. We enjoyed spectacular sunsets viewed right on the property that has several seating areas facing the ocean. We enjoyed lovely Indian food of our choosing-delicious salads, home made chappatis, indian dhals and veggies, fresh fruits and juices, all very healthy and tasty! Whether vegetarian or not, selections can be tailored to your preferences. It is hard to believe that this oasis exists in bustling Candolim. We are still thinking about this wonderful experience and the gracious manner in which we were treated.

Room Tip: Upstairs has a private balcony and cottages are very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jumpstart59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We tried one of the villas at Aashyana Lakhanpal for a few days and was delighted.
The Villa was comfortable, and the service excellent.
The gardens leading down to the pool and the beach create an island of calm amongst the bustle of Candolim and being able to walk onto the beach, without shacks in front of you, is a bonus.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jtowies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Having just returned from a week at Aashyana Lakhanpal, where I was blown away by the villas, the swimming pool, the yoga studio, therapy rooms, and the delicious meals, I hardly dare write this review for fear that everyone will discover this paradise. This is a truly unique place, it feels much more "real" than a big chain five star resort, and is peaceful and beautiful. The villas are clean and stylishly furnished, with granite kitchen tops, and well designed bathrooms (some of which are open air which I found added to the fun of being in Goa).

The ozone-filtered 25metre pool for the 3 smaller villas was crystal clear and good for swimming laps, or just cooling off. We also spent a lot of time at the beach, which is a 1 minute walk from the secluded pool, and has wonderful beach shacks - our favourite was the Dreamer's Shack for good food and ambience.

For yoga enthusiasts, the recently built yoga studio has an Iyengar yoga wall, and all the relevant equipment.

A big thank you to Ajai, Matilda and the staff for the visit of a lifetime. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: For large groups, try for the main villa. For mid size groups the Venus villa has huge bedrooms an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RS1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
63 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

My husband and I spent four nights at Aashyana Lakhanpal on the beach near the strip in Candolim, Goa. It was the perfect place to relax and escape the heat and hectic scene that characterizes much of Goa's beach scene. We felt that we had entered a quiet sanctuary designed to take you back in time to Goa before it became a beach resort for the world- but close enough to get to the restaurants and the like if you wish....we didn't once we got there! Coconut palms surround the beautiful infinity pools that are long enough to actually swim in. The newest one is half olympic length and is made from teal blue tiles that glow in the filtered light- it was heavenly! Our best pool ever. Art is placed throughout the garden and villa, and the grounds are meticulously groomed- but to look natural and not like something dropped in from an American country club. The rooms were spacious and comfortable, the staff accommodating and the food excellent. We both had the best massages ever at the spa located at Aashyana Lakhanpal- by their resident therapists- a female for the women and her husband for the men. Both are well trained in ayurvedic massage. The lodge is designed with the large verandas in the old Portuguese style, and there is a beach cabana where you can watch the sunset on the beach in relative privacy. If you desire a real getaway without the crazy thumping of music and people, head directly to Aashyana Lakhanpal and stay there! That is what we did and it was terrific!

Room Tip: We were in room no. 2- with a lovely view of the garden and pool. All of the rooms seemed to be qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Candolim hotels
0.6 mi away
Seashell Villas - The Villa Hotel
0.1 mi away
Sonesta Inns
Sonesta Inns
#7 of 64 in Candolim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Candolim
Casa Candolim
#30 of 64 in Candolim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Marquis Beach Resort
Marquis Beach Resort
#14 of 64 in Candolim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Goa Candolim
Hyatt Place Goa Candolim
#13 of 64 in Candolim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.4 mi away
1265 Crescent Villa
1265 Crescent Villa
#29 of 64 in Candolim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aashyana Lakhanpal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aashyana Lakhanpal

Property: Aashyana Lakhanpal
Address: Escrivao Vaddo, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Candolim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Aashyana Lakhanpal 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The choice is yours to be pampered in the elegant luxury of Aashyana Lakhanpal, the fully staffed 5 bedroom villa with private pool, or reside in style at one or more of the three self contained two bedroom Casinhas - each complete with an individual, private garden and shared pool. Villa Venus, the 3 bedroom self contained independent property with private pool, offers the perfect opportunity to 'get-away-from-it-all' in a traditional Portuguese villa, circa 1830, lovingly restored to retain an authentic feel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aashyana Lakhanpal Goa/Candolim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing