We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“awesome time!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The RETREAT by Zuri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The RETREAT by Zuri
Ranked #21 of 37 Hotels in Salcette District
Bilbao, Spain
Level Contributor
148 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
“awesome time!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

The hotel is located in a colonial-style building and looks fabulous in the photos. The hotel seems to target local guests most of all, which is well-reflected in the cuisine. I like Indian food so I was quite pleased, but it is definitely a question of personal taste and/or digestive possibilities. There is very little around – what I can recommend is the old bazaar in Margao and an elephant trip. The beach is lovely and I enjoyed the food in the little beach restaurants. But then again, I am adventurous foodwise. In general, I can recommend this place to anyone with strong tastebuds!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trvlgrll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    91
    28
    8
    8
See reviews for
75
89
4
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
72 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

Located away from the hustle and crowd of the town, its a perfect place to unwind. The rooms are just perfect. The staffs are very friendly and food is good. the pool, bar, sports actitivity makes it a perfect place for a weekend holiday. The beach is accessible from the hotel and is about a km away... The beach is quite with very few visitors that makes it a perfect place to relax and enjoy to nature..

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nitin_Kalothia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

The Retreat by Zuri, Currently Club Mahindra Emerald Palms(CMEP), is a nice place to relax. We (my wife, daughter & myself), enjoyed thoroughly as we had our own car, else, it would have been a nightmare reaching this place. We had no option as Club Mahindra Varca (CMV) was completely full and we were lucky enough to get accommodation at CMEP at the last moment. Our Check in on 24th May 2012 was smooth and we had a nice dip in the pool that evening as from the next day onwards the pool was scheduled for repairs. We could use all the facilities of CMV and visited Varca Property and its beach 3 times during our stay at CMEP. The food for members is quite expensive but we wre lucky enough to be out sight seeing most of the time so we enjoyed eating out. Though we had one dinner there too on 27th may 2012 our last night at CMEP. The food is excellent and if you are a foodie, you will enjoy. We being vegetarians too had a good choice. About the property, its a very good place with more than 100 rooms and the one in which we were put up was on the ground floor right behind the swimming pool. It is a spaciaous 1 Bedroom apartment with 2 bathrooms. The only drawback we found was that the Bedroom does not have any natural light and ventilaition so if there. Otherwise it was extremely comfortable. The Airconditioning was really good. About the staff, very decent and ever helpful. I used the gym and also the spa and enjoyed thoroughly.

Room Tip: A Room on the floors above with balcony seemed better, though our room on the ground floor too was N...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meshcons2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad
Level Contributor
69 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

Our friend is a member of Club Mahindra and was eligible for 3 rooms at a Mahindra Resort.
We opted for Goa - Would have preferred to stay at the Varca Resort but no rooms there.
The place was quite nice - Airy reception area, quick and hassle free check-in, rooms were not very large but not too small either.
We all had a Studio room - 1 bedroom with a dressing area and a bath and 1 sitting room with a 'pull-out" double bed and a separate bathroom - Comfortable for 4 persons.
Efficient air conditioning, efficient and quick room service, efficient house keeping, polite staff.
The breakfast was a decent spread, well priced considering it was a resort hotel. Did not have a lunch or dinner at the hotel - ate at Beach Shacks.
The swimming pool was alright, but being summer was packed with kids.
Other facilities include a pool table, a TT table and the like.
One can hire bicycles from the hotel to ride around - quite convenient to go the beach which is nearby.
There being a power shortage in Goa, no power for almost 16-18 HOURS a day the place is run on generators, quite efficiently I might add - However, we had the bad luck that our rooms were bang next to the bank of generators and there was this incredible noise emanating for the machines!!
Overall - Not bad but not the best

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room as far away from the generators - They are VERY NOISY
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VinayAsar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

I will just say never go with Travel Potter.They are only interested in your money not bothered about your feelings with which you plan your vacations.Once they will receive money from you they will not entertain any complaint about any inconvenience you faced.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ashish207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

had a good experiance during my stay here... and i would definitely consider staying there during my next goa trip. the resort was build like a portuguese village... g+1 villa kind of rooms. rooms were decent sized and well maintained. the beds comfortable and balcony comfortable for 5-6 ppl to sit and have drinks during evening. the staff was very responsive... very hospitable.

am a stickler for cleaniless and a dirty room or loo would mean am never going back to that hotel... but this place was very clean. the housekeeping took care that the room was clean... all sand was removed... no musty smell in the room... the beds were clean and well made

on the downside.. this place is away from the beach... there is actully nothing around it... no place to eat and all...like most south goa resorts... and i would not call it a resort... also the pool was quite small

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jyotsnakp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

All people that wish to attend expecting Club Mahindra quality and service, please DO NOT go to this "resort". Old unmaintained rooms, with LEAKING toilets and faulty AC control units. Extremely poor customer service - in room dining forget half your order each time. And server in the restaurant are not prompt or attentive. Also no facilities what so ever on site, except for an overpriced spa. The worst issue with this is that club mahindra purchased this from zuri 2 months back, so according to the CM staff at the resort, most of the support staff are zuri staff that haven't been trained up to CM standards. And this is a fact that the CM staff use as an excuse for the ever apparent poor service! A pathetic excuse for a resort let alone a club mahindra resort.

Room Tip: Choose a different resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nnarayan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salcette District
14.1 mi away
Club Mahindra Emerald Palms
20.9 mi away
MAYFAIR Hideaway Spa Resort
MAYFAIR Hideaway Spa Resort
#7 of 37 in Salcette District
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
15.0 mi away
Club Mahindra Varca Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson
9.8 mi away
Alila Diwa Goa
Alila Diwa Goa
#2 of 37 in Salcette District
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,799 reviews
4.2 mi away
Stonewater Eco Resort
Stonewater Eco Resort
#3 of 5 in Bogmalo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The RETREAT by Zuri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The RETREAT by Zuri

Property: The RETREAT by Zuri
Address: Pedda, 403721, India
Region: India > Goa > Salcette District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Salcette District
#7 Romantic Hotel in Salcette District
#8 Spa Hotel in Salcette District
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The RETREAT by Zuri 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country Inn and Suites - Goa is conceptualized and designed to give guests a feel of Portuguese village life. Reminiscent of the Portuguese Architecture in Goa, the design is replete with Portuguese design idioms. Guest rooms are planned around the courts. Inward looking these rooms are placed in different levels to give a feel of village staggered and random in nature. Each courtyard has a character of its own, complete with fountains, cobblestones, lawns, parterres and topiary well maintained and manicured. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your The RETREAT by Zuri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Retreat By Zuri Hotel Salcette
The RETREAT By Zuri Goa, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing