We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay in Alila Diwa Goa in October'2013”
Review of Alila Diwa Goa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alila Diwa Goa
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Salcette
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stay in Alila Diwa Goa in October'2013”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

The lovely hotel for people who would like to relax and have quiet vacation. There are several very good restaurants/cafes and shop(s) inside and even near the hotel so you could find everything you want even you do not like to go outside.
Very supportive personnel who provides good service (answered on all e-mails before and helped on everything during stay).
Amazing swimming pool with field view and great view on the sunset. Placed at 5-minutes walk distance from the ocean, however the hotel provides back and force shuttle service to pickup lazy :) guests.
Provides some entertainment like live music at some evenings but I would recommend to make some more focus on entertainment.
I would definitely love to return there one day.

Room Tip: terrace room was quiet good in terms of cleaning service, fruit plate, conditioner & bed & m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Galya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SSavkur_GM, General Manager at Alila Diwa Goa, responded to this review, 28 February 2017
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. Your positive comments are very much appreciated. I am delighted to know that you had an overall great stay. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warmest Regards,

Siddharth Savkur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,870 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,133
    525
    128
    41
    43
See reviews for
615
719
42
172
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (554)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

Travelled to this resort for relaxation and rest. The hotel didn't disappoint: beautiful outdoor infinity pool overlooking fields and palms, spacious rooms, tastefully lit walkways at night, and buildings with understated charm. The spa offered a range of treatments in well appointed rooms in a quiet area of the hotel. The Indian food was excellent and a highlight was a trip to the local fish market to choose some of the day's catch to cook. Later we met with executive sous chef Rananjoy Banerjee who entertained and informed us along with his team on fish preparation, local spice combinations and marinades. The work stations were kept very clean and well organised. The meal was made more special having taken part in its creation and increased our respect for the work that goes on behind the scenes in a hot kitchen environment making such fantastic food. The beach could be reached on foot or by hotel shuttle bus and an early morning walk caught the sea at a peaceful time.
The staff have been friendly, and attentive. As a hotel-based holiday it catered for our needs to rest and relax. Keep up the standards and good work Alila.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Adrian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SSavkur_GM, General Manager at Alila Diwa Goa, responded to this review, 28 February 2017
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. Your positive comments are very much appreciated. I am delighted to know that you had an overall great stay. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warmest Regards,

Siddharth Savkur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We spent a week at this hotel following a week of travelling and in hindsight that was a great decision. Goa generally was much more laid back than some of the other places we had been to and the Alila Diwa offered everything we wanted.
Our room was large and very comfortable.
We probably should have made more effort to get out and about but staying at the hotel is too easy!
There are a couple of restaurants within walking distance and I can also recommend the Spice Studio in the hotel.
One of the bonuses for me was that the ladies toilets by the pool were air conditioned and so clean!
Another bonus was the friendliness and hepfulness of the staff which in my opinion is key to a good holiday.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lmm10_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SSavkur_GM, General Manager at Alila Diwa Goa, responded to this review, 28 February 2017
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. Your positive comments are very much appreciated. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warmest Regards,

Siddharth Savkur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Great hotel in Goa . Staff were excellent and very friendly. Rooms, pool & spa were great. Food was good but dining room very noisy especially in the evening. Only downside we thought the hotel was bit too isolated for us- not able to walk to restaurants etc outside the hotel. Taxis were needed and 1.5hour drive to main shopping and markets. However we did enjoy our stay very much and as we had been travelling in India for 2weeks prior to our stay we enjoyed the luxury & relaxation. We would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SSavkur_GM, General Manager at Alila Diwa Goa, responded to this review, 28 February 2017
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. Your positive comments are very much appreciated. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warmest Regards,

Siddharth Savkur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I stayed her with friends and we booked a suite for us. I must say the room was "massive" and we had two luxurious bathrooms in our suite. We really felt pampered with quality of service offered by the hotel staff. You should book this property if you are looking for : Massive luxurious rooms, Good food, Close proximity to the airport and friendly staff.
The hotel also offers facilities like free shuttle to the nearby beach, leisure concierge to help you plan your day and other adventure activities.
P.S. They have a large swimming pool with a spectacular view.

Room Tip: Dont miss the Breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mayankm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SSavkur_GM, General Manager at Alila Diwa Goa, responded to this review, 28 February 2017
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. Your positive comments are very much appreciated. I am delighted to know that you had an overall great stay. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warmest Regards,

Siddharth Savkur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

After careful consideration and reading a lot of reviews our expectations were pitched somewhat higher than we are experiencing currently at this hotel. All inclusive is at best partially inclusive and we are yet to understand what is and is not included. There is a lack of information about the hotel and facilities, Indeed I have had to search the internet to get some information about the hotel and surroundings. The on site restaurant offers a selection of food although there is no rhyme or reason to the setting. Desserts are set between curries and pastries and the staff are disorganised so it's a bit of a lottery whether you get served before the end of your meal with a beverage. Sat at the pool bar and decided on a coffee to be told they don't have a machine! I guess we are not getting any coffee. Table service is sporadic and close to non existent; we persistently have to return to the bar for drink orders whilst the staff stand together chatting. Facilities are okay and the setting is very nice making it very easy to relax which is the main purpose of the trip but such a shame the hotel is failing to meet expectations. There is such a huge opportunity to make this a great place but sadly this is not being taken up.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeilA_001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SSavkur_GM, General Manager at Alila Diwa Goa, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you for alerting us via this forum about your experience while still in-house, therefore allowing us an opportunity to make immediate amends. It was my pleasure to make contact with you, and I was glad to hear at that point that your experience was already improving. I certainly hope that we changed your impression of us before you returned home!

I appreciate your feedback and sincerely hope to welcome you back to our resort!


Best regards,

Siddharth Savkur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We have just returned from 3 weeks in India and Alila Diwa was an absolute pleasure. Landing in Goa felt like we had gone to another country, after the craziness of Rajasthan this hotel was heaven!
The hotel is really quite huge and spread out and has quite a Balinese feel. So much bigger than the photos and our expectations. We were upgraded on arrival which was a fabulous surprise, and spent 80% of our time in the Diwa Club. The rooms were huge, huge bathroom and balcony, though we spent most of our time by the pool which was super peaceful. The food and service were fantastic. Entertainment in the Edge Bar was good too. All of the staff were fabulous. The hotel also does some really fun things with food ... food carts with street food, bbq's, cocktail and salad bar's ... all plenty to keep you well fee and entertained if you didn't want to leave the hotel.
A shout out to Edia in the Spice Box restaurant, she was a chef who chatted to us to make sure our meal was ok - it was amazing! Def give the restaurant a try. So glad we did as we almost didn't after reading a few of these reviews. My husband also tried the spa which he loved and 10/10 of the gym facilities (palm tree view, great equipment and fresh lime to add to your water!).
The beach is a short walk down a path at the back of the hotel. You share it with water buffalos and interesting views. You can catch a shuttle but we only did this after watching the sunset on the beach when the walk back was dark. it only takes a few minutes to walk or drive.
There are heaps of beach shacks on the beach to sit and watch the sunset. (The pink sunsets are just heavenly!!) Martin's Corner is a completely delish (and cheap!) restaurant only a short walk away. And there are 2 good restaurants out the front of the hotel. All you need to keep occupied!
We did a day with a great driver organised through the hotel- Jorge (Jorgie's Taxi's) - and he made the day. Such an interesting guy and gave us some great insights to Goa's history. If you are deciding between North and South, would definitely do the South. We struggled to decide but so glad we went with South. North Goa is like Kuta on steriods!! :)
If India was such a long flight away, South Goa would be our new Bali!!

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Diwa Club if you can. It gives you another huge pool and a private restaurant where y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HolidayGalQld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SSavkur_GM, General Manager at Alila Diwa Goa, responded to this review, 28 February 2017
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. Your positive comments are very much appreciated. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warmest Regards,

Siddharth Savkur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salcette
4.3 mi away
Taj Exotica Goa
Taj Exotica Goa
#1 of 14 in Benaulim
3,000 reviews
10.5 mi away
The Leela Goa
The Leela Goa
#1 of 10 in Cavelossim
2,250 reviews
10.8 mi away
Grand Hyatt Goa
Grand Hyatt Goa
#1 of 3 in Bambolim
2,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
16.5 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Holiday Village, Goa
17.6 mi away
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
#6 of 65 in Candolim
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alila Diwa Goa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alila Diwa Goa

Property: Alila Diwa Goa
Address: 48/10 Adao Wado | Majorda, 403713, India
Region: India > Goa > South Goa District > Salcette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Salcette
#2 Spa Hotel in Salcette
#2 Romantic Hotel in Salcette
#2 Luxury Hotel in Salcette
#3 Family Hotel in Salcette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Alila Diwa Goa 5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alila Diwa Goa is situated in South Goa along the coast of the beautiful Majorda Beach with panoramic views of vast verdant paddy fields leading out to the Arabian Sea. The resort is also perfectly located just 20 minutes from Goa’s Dabolim International Airport. Alila Diwa Goa blends contemporary Goan architecture with the magic of Goa’s cultural richness to create a stylish and relaxing environment that remains true to the destination. At the heart of the resort is an endless infinity pool that extends out into the paddy terraces. Its 153 rooms and suites are designed for quiet indulgence with an amazing bath experience, luxury bedding and a private terrace to take in the picturesque setting. The resort is complemented by a family entertainment zone that includes a theatre and children’s activity centre, and a comprehensive event centre that can accommodate your need for a versatile and ‘surprisingly different’ venue equipped with a ballroom, meeting rooms and a large outdoor lawn that can accommodate up to 300 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Alila Diwa Goa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alila Diwa Goa Hotel Salcette
Alila Diwa Goa India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing