We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Fish Preparations”
Review of Papa Joe's

Papa Joe's
Ranked #15 of 129 Restaurants in Salcette
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Indian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Pune, India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent Fish Preparations”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Enjoyed the cosy homely atmosphere. Very good selection of home style preparations of fish and chicken.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sunil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    29
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Must visit for authentic goan home cooked meal”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Papa Joe's is a small yet neat restaurant at Orlim. We visited this place on a sunday for lunch, got the recommendation from a local newspaper. The atmosphere was relaxed with garden ambience and local goan music playing in the background. They have a nice little buffet spread on Sunday. The menu had mango chutney, salad, fish cutlets, mackrel fry, kismur, cabbage fugath, chicken cafreal, prawn curry, sorpotel, sanne and rice. Both fish dishes were very tasty because the fish- mackrel and prawns, was really fresh. Chicken cafreal was yummy. The two dishes I found here which generally don't appear on menu card were kismur and sanne. The kismur was a salad of dried prawns and sanne was an idli like thing with toddy used to ferment the batter. All this information was of course provided by the hosts. Our lunch was concluded with a bowl of fruit salad with creamy custard. What a meal we had at this place!
One must visit this place if in Varca or around for freshest fish and home cooked goan food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Madaks_pod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bombay
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“excellent home cooked food...... fresh seafood”
Reviewed 12 July 2013

This is a small litle restaurant near varca. Its like yiu are eating @ home. The guy there was very nice and welcoming we went inthe rains at 3 for lunch. So place was pretty deserted and we the only customers. Itsthe perfect home cooked meal u cud get. We had the prawn curry rice with a red snapper rawa fried. Both were terrefic the curry was nice almost like home made. The prawns were fresh and sonwas the redsnapper. Enjoyed the meal a lot.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kaizu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Home made Goan food at its best”
Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

A small home based restaurant which serves fresh sea food. We had the fish curry which comes with rice which we loved.
We also had veg xacuti with chappatis. The chappatis were absolutely soft and the xacuti had the feel of simplicity.

This place is total value for money.

Worth a visit if all you're looking for is a good meal that reminds you of home

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mumclt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Super like Xacuti.....pure veg. Must go.”
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Super veg food. Homemade food. Sol curry and Xacuti. Very fine. Great chef Nella. I am loving it. We had great time with friends and family. All pure veggies pla do visit nice place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank viralvira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Papa Joe's also viewed

Varca, South Goa District
Varca, South Goa District
 
Varca, South Goa District
Cavelossim, South Goa District
 

Been to Papa Joe's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing