We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Location”
Review of Coconut Grove

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Coconut Grove
Ranked #21 of 39 Hotels in Salcette
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2013

We were on the lookout for a hotel that fit our definition of a holiday in Goa - a closeby beach, good food, peace & relaxation & a romantic walk on the shore. It was pure luck that we found this cosy little resort tucked away in a peaceful, quiet village, nestled amongst swaying palms !! Our room was quite spacious & clean. And the gardens... oh so lovely.. with well - manicured lawns & lots of colorful flowers. My fiance absolutely adored their gardens !! The staff were very helpful & friendly. The best part about this place was its closeness to the beach....just a 3 minutes walk, clean & most of all not crowded. I can honestly recommend this place to anyone looking for some peace & quiet. Thank you Coconut Grove for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank knightnarmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genman1, General Manager at Coconut Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely comments. We appreciate you taking the time out to post your valuable feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 2 weeks, we had stayed here before a few years ago , you can see a big difference in the change of management.The service in this hotel is pretty poor throughout, with breakfast being the worst .Their isn t anyone with any authority around and the staff act like their in a play ground oblivious to guests .The rooms could do with a good clean and in some areas a lick of paint and they are very inconsistent when servicing your room you never know whether you will get all your towels or even a toilet roll.

Room Tip: all the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank essexgirlnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genman1, General Manager at Coconut Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2013

Dear Guest,

We apologize if our service standards did not meet with your expectations. Please be assured that we have made a serious note of it.

We humbly request you to experience the difference on your next visit by giving us an opportunity to serve you again.

We appreciate you taking the time out to post your valuable feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013 via mobile

I chose this as my honeymoon destination and loved it totally. couldn't be more satisfied. friendly staff, nice hotel, wonderful beach, good food.

very peaceful and beautiful location.

cheers
http://www.beingtraveler.com

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beingtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genman1, General Manager at Coconut Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2013

Dear Guest,

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us & look forward to having you stay with us again.

Thank you for taking the time time out for posting your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013 via mobile

My wife and myself stayed here for 2 weeks in Feb 2013.On arriving the reception area is inviting and nicely laid out.Our room was a nice size but let down by a mouldy bath and shower curtain and dingy bed sheets.There was a daily inconsistency with the supply of refills of consumables ie shower gels,coffee, tea etc.We had to ring reception several times to chase up these items.
The breakfast service is a shambles to the point that after the third day my wife went to complain to the hotel manager about lack of eating and drinking utensils and the serving staff standing in the corner fooling around and showing no interest whatsoever in serving. The following day there was a slight improvement however we still had to constantly promt staff for items.The general cleanliness of the tables was poor and we never observed any wiping down of them. On a positive' the breakfast food was good especially the omelettes.
It is a shame the service and the low levels of cleanliness let this hotel down as the hotel despite being tired has pleasant well maintained gardens.
It seems that after our arrival there was never a competent member of staff at front of house who was capable of dealing with an issue or request without having to make a mystery call...very odd !
We have been fortunate enough to experience many hotels of various standards in different countries including several previous occasions in India but this hotel experience was very disappointing.
It seems this hotel is seriously lacking some responsible management.In our experience at present we believe this hotel at its current standard is overpriced.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StraightDownTheLine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genman1, General Manager at Coconut Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We have made a serious note of it & have initiated action to rectify the same.

We request you to experience the difference on your next visit by giving us an opportunity to serve you again.

We appreciate you taking the time out to post your comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

First impressions were good - the grounds are lovely and the reception staff are very pleasant. However, the cleanliness of the room was shocking. The shower curtain was mouldy, the table in the bedroom was encrusted in dirt, the fridge was filthy and everything else was generally a bit grubby and could have done with a good scrub. I've travelled widely and don't mind roughing it one bit, but for the price we paid, I expected a lot more. If they paid as much attention to the rooms as they do the grounds, they would be on to a winner.

The swimming pool is also quite dirty and really doesn't look inviting at all. We spend about 15 minutes there one morning and had to leave due to a very unpleasant smell!

Breakfast was ok. We didn't eat anything else at the hotel, so couldn't comment on the lunch and dinner. We wandered past a couple of times on our way to the beach and there seemed to be nightly "entertainment".

We spent a fair bit of time at Ahnri's beach shack on sunset beach (turn right when you get to the beach and walk for 10 minutes). Lovely people, lovely food and stunning sunset views.

We travelled down to Palolem and Patnam for a couple of nights and paid less than £10 per night for a beach hut which I would definitely recommend. We also had a tour of one of the spice farms and had a look round Old Goa. Both quite a pleasant way to spend an hour or two. I would also recommend cola beach which you would need transport to get to. There are always taxis outside the hotel and the rates they charge are displayed in the hotel reception.

South Goa is a beautiful place and we'll definitely return - just not to this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genman1, General Manager at Coconut Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2013

Dear Guest,

We regret that our service standards did not meet with your expectations during your recent visit.

We assure you that the same has been taken care of and would request you to visit us again and feel the difference.

Thank you taking the time out to post your valuable feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

Ambience is good. Close to beach hence you save time. You can land on beach early morning spend time , take bath at beach & be free by 10 am and have full day to travel to other places. Good beach shacks at Colva which is close by for sea food and Domincs is good and reasonable. Staff is junior and need trainging. General Manager will tell you "n" things which you have done wrong when you go to complain. The staff needs to be trained to say " Customer is always right" . Security guy will tell guests where not to park your car and harrass you so the staff park in shaded places and guests park in sun under coconut trees for coconuts to fall. Had to tell him to go away & lodge a complain after a few days.
Location is the best part. If you need service please go for branded property or be ready to face this.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a beach property and quiet time... this is good place. Good family crowd come...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SNMG304554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genman1, General Manager at Coconut Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2013

Dear Guest,

We were quite surprised & taken aback after reading your review. Especially after you had tendered an apology for offending the staff. Yours is the first of its kind! Whilst we understand that you were upset that our resort did not have 'car wash facility services' it did not necessarily entitle you to use abusive language and shout at the Security guard or the Front Desk staff who were merely doing their duty of informing you. Nor did it mean that you could hurl dirty wet cloth pieces on other cars parked or take car floor mats to be washed in your room, as a way of showing your annoyance. Such behaviour is unpleasant and totally unacceptable for it is demeaning, demoralizing and downright insulting to the staff. The security guard stationed at the car park area was there to assist vehicle owners in parking, to ensure that vehicles are parked in an orderly and safe manner and not to harass you. Our General Manager was kept informed of the incident and had to intervene and speak to you as the staff were frightened (esp. the lady staff) by your outburst and feared another one. Yes, as a general thumb rule, the customer is always right. But, your instilling fear & using appalling language on lower rung staff is not acceptable, they are individuals with feelings too.

We are in the service industry, providing a 'safe', healthy and comfortable environment for both our guests & staff which are of utmost importance. Globally, familiarizing yourself with the hotel compendium is important as it will give you a general idea of the hotel facilities. If at any point of time you should have some complaint at a hotel you are staying at, may we suggest that you bring the same to the management's notice tactfully, without the use of expletives.

Thank you though for taking the time out to voice out your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Coconut Grove Resort Revisited.

Going back to Goa never fails to enchant. Going back to a Resort you have liked is always with a little bit of trepidation. Have things changed, will it be the same, have the staff been moved around, would the stay be different? – a thousand questions attack.

So there are a thousand moments of relief when I step into the Coconut Grove Resort at Betalbetim, Goa. Marc is still around, Diana is still manning the reception, Ashok is still keeping an eagle surreptitious eye out for the comforts of the guests, Amit is still scurrying around seeing that all the small things are in place and Sabby is still supervising the Kitchen, turning the usual into the unusual.

The staff is not intimidated by the full house they have and the hotel is so well spread out that you only get to meet the other guests either at Breakfast or Dinner time when the local musicians serenade you with the guitar, violins or saxophone.

Housekeeping is upto the mark and Santosh keeps an eye out on the well landscaped Garden. Unfortunately no turtles this time of the year.

Visiting Goa around Christmas is always fun. The entire state is decked up, the air is festive, Christmas is in the air. The only thing that one fears are the massive crowds. One carried this fear this time; after all was visiting Goa at season time after many many seasons gone past. But surprise surprise. South Goa is still relatively crowd free and the beautiful yellow sands outside Coconut Grove resort just have the hotel guests. One can splash around and swim without being disturbed, free of all touts. There are a few shacks outside the hotel but they are best used to grab the occasional beer.

On my way out I made a promise to Ashok and Marc I promise to keep. It’s Coconut Grove Resort for me every time.

Room Tip: Book the Front Two cottages every time. You cannot go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mazahir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genman1, General Manager at Coconut Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time out to post your lovely comments. We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay.

We look forward to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salcette
0.3 mi away
Martin's Comfort
Martin's Comfort
#14 of 39 in Salcette
186 reviews
1 mi away
Praia da Oura
Praia da Oura
#2 of 4 in Majorda
24 reviews
1 mi away
Beleza...by the beach
Beleza...by the beach
#1 of 5 in Betalbatim
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Stonewater Eco Resort
Stonewater Eco Resort
#3 of 5 in Bogmalo
135 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alagoa Resort
Alagoa Resort
#3 of 5 in Betalbatim
183 reviews
1.6 mi away
Longuinhos Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Grove

Address: Betalbatim beach, 403713, India
Region: India > Goa > South Goa District > Salcette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 39 Hotels in Salcette
Price Range: £79 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coconut Grove 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Coconut Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Grove Goa, India
Coconut Grove Resort Goa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing