We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to the Beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Coconut Grove

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Coconut Grove
Ranked #17 of 39 Hotels in Salcette District
New York
Level Contributor
112 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“Close to the Beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Arrived here without a reservation in early August, was able to get two rooms. Rooms were spacious, overlooking the garden area. Beside the bed, we had a couch, coffee table, two chairs, large flatscreen TV, closet and small balcony. They are located about a 2 minute walk to the beach, along a path that runs from the back of their property.

A few disappointments:

Wi-Fi is available, but you have to pay for it, which was weird since it was free at the other 12 places we had stayed in India. Our tub had disgusting long-term stains and mildew.

Tequila Bar, but no Margaritas. What? How is that possible?

Hot water that fluctuated in temperature every day.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyouandI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genman1, General Manager at Coconut Grove, responded to this review, 5 January 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feedback though, we are a little unclear on some of your issues.

Anyway, thank you for taking the time to post this ' review '.

Wishing you & your family A Very Happy New Year 2015.

Warm regards,

Marc Fernandes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    73
    29
    18
    11
See reviews for
57
83
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
204 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

South Goa is definitely more calmer than its northern counterpart. I personally love the beaches of South Goa, and Betalbatim is one of the cleanest I have ever seen. The location of this resort is top notch, being just a 2 minute amble from the beach.

Since we had been to Goa in the rains (my favourite time of the year), the resort was virtually empty and we had it all to ourselves. All the cottages are garden facing, and the rear side has an open view of the lush green fields. The drive to the resort from the airport is also lovely with acres of greenery to be seen.

We had negotiated a good MAP package with the hotel which was definitely VFM. The food was good, and the dining hall always had peppy Goan music playing. Just that the service in Goa is incredibly slow. One has to really order in advance and budget atleast 30 minutes before you get the food on the table, in case you order a la carte.

The famous Nostalgia restaurant in Raia is only a short drive from here.

All the rooms here are in cottages. We had chosen the first floor, as it had a nice balcony and sitting here enjoying the rains was a delight. Their WiFi is not too fast, but hopefully it has improved since I last went. Very clean and well maintained rooms and bathrooms.

If you happen to visit Goa in June, then try to go during the Monsoon Sao Joao festival (24th June usually), as you can see the Goans in full revelry, jumping into ponds, wells, rivers, and having a gala time. This festival is dedicated to St John the Baptist, and the very imposing church at Benaulim is also not too far from here.

Room Tip: All the cottages are nice. We stayed on the first floor as it had a connecting room and also a nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zenobia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genman1, General Manager at Coconut Grove, responded to this review, 5 January 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the lovely feedback and the beautiful description.

We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Also taking this opportunity to wish you & your family A Very Happy New Year 2015.

Warm regards,

Marc Fernandes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurangabad, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed for 3N-4D Package. If your purpose if a quiet, undistubed holiday wth picturesque surrounding, this is the place for you. The beach is only 2 minutes and almost deserted so that you can enjoy it peacefully rather than other crowded beach of Goa. Breakfast was a good platter with lot of options. However, more care about cleanliness/hygience shall be appreciated. Food is very good. I shall recommend others to go for it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandarWalvekar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genman1, General Manager at Coconut Grove, responded to this review, 5 January 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the lovely feedback. Your suggestion has been duly noted.

We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Also taking this opportunity to wish you & your family A Very Happy New Year 2015.

Warm regards,

Marc Fernandes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

I once again headed towards Goa this year with my partner to celebrate his birthday and got a very good package at Coconut Grove. I liked the location and the greenery in the resort so booked it with some issues getting thro to reservations. I was happy to get a good deal with breakfast and dinner, airport transfers and one day sightseeing with boat cruise thrown in. The airport transfers went smoothly and we were very impressed. The resort lies very close to the beach which was a plus, just 5 min walk to the beach and we could watch the beautiful rising and setting of the sun. The swimming pool was small but we had a good time playing basketball, sad they didnt have a gym. About the food we were surprised to find it so bad for the first two days, they served all the food cold though they had the facility to heat up the food and only after our intervention the breakfast and dinner were served hot, all the Russian guests should thank us for that..lol. We had booked one of the two cottages and to my utter delight I found it had a sitting room, a spacious bedroom, tiny kitchenette, a more tinier balcony which faced the lawn and a nice bathroom with a tub however we did not forsee the kind of problem we would face the first morning, we woke up to the whole cottage floor flooded with water, apparently there was a leak from the geyser and water was gushing out, all my clothes in the suitcase got wet and we immediately complained. The resort took one full day to repair it and we were so upset and wanted to walk out of the resort. Anyway my clothes were dry cleaned, pressed and returned back to me. The next disappointment at this resort was the boat cruise. We had already taken this cruise last year and had a terrible experience with the other tourists, boys drunk and dancing and passing lewd comments and taking pictures so we had stressed that if it is the same cruise then we would not be interested but we were assured by the reception that this cruise was different so we took the one hour drive to north Goa and found to our disgust that it was the same cruise, there were about a 100 people squeezed in the line, waiting as if to board the Titanic so we cancelled our trip and returned back to the resort so upset and angry about the utter waste of time. Other than all these issues, our holiday went off very well and we enjoyed Goa to the core. We hired a bike and rode to Colva, had fish every single day and one day awesome crab masala with port and my writing would be incomplete without mentioning about the lovely beach at Betalbatim, serene, litter free, less people which made our holiday a total bliss!!!

Room Tip: You can choose the cottage, they have rectified the geyser now..it is suitable for a small family...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GLORIA J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genman1, General Manager at Coconut Grove, responded to this review, 5 January 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you taking the time out to post this review. Whilst we relate to the disappointment you experienced on account of the geyser problem, please try & understand that sometimes, there are issues which we cannot foresee & are beyond our control. When such unforeseen situations arise, our team works together in trying to minimize the guests disappointment.

Regarding the cruise, please understand that Goa being a tourism destination has tourists from near & afar. While some tourists are respectful & mindful of others around them, there are others unfortunately who do not.

We do hope that you remember Goa on a happier note and look forward to having you stay with us again.

Also taking this opportunity to wish you & your family A Very Happy New Year 2015.

Warm regards,

Marc Fernandes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for one night and were impressed with it no end. Courteous and helpful staff and a beautifully manicured set of gardens made this a very nice stay. The room was very comfortable with one of the largest double beds I've ever seen!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woody11645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genman1, General Manager at Coconut Grove, responded to this review, 5 January 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the lovely feedback. It really makes us feel appreciated.

We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Also taking this opportunity to wish you & your family A Very Happy New Year 2015.

Warm regards,

Marc Fernandes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

The hotel was wonderful. The rooms were clean, comfortable. The best part was beach was so nearby you can watch sunrise every morning. Food was also good. Friendly and very helpful staff
Overall good experience

Room Tip: Room near the beach side are calm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heena n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genman1, General Manager at Coconut Grove, responded to this review, 5 January 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the wonderful feedback. We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Also taking this opportunity to wish you & your family A Very Happy New Year 2015.

Warm regards,

Marc Fernandes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vasco da Gama, India
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

My family, comprising my husband, my 10-month old son, my 90-year old grandmom, my mother-in-law, my aunt & myself, stayed at Coconut Grove from 18th - 20th April, 2014. As requested, a wheelchair was kept ready for the older family member and two close by ground floor rooms were arranged. We appreciate the hotel staff for heeding to our special requests.
The pros: The breakfast at Primavera & the other meals at Palms were delectable, very appealing to the taste buds... even the Jain food specially dished out for my grandmom & mil was flavorsome. Also, the garden facing rooms gave the eye a serene sight of the greenery, again very very pleasing.
The cons: As soon as we entered the room and most of the time during our stay there, the rooms had a putrid smell, something that is not expected from a resort like Coconut Grove. Also, the AC in one of the rooms was not functioning when we checked in... such issues need to be addressed before the guest checks in and should not inconvenience the guest in running after the staff to get them resolved. A BIG LET DOWN!!! Also, when we ordered room service, we noticed that the food was brought from the restaurant to the room uncovered on 2 occasions. Only when we brought this up was it attended to. Again, highly unprofessional but thanks for addressing it the third time!!! We had to call up the guys thrice to get the soiled dishes taken from the room...
The stay at Coconut Grove was a mix of good & bad experiences. Advise to fellow travelers: the resort is passable, at max worth only a one-time visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gaurav2485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
genman1, General Manager at Coconut Grove, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We have noted your grievances and assure you that we are looking into it. We are glad though that you enjoyed the food.

We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you.

Warm regards,

Marc Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salcette District
0.3 mi away
Beleza...by the beach
Beleza...by the beach
#2 of 6 in Betalbatim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
2.2 mi away
Baywatch Beach Resort
3.7 mi away
Joecons Beach Resort
Joecons Beach Resort
#3 of 14 in Benaulim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Longuinhos Beach Resort
1.0 mi away
Jasminn by Mango Hotels
Jasminn by Mango Hotels
#1 of 6 in Betalbatim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
3.6 mi away
Taj Exotica Goa
Taj Exotica Goa
#1 of 14 in Benaulim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Grove

Property: Coconut Grove
Address: Betalbatim beach, 403713, India
Region: India > Goa > Salcette District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 39 Hotels in Salcette District
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Coconut Grove 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Coconut Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Grove Resort Goa
Coconut Grove Goa, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing