We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Metropole Hotel
Ranked #29 of 161 Hotels in Ahmedabad
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Simply Average”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

The Metropole Hotel is average. Good for a short stay. Close to the airport.

The rooms are just okay. They are not updated and quite dusty. We had to switch rooms. The first room had a safe that was not working/broken and the bathtub was slanted. The water was collecting on one side of the tub. Also, the shower was not good (not strong.) Those issues were not experienced once we were moved to another room. We only stayed two nights so to move after one night stay was annoying.

We were disappointed in the service received at the hotel. Except for the dining manager. The restaurant manager was excellent!
Regarding the other staff, particularly the reception, they are not pleasant and there is miscommunication among staff.
Our safe was broken and we requested it to be fixed multiple times. In the end we were lied to, saying that it was fixed when the maintenance personnel did not even come to see the safe. Also, we asked if there was a good hair salon nearby. We were in the city to attend a wedding. We were sent to a private salon in someone's home on the second floor. The salon did not know basic things and had so much attitude. The salon owner kicked us out for pointing out that the girls were doing things incorrectly. We found out at the end of the trip that the salon was owned by one of the front desk workers. That is why we were referred to that hair salon. Considering that the customers are from out of town, the hotel should have recommended an appropriate hair salon rather than looking at their own personal benefits.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UL55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GENERAL M, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear UL55,

We thank you for taking your valuable time to put up a review of The Metropole Hotel. While we do appreciate the positives noted by you and thank you for the same, we would like to clarify certain aspects of your review.

Ours is a theme based hotel with all the 4 floors having different themes. The rooms have been widely appreciated by scores of guests. The hotel in itself is a new property, hence, your opinion of the rooms not being updated is an individual opinion and we respect the same. We do apologize for the inconvenience you faced in the first room and are glad that you were comfortable in the second room which was given to you.

We would like to clarify that the safe was never broken as stated by you. As a policy matter we did not open the safe as you were not in the room and later opened the same in front of you. The Duty Manager specifically met you and you were informed that the batteries needed to be changed. These safes are electronic safes and occasionally the batteries need to be changed which was the case in this particular room. I personally had met you and apologized to you for the inconvenience caused.

The salon which was recommended to you by our Front Office staff was done at your behest of wanting a salon close by the hotel. As far as the salon being owned by a staff member, we deny this allegation. The salon was recommended to you specifically as you had said you wanted something close by to the hotel and should be a reasonable one.

Please do feel free to contact us in the future for any further requirements.


Thanks & Regards,



Deepak Varunkar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    93
    29
    8
    4
See reviews for
35
18
18
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vadodara, India
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I was put up by the company when I and my team had to deliver training program at this hotel. Everything was very well managed by the hotel staff. The Banquet hall was decorated as per the requirement stated along with additional facilities. The theme was Black & White and the perfect combination for a sitting of 150 people was very managed with manageable space to walk in-between two tables. The food was excellent - Jain specialties were also served.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front side will give a good view - if you are ready to hear the voice of traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RajeevManiar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GENERAL M, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Rajeev Maniar,

We take this opportunity to thank you for the review put up by you on Trip Advisor. The compliments shall be communicated personally to my team members. We also would like to thank you for appreciating our efforts for handling your event.

Please feel free to contact me for any further requirements.

We thank you for your continued support.



Warm Regards,


Deepak Varunkar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

The hotel was good by Indian standards, especially the staff and dining room, open 24/7, a big plus. But their internet access policy was abysmal. We brought four wireless devices, two phones a laptop and an iPad.

We were forced to choose which one, and only one device to use, and that for a 24 hour period. Only that device would be allowed access! We were given this excuse about ''security'', which in today's world, and based on the policies of three other hotels in India we stayed in, was certainly not true.

Based on that alone, and the cleanliness of the common areas, a lower rating than they should easily get.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bob w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GENERAL M, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Bob B,

We thank you for your review and your feedback.
We do appreciate the positive comments mentioned by you about our staff and restaurant. Your positive comments about our team members shall be communicated to them.

The entire hotel has Wi-Fi connectivity and for security reasons the details of the guest are documented against each Wi-Fi card issued. Each card has accessibility to one device at a time, this has been determined by our service provider TATA Communications and has been indicated on each card.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back on your next visit at The Metropole Hotel. Please do feel free to contact us in the future for any further requirements.


Thanks & Regards,


Deepak Varunkar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We stayed in this hotel. We found every thing was very good. We will come again . Mr solanki and family from overseas . The food was excellent , complimentary breakfast was full of variety. Everything was fresh and tasty.

Room Tip: Rooms in the hotels were large and clean , the hotel was near the airport . All staff in the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Urmila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GENERAL M, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Urmila S

We thank you for your valued feedback and comments on Trip Advisor. Your comments are definitely a morale booster to our team. We take this opportunity to thank you for the same.

Please feel free to contact me for any further requirements in the future.

Warm Regards,

Deepak Varunkar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

it is excellent property with excellent location. the service and food is also very good. worth staying while in ahmedbad. overall the hotel is an excellent value for money and worth staying with family.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ritasunil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GENERAL M, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear RitaSunil,

We take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback and positive comments on Trip Advisor.
Your positive comments will surely be a morale booster to our team.

We look forward to your continued support.

Warm Regards,

Deepak Varunkar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

A good business/ family hotel . The rooms are spacious ,well equipped with Wi-Fi , Telephone , AC, hair dyers etc which made the stay very pleasant and memorable . The staff is freindly and warm ( Being new to the city , the staff also helped with direction and places to visit ) The food is multi- cusine and good . The hotel also has very well equipped gym.

Will stay here again ! Highly recommended

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelife4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GENERAL M, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Travelife4,

We take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback and positive comments on Trip Advisor.
Your positive comments will surely be a morale booster to our team.

We look forward to your continued support.

Warm Regards,

Deepak Varunkar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

Myself, my wife and daughter stayed here on 28th November for 5 nights. We booked a suite (room 216). The room was very spacious, separate living area which consisted of a small kitchen area, dining table, sofa and armchair. The bedroom was very spacious with a huge bathroom consisting of walkin shower, jacuzzi bath and wardrobes containing a safe. Both rooms had wall mounted flatscreen TV's. The staff were very helpful with all our requests. We had to do a considerable amount of travelling to and from the hotel. The hotel provided us with a driver (Shivkumar) who took excellent care of us. We had to go shopping a few times and he escorted us around the shops ensuring we got what we needed. Im not sure if this is part of his job but we found it an invaluable service and we would to thank him sincerely for this. Overall I have no complaints regarding the accommodation or the service. The only slight improvement that could be made is complimentary wifi service. Wifi is 200 rupees for 24 hours. Although the cost is minimal a lot of hotels provide complimentary wifi. It is difficult to register the wifi if u do not have an indian mobile number which I did not. I had to go to reception each day to get it registered but the staff are more than happy to do this for you.
I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone visiting Ahmedabad.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank dmcecoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GENERAL M, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear dmcecoy,

Thank you for the time that you have taken in providing a feedback of your stay with us.

We are happy to note that you had a pleasant and comfortable stay with us.We have noted that your Suite Room was Luxurious and you spent a valuable time with your family. Our chauffeurs being trained to have a know how in and around city help us to serve our guests better.We do charge nominally for WiFi and shall soon make it a part of complimentary services.We also thank you for recommending our hotel to other guests.

We look forward to your continued patronage and support.


Thanks and Best regards,



General Manager
The Metropole Hotel,Ahmedabad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ahmedabad hotels
2.4 mi away
Armoise Hotel
Armoise Hotel
#31 of 161 in Ahmedabad
157 reviews
1.2 mi away
Starottel Ahmedabad
Starottel Ahmedabad
#12 of 161 in Ahmedabad
556 reviews
0.9 mi away
Naeeka Hotel
Naeeka Hotel
#50 of 161 in Ahmedabad
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Cama Hotel
Cama Hotel
#35 of 161 in Ahmedabad
170 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Ummed Ahmedabad
The Ummed Ahmedabad
#13 of 161 in Ahmedabad
568 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fortune Hotel Landmark
Fortune Hotel Landmark
#14 of 161 in Ahmedabad
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Metropole Hotel

Property: The Metropole Hotel
Address: Near R.T.O. Circle, | Subhash Bridge Corner,, Ahmedabad 380027, India
Region: India > Gujarat > Ahmedabad District > Ahmedabad
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 161 Hotels in Ahmedabad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Metropole Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Metropole hotel is a 4 star business boutique hotel standing tall as an oasis of calm in the midst of the bustling metropolis. Located a minutes walk from Gandhi Ashram and very close to the banks of the historically significant Sabarmati river and about 5 kms distance from the Ahmedabad International airport, the hotel is a short distance from the business thourough fare of Ashram Road and has easy access to the business and shopping districts of the city. A much preferred choice of stay for visitors to Ahmedabad as the Metropole hotel offers a truly international experience yet with a uniquely Indian hospitality touch in an environment of trade globalization and growing foreign investment. The Metropole is flush with the influences of the latest in international hospitality design trends to render each floor differently. Whilst taking the needs of the businessman at heart we ensure stylishly clean, well designed and immensely comfortable living spaces. With 70 spacious and luxuriously appointed guest rooms and suites, The Metropole offers a contemporary international experience along uniquely modern lines. All rooms are equipped with Minibars, Teledex telephones, Ving Card Door Locks, in room Digital Safes and LCD televisions. The hotel offers 24 hour room service, Wi-Fi Connectivity, Business Centre, Fitness Centre, Currency Exchange, Doctor on Call, Laundry and Dry Cleaning services, Complimentary Airport Transfers, Valet Parking & Travel Services.It also houses 3 Dining Options inhouse :-"24/7 All Day Dining" (Coffee Shop) :- Located at the Lobby Level Serves a variety of Vegetarian and Non-Vegetarian Light Snacks,Maincourses and Combo Meals. Being a Coffee Shop we have Buffet spread over for Breakfast,Lunch and Dinner open for Inhouse room guests as well as Walk in guests. We have inhouse specialties in coffee shop such as Kathi Rolls,Sandwiches and Won tons."Purple Lotus" (Awadhi Cuisine Fine Dine) :- We serve a varietly of Indian Clay Oven (Tandoor) Specialaties such as Kebabs,Biryanis and Mocktails.Operational for Dinner."Valentine" (Pastry Outlet) :- The 24/7 Pastry Outlet serving a variety of Desserts and exotics for feasting the sweet tooth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing