We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Metropole Hotel
Ranked #27 of 157 Hotels in Ahmedabad
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“value for money”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

the room was very well organised the room number was 418. The staff and service was excellent specially at the front desk Mr.Manish and a lady i forget the name supervising the staff.Further the foods was good.Near to airport and other main areas of city i find this place far better than other hotel in Ahmedabad.
the food overall speciallythe breakfast was good .
Overall is a good experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnkurGoyal2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GENERAL M, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear AnkurGoyal2013,



Thank you for the review put up by you on Trip Advisor. The same has been communicated personally to my team members. We also would like to thank you further for appreciating our hotel and services offered with a commitment to provide the same in future.

Please feel free to contact me for any further requirements.

Thanks and regards,



Deepak Varunkar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    92
    29
    8
    4
See reviews for
35
18
18
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
112 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We stayed here for just one day(day time only),it was a marriage function.an average experience.Rooms are good,well kept.Restaurant is open 24/7, that is very helpful in city like Ahmedabad.Services are o.k.Food quality, which was served at the function can be better.pasta and south indian dishes, which were served, needs improvement.

Room Tip: please select rooms which are road facing, watching the traffic passing by is the only activity, you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BHARATO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GENERAL M, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Dear BHARAT O,

We thank you for taking your valuable time to put up a review of The Metropole Hotel.

We wish to thank you for the positives that you have highlighted in your review. We have noted that you didn't find the banquet food up to your expectations, for which we would like to apologize. These are your personal observations and we respect the same. However, we wish to inform you that the host for the function was very pleased with the arrangements and the food at the function and has given us a note appreciating the same.


Please do feel free to contact us in the future for any further requirements.





Thanks & Regards,

Deepak Varunkar

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

The Metropole Hotel is average. Good for a short stay. Close to the airport.

The rooms are just okay. They are not updated and quite dusty. We had to switch rooms. The first room had a safe that was not working/broken and the bathtub was slanted. The water was collecting on one side of the tub. Also, the shower was not good (not strong.) Those issues were not experienced once we were moved to another room. We only stayed two nights so to move after one night stay was annoying.

We were disappointed in the service received at the hotel. Except for the dining manager. The restaurant manager was excellent!
Regarding the other staff, particularly the reception, they are not pleasant and there is miscommunication among staff.
Our safe was broken and we requested it to be fixed multiple times. In the end we were lied to, saying that it was fixed when the maintenance personnel did not even come to see the safe. Also, we asked if there was a good hair salon nearby. We were in the city to attend a wedding. We were sent to a private salon in someone's home on the second floor. The salon did not know basic things and had so much attitude. The salon owner kicked us out for pointing out that the girls were doing things incorrectly. We found out at the end of the trip that the salon was owned by one of the front desk workers. That is why we were referred to that hair salon. Considering that the customers are from out of town, the hotel should have recommended an appropriate hair salon rather than looking at their own personal benefits.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UL55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GENERAL M, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear UL55,

We thank you for taking your valuable time to put up a review of The Metropole Hotel. While we do appreciate the positives noted by you and thank you for the same, we would like to clarify certain aspects of your review.

Ours is a theme based hotel with all the 4 floors having different themes. The rooms have been widely appreciated by scores of guests. The hotel in itself is a new property, hence, your opinion of the rooms not being updated is an individual opinion and we respect the same. We do apologize for the inconvenience you faced in the first room and are glad that you were comfortable in the second room which was given to you.

We would like to clarify that the safe was never broken as stated by you. As a policy matter we did not open the safe as you were not in the room and later opened the same in front of you. The Duty Manager specifically met you and you were informed that the batteries needed to be changed. These safes are electronic safes and occasionally the batteries need to be changed which was the case in this particular room. I personally had met you and apologized to you for the inconvenience caused.

The salon which was recommended to you by our Front Office staff was done at your behest of wanting a salon close by the hotel. As far as the salon being owned by a staff member, we deny this allegation. The salon was recommended to you specifically as you had said you wanted something close by to the hotel and should be a reasonable one.

Please do feel free to contact us in the future for any further requirements.


Thanks & Regards,



Deepak Varunkar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vadodara, India
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I was put up by the company when I and my team had to deliver training program at this hotel. Everything was very well managed by the hotel staff. The Banquet hall was decorated as per the requirement stated along with additional facilities. The theme was Black & White and the perfect combination for a sitting of 150 people was very managed with manageable space to walk in-between two tables. The food was excellent - Jain specialties were also served.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front side will give a good view - if you are ready to hear the voice of traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RajeevManiar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GENERAL M, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Rajeev Maniar,

We take this opportunity to thank you for the review put up by you on Trip Advisor. The compliments shall be communicated personally to my team members. We also would like to thank you for appreciating our efforts for handling your event.

Please feel free to contact me for any further requirements.

We thank you for your continued support.



Warm Regards,


Deepak Varunkar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

The hotel was good by Indian standards, especially the staff and dining room, open 24/7, a big plus. But their internet access policy was abysmal. We brought four wireless devices, two phones a laptop and an iPad.

We were forced to choose which one, and only one device to use, and that for a 24 hour period. Only that device would be allowed access! We were given this excuse about ''security'', which in today's world, and based on the policies of three other hotels in India we stayed in, was certainly not true.

Based on that alone, and the cleanliness of the common areas, a lower rating than they should easily get.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bob w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GENERAL M, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Bob B,

We thank you for your review and your feedback.
We do appreciate the positive comments mentioned by you about our staff and restaurant. Your positive comments about our team members shall be communicated to them.

The entire hotel has Wi-Fi connectivity and for security reasons the details of the guest are documented against each Wi-Fi card issued. Each card has accessibility to one device at a time, this has been determined by our service provider TATA Communications and has been indicated on each card.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back on your next visit at The Metropole Hotel. Please do feel free to contact us in the future for any further requirements.


Thanks & Regards,


Deepak Varunkar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We stayed in this hotel. We found every thing was very good. We will come again . Mr solanki and family from overseas . The food was excellent , complimentary breakfast was full of variety. Everything was fresh and tasty.

Room Tip: Rooms in the hotels were large and clean , the hotel was near the airport . All staff in the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Urmila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GENERAL M, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Urmila S

We thank you for your valued feedback and comments on Trip Advisor. Your comments are definitely a morale booster to our team. We take this opportunity to thank you for the same.

Please feel free to contact me for any further requirements in the future.

Warm Regards,

Deepak Varunkar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

it is excellent property with excellent location. the service and food is also very good. worth staying while in ahmedbad. overall the hotel is an excellent value for money and worth staying with family.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ritasunil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GENERAL M, General Manager at The Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear RitaSunil,

We take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback and positive comments on Trip Advisor.
Your positive comments will surely be a morale booster to our team.

We look forward to your continued support.

Warm Regards,

Deepak Varunkar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ahmedabad hotels
2.4 mi away
The Ummed Ahmedabad
The Ummed Ahmedabad
#12 of 157 in Ahmedabad
556 reviews
1.2 mi away
Starottel Ahmedabad
Starottel Ahmedabad
#10 of 157 in Ahmedabad
541 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cama Hotel
Cama Hotel
#28 of 157 in Ahmedabad
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ahmedabad
Holiday Inn Express Ahmedabad
#36 of 157 in Ahmedabad
272 reviews
3.6 mi away
Krios Hotel
Krios Hotel
#19 of 157 in Ahmedabad
223 reviews
6.3 mi away
Ramada Ahmedabad
Ramada Ahmedabad
#23 of 157 in Ahmedabad
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Metropole Hotel

Property: The Metropole Hotel
Address: Near R.T.O. Circle, | Subhash Bridge Corner,, Ahmedabad 380027, India
Region: India > Gujarat > Ahmedabad District > Ahmedabad
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 157 Hotels in Ahmedabad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Metropole Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Metropole hotel is a 4 star business boutique hotel standing tall as an oasis of calm in the midst of the bustling metropolis. Located a minutes walk from Gandhi Ashram and very close to the banks of the historically significant Sabarmati river and about 5 kms distance from the Ahmedabad International airport, the hotel is a short distance from the business thourough fare of Ashram Road and has easy access to the business and shopping districts of the city. A much preferred choice of stay for visitors to Ahmedabad as the Metropole hotel offers a truly international experience yet with a uniquely Indian hospitality touch in an environment of trade globalization and growing foreign investment. The Metropole is flush with the influences of the latest in international hospitality design trends to render each floor differently. Whilst taking the needs of the businessman at heart we ensure stylishly clean, well designed and immensely comfortable living spaces. With 70 spacious and luxuriously appointed guest rooms and suites, The Metropole offers a contemporary international experience along uniquely modern lines. All rooms are equipped with Minibars, Teledex telephones, Ving Card Door Locks, in room Digital Safes and LCD televisions. The hotel offers 24 hour room service, Wi-Fi Connectivity, Business Centre, Fitness Centre, Currency Exchange, Doctor on Call, Laundry and Dry Cleaning services, Complimentary Airport Transfers, Valet Parking & Travel Services.It also houses 3 Dining Options inhouse :-"24/7 All Day Dining" (Coffee Shop) :- Located at the Lobby Level Serves a variety of Vegetarian and Non-Vegetarian Light Snacks,Maincourses and Combo Meals. Being a Coffee Shop we have Buffet spread over for Breakfast,Lunch and Dinner open for Inhouse room guests as well as Walk in guests. We have inhouse specialties in coffee shop such as Kathi Rolls,Sandwiches and Won tons."Purple Lotus" (Awadhi Cuisine Fine Dine) :- We serve a varietly of Indian Clay Oven (Tandoor) Specialaties such as Kebabs,Biryanis and Mocktails.Operational for Dinner."Valentine" (Pastry Outlet) :- The 24/7 Pastry Outlet serving a variety of Desserts and exotics for feasting the sweet tooth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing