We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget hotel”
Review of Hotel Volga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Volga
Ranked #42 of 161 Hotels in Ahmedabad
Certificate of Excellence
Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great budget hotel”
Reviewed 20 November 2012

The Hotel Volga is a great option for budget accommodation in Ahmedabad. It was a clean hotel room and it was one of the only budget hotels in Ahmedabad that had wireless internet available for the rooms. The Hotel Volga folks were very helpful to me. It's also a good option in the old part of the city because it is removed from the noisy, crowded Relief Rd. The food I ordered was tasty, affordable, and delivered in a timely manner.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skyelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    67
    24
    5
    3
See reviews for
28
32
26
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

My husband and I stayed here many years ago so on this return trip to India with a friend I booked the Volga based on my past experience. While it is not a luxury hotel it is a great basic budget base in hectic Ahmedabad, with really friendly staff and close to a number of sights and activities, and best of all the bazaar. The rooms are basic but our room was clean and relatively quiet in this crazy noisy city. Anis at the desk was a fantastic help drawing me maps to navigate the bazaar which was a highlight of my visit this time. It is right around the corner from the 5 star House of MG, also a great dining experience, but as I rarely spend time in my room other than sleep, Hotel Volga is an excellent choice. I wouldn't hesitate in staying here again, it is cheap, clean, and best of all safe for women travellers, with great staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bollygoshgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

One of the best budget hotel in Ahemdabad. Rooms were neat and clean and their most premium category (lavish room) comes at 1300. Can't ask for anything more. In room dining offers ample of options at very good rates. Every order placed was ready in max 15 mins.

For a short stay, go for it.
Quality option for sure.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trip0009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

This is a corporate hotel but welcome backpackers as well. The staff are very friendly and almost over enthusiastic to help us, especially the rooms service boys who really wanted to chat to us for hours. The room service was decent as well. Our room didn't have a window but had sturdy furnishings that made it feel like they put some effort in to the decoration. The location is good (in the centre of Ahmedabad) but its a little hard to find as it is down a back alley. Overall considering there is not much backpacker choice in Ahmedabad this was a good little find and we enjoyed our time there.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annahutnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We needed a budget hotel for the night before our flight to South India. The room was 851R, fan only, with cable tv.
We had to pay extra for wifi (50R for two hours).
The sheets on one of the twin beds were not that clean and we requested new ones. A decent shower, with towels and toiletries, couple of cockroaches present in the bathroom.

The staff are friendly and helpful, we got a free Hindu times when checking out, and staff negotiated the rate for our tuk tuk to the airport (110R).

A nice place though not worth what we paid when comparing with our accommodations in the neighboring state of Rajasthan.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oderzo, Veneto, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

It's more a place for a worker than a traveller or tourist, but it's clean enough, with reasonable prices and the services you need. There is a room service with food and beverages (very fast). The reception was very helpfull and nice and they assisted me with the phone booking of my plane ticket (they also printed it).

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jekomac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
446 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

nice friendly professional staff reasonable staff and really good shower.stayed here a couple of days 7 8 feb nice place and central.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shakirayork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ahmedabad hotels
0.1 mi away
Kamran Palace Hotel
Kamran Palace Hotel
#44 of 161 in Ahmedabad
127 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grand Ambience
Hotel Grand Ambience
#31 of 161 in Ahmedabad
139 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Formule1
Hotel Formule1
#20 of 161 in Ahmedabad
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Treebo Ambassador
Treebo Ambassador
#36 of 161 in Ahmedabad
170 reviews
1.5 mi away
Armoise Hotel
Armoise Hotel
#29 of 161 in Ahmedabad
157 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Shahi Palace
Hotel Shahi Palace
#38 of 161 in Ahmedabad
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Volga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Volga

Property: Hotel Volga
Address: Near Ankelsharia Hospital, Opp. Electricity House, Relief Road,, Ahmedabad 380001, India
Region: India > Gujarat > Ahmedabad District > Ahmedabad
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 161 Hotels in Ahmedabad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Volga 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is very uniquely furnished with contemporary outlook which makes your stay a different experience and a sheer contemporary pleasure. The emenities and facilities will definately make your stay memorable and we guarantee your visit to be recruiting. Yet another attraction, the Kankariya Lake, is only 10 minutes away from the hotel. Luxurious accommodation at ideal location. Located amidst the elite business area of Relief Road and the most exciting tourist and shopping destinations of C.G. Road, Hotel Volga is a luxury hotel right here in the heart of the Ahmedabad city. Comfortable Stay for both business & leisure travelers. Whether you're looking for lavish stay on your business tour or a luxurious abode on your leisure trip, Hotel Volga - Ahmedabad offers a world of comfort and luxury taking care of your every need, wants and obsessions to make your stay wonderful and memorable. We have 30 well appointed rooms. Here, each room and suite is lavishly appointed with every convenience of modern life making it a home away from home.Taste food like never before. Come and experience the contemporary style. Unique in its nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Volga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing