We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good enough”
Review of Hotel Volga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Volga
Ranked #40 of 157 Hotels in Ahmedabad
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
721 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
“Good enough”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This hotel is located near House of MG which is by far a higher end hotel. My room was spacious enough and the bed was comfortable. The only thing that bothered me were 3 things, they were painting on the top floor which you smelled the strong fumes, no towel and no toilet paper. I had to ask twice for both items.

Room Tip: Request the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Creeping_Death_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    67
    24
    5
    3
See reviews for
28
32
26
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Ok, so its in a great location being very central but slight out of the way in a backstreet, despite it being in a back street there was quite a lot of noise till after midnight on both the nights i stayed. The room itself was good, large rounded bed, good bathroom and clean, what more can you want for the price. Wifi works well in the room.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dougie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Spent a day in this place ... did not spend the night. Close to station, right in the midst of the market. Not a great surrounding if you are with family and want to stay for more than a day/night. Has a restaurant in it but we did not use it.
Rooms are functional, our specific room did not have any windows & was a little stuffy & had strong cigarette smell. The staff was very courteous and helped to resolve as much as they could.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ramrex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Not as posh and sparkling new as Hotel Ashish (but also a little bit cheaper) where we stayed during our first visit to Ahmedabad, but still a very good budget to lower midrange option. And really good value for money.
Relatively clean and friendly rooms, always hot water available. Only the bed sheets were a stained and with holes - though they smelled freshly washed, so they must have been clean even they did not look exactly so...
Location is central and in a small back alley, so noise is less a problem than in other places. Service was friendly, Wifi free and easy to access, but sometimes a bit slow.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon_Alexandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
69 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I stayed for a day at this hotel (did not stay overnight since I had a night train to catch)

- The hotel is conveniently located close to Lal Darwaja (about 1-2 kms from Ahmedabad station)
- The hotel is located in a small bylane and hence there is not too much sound of traffic in the rooms
- The rooms were reasonably clean (however there were was a funny smell of incense sticks in the rooms)
- Good supply of hot water
- Please mention the website through which you have made your booking at the time of checkin (The hotel management maintains separate files for bookings through different websites such as makemytrip, cleartrip etc.)
- Hotel has a 24 hour checkout policy
- Staff was helpful
- No restaurant in this property however they have a pantry service (for those who have the budget, the Agashiye restaurant (House of MG) is located closeby)

Overall a decent hotel for a 1 day/night stay if you are on a budget

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandyraj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

A very good budget hotel, Economical prices and great room service. Awesome for short visits. Strategically located in old Ahmadabad area and close to the railway station..Near to the markets as well.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cyrus_t_2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broome, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Upon arrival we were told there were no rooms left with just a fan (as it's a difference of 400 rupee) so we took a room with an aircon. Turns put the hotel wasn't really busy, so I doubt there weren't any rooms with just fans. Anyway.
The rooms were nice. TV with cable, comfortable bed, and you're provided with a paper In the mornings. Very clean, great shower, and hot water!!
It's obviously not the rooms that are the problem. As nice as the porter guy seemed, he's very leery. He was the cause of a lot of awkwardness during our 2 night stay.
Fr example. We ordered room service. As they don't have a kitchen, it's cooked just over the road and the porter brings it up and takes the money for whatever you bought. We had only ordered maybe 500 rupee worth of food, and there was meant to be 40 rupee change. We just told him to keep it, it's all good.
A few minutes later he came up with the bill for the food, and a "paid" through it. We thanked him and said the foods good....he honestly just didn't move. Then was looking at us eating, obviously waiting around for another tip?! For about a minute he stood there, and we had to just ignore him. This happened on three occasions. And we tipped for everything, so we weren't being stingy.
He's a very strange fellow.

The big annoyance was the noise staff made during the night, and very early morning. Had a terrible sleep because apparently it's a great idea to start cleaning at 4am, and have a good old loud conversation whilst doing it.
Elevator wire door opening and closing all night is also a pain. We both woke up grumpy as!

Location is ok. There's a cool massive market nearby, and a few good restaurants to eat from close by aswell. But it's a nicer area over the bridge.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georjax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ahmedabad hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grand Ambience
Hotel Grand Ambience
#28 of 157 in Ahmedabad
137 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kamran Palace Hotel
Kamran Palace Hotel
#43 of 157 in Ahmedabad
127 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Prime
Hotel Prime
#82 of 157 in Ahmedabad
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Treebo Ambassador
Treebo Ambassador
#39 of 157 in Ahmedabad
159 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Shahi Palace
Hotel Shahi Palace
#34 of 157 in Ahmedabad
108 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Formule1
Hotel Formule1
#21 of 157 in Ahmedabad
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Volga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Volga

Property: Hotel Volga
Address: Near Ankelsharia Hospital, Opp. Electricity House, Relief Road,, Ahmedabad 380001, India
Region: India > Gujarat > Ahmedabad District > Ahmedabad
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 157 Hotels in Ahmedabad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Volga 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is very uniquely furnished with contemporary outlook which makes your stay a different experience and a sheer contemporary pleasure. The emenities and facilities will definately make your stay memorable and we guarantee your visit to be recruiting. Yet another attraction, the Kankariya Lake, is only 10 minutes away from the hotel. Luxurious accommodation at ideal location. Located amidst the elite business area of Relief Road and the most exciting tourist and shopping destinations of C.G. Road, Hotel Volga is a luxury hotel right here in the heart of the Ahmedabad city. Comfortable Stay for both business & leisure travelers. Whether you're looking for lavish stay on your business tour or a luxurious abode on your leisure trip, Hotel Volga - Ahmedabad offers a world of comfort and luxury taking care of your every need, wants and obsessions to make your stay wonderful and memorable. We have 30 well appointed rooms. Here, each room and suite is lavishly appointed with every convenience of modern life making it a home away from home.Taste food like never before. Come and experience the contemporary style. Unique in its nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Volga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing