We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for (the little) money”
Review of Ginger Ahmedabad

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ginger Ahmedabad
Ranked #14 of 169 Hotels in Ahmedabad
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Stayed here with the family about a year ago when I was back in Ahmedabad after a long while to attend the IIMA Convocation
The hotel is at a good location, offers a nice breakfast for a really reasonable amount (I remember it as Rs. 99!). The flip side is that the rooms are really small ... at best for an individual and not for a family of 3!
Other than that ... service was good.
Recommended for people who are looking for a nice, clean place to park at night but otherwise dont intend to be anywhere near the room for the rest of the day!

In-summary - Good value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nannubagga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ginger H, Guest Relations Manager at Ginger Ahmedabad, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Guest,

We sincerely appreciate you taking time out and communicating with us, and we thank you for your valuable feedback & words of appreciation. We genuinely regret the inconvenience caused to you during your recent stay at Ginger -Ahmedabad.

We are sorry to hear about your dissatisfaction regarding the size of the room. We have been working on the new room concept which has been implemented in our recently opened Ginger properties. However, we offer extra mattress with an extra charge.

We are nevertheless glad that your overall stay experience was delightful and also we would like to thank you for the words of appreciation for the cleanliness of the hotel, it’s location, food, price and service which will be passed on to all concerned departments.

We thrive on providing our guests with the best of services. It was unfortunate that we were unable to match your expectations. At the same time, we assure you that your next visit at Ginger will be a pleasant and memorable one.

Regards,
Ravi Pillai,
Head of Operations,
Ginger Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (518)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

338 - 344 of 518 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

I had done the booking through MakeMyTrip. As a first time visitor, I didnot notice any proper signboard to locate the hotel, despite raching in front of the Himalaya Mall (behind which it is claimed to be located) So I rang up the number given on the Booking voucher of MakeMyTrip. It was centralised reservation number. They then gave me the number of the Ahmedabad hotel!
The room has bare minimum facilities. Except the very helpful nature of all staff members, and the excellent location of the hotel, there is nothing to recommend about this property.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jayv1504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ginger H, Guest Relations Manager at Ginger Ahmedabad, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Guest,

We sincerely appreciate you taking time out and communicating with us, and we thank you for your valuable feedback & words of appreciation. We genuinely regret the inconvenience caused to you during your recent stay at Ginger Ahmedabad.

We are sorry to hear about your dissatisfaction on No signboards to locate the hotel. We have escalated this to the concerned department and we are taking steps to rectify it.

Your feedback regarding the lack of room amenities has been shared with the Hotel Manager. However, as a standard practice Ginger hotels do not provide these amenities but could be provided on request. We will ensure that this is placed in your room prior to check in for your future visits.

We would like to thank you for the words of appreciation for our staff and Location, which will be passed on to all concerned departments.

It has always been our endeavor to provide our guests with the best of services, but it was unfortunate that we were unable to match your expectations. But we assure you that your next visit at Ginger will be a pleasant and memorable one.

Regards,
Ravi Pillai,
Head of Operations,
Ginger Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Ginger happened out of sheer coincidence. Considering the awful experience at Cambay, Krioss was our first choice. However since they were full, we decided to try Ginger. The best part about the hotel is the location. This place is just behind Himalaya mall and a stone's throw from the magnificent Alpha One mall. Himalaya is abundant with dining options such as CCD/Dominos/McDonalds etc. Theres a theatre for movie buffs and a veg restaurant called Village as well. Alpha One on the other end is very upmarket, housing some of the best brands and several dining options. Their food court however is strictly vegetarian. Coming back to Ginger, the hotel is not a very new one and that is evident from their upkeep. Having stayed at some of these no frills hotels such as Jury's Inn and Premier Inn in the past, we were expecting it to be of the same calibre. However we felt a little let down. The rooms were small as expected. However what was disappointing was that the washrooms were not well kept. The tiles had gone old and stains could be spotted all over the place. The linen was worn out and looked like that of a one star hotel. Its high time they change the linen out there. The shower curtain also was a little shoddy and one could notice a few fleas . The WC also was showing signs of ageing. The sleep quality was fair enough, however the bed kept on moving and was not stable. Bed linen was stained as well. As far as entertainment is concerned, they have a TV with limited TV channels. Dining again is not too elaborate at the hotel. They have a one sided room service menu card with a few non-veg options. They have a coffee shop as well, where I believe the same dishes are available at a much lower price. Hence it would be advisable to walk up to the restaurant and save a few bucks. Again considering that theres much more to dining outside the hotel than within, one would want to weigh his options. Breakfast is part of the package and includes a juice, cut fruit, cornflakes, 2 veg dishes, eggs to order , toast and tea/coffee. Overall the place is good if one would want to spend the night only . If theres one feature apart from the location that is outstanding at the hotel, it is the staff. They were very polite and courteous right from check-in to check-out. Ginger should be considered only if one cant have lemons - Lemon Tree :)

Room Tip: Twin rooms are larger than double rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emKYUB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ginger H, Guest Relations Manager at Ginger Ahmedabad, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We sincerely appreciate you taking time out and communicating with us, and we thank you for your valuable feedback & words of appreciation. We genuinely regret the inconvenience caused to you during your recent stay at Ginger Ahmedabad.

We understand that you were dissatisfied with the condition of the bed linen. Your concern regarding the bed linens has been taken up with the Housekeeping Supervisor for corrective action. Your feedback regarding the bed has escalated to the concerned department for corrective action.

We are sorry to hear about your dissatisfaction, regarding the limited TV channels offered. We have forwarded your feedback to the central team to check on the feasibility of upgrading the current list of channels.

We understand that you were dissatisfied with the overall cleanliness of Bathroom. Your feedback has been shared with the Housekeeping personnel for corrective action. Furthermore, we will ensure that periodic checks are done for our rooms and bathrooms so that such lapses do not occur. The respective teams have been briefed to be more efficient to ensure that our guests don't have to face any such issues.

With regards to the in-room dining menu, the dishes are intentionally limited to avoid inconvenience to our guests as the space to place the tray is limited and this can become very messy if dishes with sauces and gravies are offered. However we also have a very elaborate restaurant menu at the restaurant which you can certainly make use of. We have forwarded your concern to the F&B vendor for an immediate course of action.

We would like to thank you for the words of appreciation for our staff and variety of food served, which will be passed on to all concerned departments.

It has always been our endeavor to provide our guests with the best of services, but it was unfortunate that we were unable to match your expectations. But we assure you that your next visit at Ginger will be a pleasant and memorable one.

Regards,
Ravi Pillai,
Head of Operations,
Ginger Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. Location is too good. Within a kilometer, you can find a mall and a drive-in theatre. Buffet breakfast and dinner was too good. I liked their mutton dish. They really maintained clean room and bathroom. I would definitely like to stay in this hotel in my next trip to Ahmedabad. Front office staff are also very nice and soft spoken.

Room Tip: avoid staying in the 5th floor during summers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BiswajitP77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Ginger Ahmedabad need to revamp their restaurant service.

1) Food - Quality of food is poor.

2) Hospitality - Staff specially working in the restaurant need more of training and hand holding. I very well remember I was in a discussion with my senior during breakfast and I asked for a cup of tea, to my surprise I was asked to take it myself. Generally, even if the breakfast buffet is self-service, tea is served regularly.

3) On a couple of occasions I ordered food in the room and it was delivered very late. No timely service.

4) There are no services during the night past 11pm. In fact, one day I was feeling little uneasy and asked for a cold drink at 11:05 pm. I was refused, stating kitchen is closed.

Otherwise a good budget hotel and in a very convenient location.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnkitDalmia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ginger H, Guest Relations Manager at Ginger Ahmedabad, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Dear Mr. Ankit,

We sincerely appreciate you taking time out and communicating with us, and we thank you for your valuable feedback and concerns. We genuinely regret the inconvenience caused to you during your recent stay at Ginger Ahmedabad.

We understand that you were dissatisfied with food. Your concern about the F&B offerings has taken up with the F&B partner & we have asked the team to ensure that food quality is upto the standard. You will experience a marked difference in the quality & taste of our F&B offerings during your next visit. We also understand that you were dissatisfied with the staff & delayed service. We sincerely regret that the hotel staff was not competent to attend and address your complaints, which was shared with the Hotel Manager for corrective action. The teams have been briefed up to be more efficient to ensure that our guests don't face such issues. Also, we would like to inform you we do provide room service which is available at select timings in the evening. We would like to thank you for the words of appreciation for hotel’s location.

It was a great pleasure having you to stay with us at Ginger Ahmedabad, and thank you for bringing it to our attention; your valuable feedback will help us strive to be the best. You will experience a marked difference in our service during your next visit.

Once again we thank you for your valuable feedback & suggestions. Looking forward to your continued association with us and I assure you that your next visit at Ginger will be a pleasant one.

Regards,
Ravi Pillai,
Head of Operations,
Ginger Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

The room was a standard room # 505 , and obviously at least some basic amenities should be provided or given on request like a simple body lotion or a moisturizer. The first room service order which was been placed was late by around 45 mins and the person who delivered it refused to provide the tray along with the food, next the chicken sandwich did not have any taste it was very very pathetic. The next shock was the breakfast spread, when requested for a plain dosa the person was very cold and refused the same.
Though we were in a business trip and most of the time we were out of the hotel, extremely sorry to say we had a real bad experience with GINGER as a business hotel in Ahmedabad and will not at all come back to any other Ginger Group Hotel and definitely will not comment anyone to do so.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank srilekha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ginger H, Guest Relations Manager at Ginger Ahmedabad, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Guest,

We sincerely appreciate you taking time out and communicating with us, and we thank you for your valuable feedback and concerns. On behalf of Ginger Hotels, we sincerely apologize for not being able to provide you with our warm hospitality; which is the general norm of our hotel. We note with deep regret that our services did not meet your expectation during your recent stay at Ginger Ahmedabad.

We understand that you were dissatisfied with the room service order, staff & delayed service. We sincerely regret that the hotel staff was not competent to attend and address your complaints, which was shared with the Hotel Manager for corrective action. The teams have been briefed up to be more efficient to ensure that our guests don't face such issues. However, we would like to inform you that during your stay at Ginger we had set the menu for buffet breakfast to be served, where DOSA & brown bread were not planned. As a service recovery, we had already made one day B/F complimentary for you. Your feedback regarding basic amenities has been shared with the housekeeping manager; furthermore, we will ensure that basic amenities would be provided before the guests check in.

It has always been our endeavour to provide our guests with the best of services, but it was unfortunate that we were unable to match your expectations. But we assure you that your next visit at Ginger will be a pleasant and memorable one.

Regards,
Ravi Pillai,
Head of Operations,
Ginger Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Rooms are small compare to other ginger , clean. Located Just behind the himalaya mall, HM is nice place for hangout in free hours. Entrance from mall side is lil congested . Limited economical food facility. Auto , taxi & cabs are easily available around the hotel as well at travel desk. Ok type hotel in economical range hotel.

Room Tip: Great location considering market & mall area all around the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DKS-RPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ginger H, Guest Relations Manager at Ginger Ahmedabad, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Dear Guest,

We sincerely appreciate your valuable feedback & words of appreciation.

We at Ginger Hotels will continue to maintain our standards to enhance the overall experience of our valuable guests.

It was a great pleasure having you to stay with us at Ginger Hotel.

Looking forward to your continued association with us.

Regards,
Ravi Pillai,
Head of Operations,
Ginger Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ahmedabad hotels
0.5 mi away
Ginger Hotel - Ahmedabad (S.G. Road)
4.3 mi away
Lemon Tree Premier; The Atrium, Ahmedabad
0.5 mi away
Ginger Hotel - Ahmedabad (Satellite)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Formule1
Hotel Formule1
#23 of 169 in Ahmedabad
312 reviews
3.2 mi away
Armoise Hotel
Armoise Hotel
#27 of 169 in Ahmedabad
180 reviews
7.3 mi away
Tune Hotel
Tune Hotel
#33 of 169 in Ahmedabad
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ginger Ahmedabad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ginger Ahmedabad

Address: Behind Himalaya Mall | Drive-In road, Ahmedabad 380015, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Gujarat > Ahmedabad District > Ahmedabad
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Ahmedabad
Price Range: £32 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ginger Ahmedabad 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ginger Hotel, Ahmedbad (S.G. Road) welcomes you for a memorable experience. Located on Sharkej – Gandhinagar Highway (a.k.a. S.G Road), the hotel is 17 kms from the Ahmedabad Airport and 12 kms from the railway station. The hotel also provides close proximity to Mahatma Mandir & University Convention Centre and most sought of business parks and shopping arcades. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ginger Ahmedabad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ginger Hotel Ahmedabad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing