We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No proper service and variety in Food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cambay Grand Ahmedabad
Ranked #136 of 161 Hotels in Ahmedabad
Hyderabad
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No proper service and variety in Food”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I stayed in Cambay Grand on 4th Sept 2013.
Booked this Hotel through online as promotion to pick & drop from Airport.

I was surprised no one has come to receive and Hotel Staff were not even sorry for that.
Room is average and this hotel claims to be 5 star but i would rate it as 4-3 star.
No varieties in Food.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparton123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambayh0tels, Manager at Cambay Grand Ahmedabad, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear Guest,
We thank you for your feedback,as per the transfers are concerned we were not provided with any sort of your arrival details by you so it was not possible for us to make arrangements for your transfers,regarding your other concerns the issues were taken up and are being addressed ,we would like to welcome you again to Cambay Properties as we provide the highest level of hospitality to all our guests
Warm Regards,
Cambay Group of Hotels and Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    35
    34
    15
    34
See reviews for
32
8
8
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

The stay was terrible as there was construction in the hotel and the marble cutting machine was working till 12 AM. Requested the reception to get it shut down. It started again at 1230 AM and finally fed up called the reception at 1 AM and threatened them that I am going to call the cops. Was finally shut down at 115 AM. Couldn't sleep all night thereafter. No adjustment of the temperature of AC in the room either.

The swimming pool was ok but the changing room is a mess, no locker, no towels and is used by the hotel staff for their bathroom needs.

Was in for a rude surprise when I saw the bill as I had checked in at 810 AM instead of 9AM and had to pay Rs. 1000 extra. I was not informed at check in that there shall be an extra charge due to the early check in. Since I had to catch a flight I just paid and left.
Food is ok, staff is ok. However shall not go back and do not recommend the hotel to others. Rahul Chawla

Room Tip: Construction on 4th. floor and noise in all the floors above. I was in the 7th. and could not sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rahul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambayh0tels, Manager at Cambay Grand Ahmedabad, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear Guest,
“Please accept my apology for your unpleasant experience while your stay at The Cambay Grand. We are extremely concerned to note your dissatisfaction and would like to apprise you that corrective action in this regard has already been taken. We strive to ensure our patrons experience the best visits possible during your travels and we fell short of our goal this time.

Thank you for sparing your time in giving us your valuable feedback and bringing this matter to our attention and we sincerely hope that you will have no further cause for any complaint in our service in future.
We once again apologize for the annoyance/inconvenience that this may have caused to you. The hotel is actively working to improve service levels and your feedback has proved to be invaluable.
We continue to be committed to provide you and all our guests with the highest standard of service in the industry. We look forward to your continued patronage and wish you the best in your business and personal endeavors.
Looking forward to serve you again....”
Thanking you,
General Manager
The Cambay Grand
Ahmedabad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ahmedabad hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bhopal, India
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I stayed in Cambay Grand with my family from 8th to 10th August 2013. and as per my experience this is one of the best hotel in Ahmedabad. Prompt service, no unnecessory distubances from staff, good neat and clean rooms and breakfast is quite ok, Hotel staff was very helpful specially Ms. Bansari (Reception) who guided us for city tour and places for visit. Pickup and drop facility from Airport/Railway Station was complimentary with our package and quite satisfactory

My overall experience is good except one thing that they charged me some extra bucks for my early check in (just 2-3 hours before 12 Noon) without informing me in advance. so whenever you going for early check in please confirm with them about extra charges.

Room Tip: very good view of city from higher floors (7th or 8th) so choose room on the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rajesh c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambayh0tels, Manager at Cambay Grand Ahmedabad, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your valuable feedback and we would keep the same level of hospitality
Warm Regards,
Cambay Group of Hotels and Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

It was a good experience staying at Cambay Grand.. The hotel is situated at an intersection from where everything is at a reasonable distance.. Also, the service offered was also good.. But the internal atmosphere was a bit damp.. Didn't get the feeling of proper ventilation..

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saurabh89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambayh0tels, Manager at Cambay Grand Ahmedabad, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your valuable feedback and sharing your concerns,this matter has been taken up to management and we assure you that you would be feeling more comfortable next time
Warm Regards,
Rohit Saklani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Udaipur, India
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Once again very good experience.....but now on very reasonable price thanx to cambay group for offering good yearly membership scheme at very reasonable price.......one of the best offer from other hotels group....maximum benefits .....improved very good service with all new staff.....

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dudaniravi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambayh0tels, Manager at Cambay Grand Ahmedabad, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the feedback and we would want to serve you with the highest level of hospitality upon your next visit to Cambay Hotels & Resorts
Warm Regards,
Cambay Group of Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Booked two premium rooms with internal door so that our family of four could stay. We negotiated a package which included complimentary breakfast, a complimentary Lunch or Dinner and a late check-out at 5pm on Jun23/2013 (checked in Jun22).

1. When we arrived we were shown a reservation slip which mentioned we were booked for Deluxe room. The receptionist informed that as our package was too low so we have been rightly booked for a deluxe room only. I told them I have booked for an interconnecting premium room after which they checked with the guy who booked our room and then they confirmed us that we were indeed booked in Premium rooms only.

2. We informed that as we have been confirmed a complimentary lunch or dinner, we will opt for complimentary dinner the same night. Again the receptionist informed us that this package cannot afford a complimentary lunch or dinner. We again suggested them to check with their reservation staff after which they confirmed that the complimentary dinner is acceptable to them.

3. The rooms were comfortable and no complaints there.

4. The next day when we were sightseeing, we get a call from the reception that we should rush back to the hotel as we have to check-out by 12 noon. In case I don't come then we will be charged extra for over staying. We asked her to check with the reservation staff but she mentioned that the reservation staff has gone on a vacation that day. I told her that we have been offered a package and that we will not allow the hotel to threaten us after which she informed us that she will discuss with the Hotel Manager and confirm the extention of check-out time.
The receptionist called after about 10 minutes and informed us that the manager has been kind enough to extend the time till 3pm. We told her that we don't accept this generous offer by the manager as we have been confirmed an extention till 5pm that day.
Later, we get a call from the Guest Relationship manager to whom we complained. She apologised profusely and asked me when do i propose to check-out. I told her there is no question of her asking me this question as the package offered to me was witha a check-out time of 5pm. She accepted 5pm check out but I cautioned her that I should not get any reminder call from the reception which she promised will be taken care off.
At precisely 2.30pm, I get a call from the reception asking me to check out by 3pm. I again asked him to recheck with the Guest relationship manager.

5. Meantime, when we returned back to the hotel by 2:30pm, we found out that the house keeping has deliberately not cleaned our room.

6. Once we checked out, we complained to all of them for the lack of complete co-ordination between the reservation staff, the reception, the Guest Relationship manager and finally the General Manager of the hotel.

So caution to every guest to take all the reservation details in writing when you are being offered a package and please bring in your copy so that the reception does not deny having offered that package.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shridhar1462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambayh0tels, Manager at Cambay Grand Ahmedabad, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear Guest,
We thank you for your feedback and concerns,we apologize for the inconvenience caused to you but this matter has been taken up to the management and they have addressed all the issues ,we look forward for pleasant stay next time
Warm Regards,
Cambay Group of Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

the hotel looks really grand from outside, but does not have the touch of finesse. Most of the area is under construction and staff cannot understand English. Overall the rooms are comfortable but lacks the expectations of a big hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DushyantPrasad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saurabhgarg5, Public Relations Manager at Cambay Grand Ahmedabad, responded to this review, 15 June 2013
Dear Guest

We are sorry that you had your stay disturbed while there was some maintenance work going on. We assure you that it was temporary.
On the other aspects highlighted in your feedback, we will make sure we address the issues and improve the experience provided to our guests

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ahmedabad hotels
3.5 mi away
Cambay Sapphire
Cambay Sapphire
#132 of 161 in Ahmedabad
71 reviews
0.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson - Ahmedabad
0.4 mi away
The Fern Ahmedabad
The Fern Ahmedabad
#28 of 161 in Ahmedabad
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Ramada Ahmedabad
Ramada Ahmedabad
#24 of 161 in Ahmedabad
320 reviews
3.9 mi away
Cama Hotel
Cama Hotel
#36 of 161 in Ahmedabad
170 reviews
4.0 mi away
Sarovar Portico Ahmedabad
Sarovar Portico Ahmedabad
#124 of 161 in Ahmedabad
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambay Grand Ahmedabad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambay Grand Ahmedabad

Property: Cambay Grand Ahmedabad
Address: Near Perd Centre | Sola Over Bridge, Thaltej, Ahmedabad 380054, India
Region: India > Gujarat > Ahmedabad District > Ahmedabad
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 161 Hotels in Ahmedabad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cambay Grand Ahmedabad 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near the Sarkhej-Gandhinagar Highway, in the heart of a bustling city centre and its key business areas, Cambay Grand is an illustrious property rendering manifold facilities including tasteful accommodation, ambrosial dining, refined conferencing and banqueting, spa, swimming pool, discotheque and fitness centre. The hotel has remained in service since November 2009 and it is an ideal choice for stay owing to its easy accessibility to the domestic and international airport. The hotel embodies 168 tastefully designed rooms including Deluxe, Premium and Cambay Club rooms. The hotel also encompasses multi-cuisine restaurants and food & beverages outlets. The hotel is well appointed with state-of-the-art meeting rooms and banquet halls with a seating capacity of up to 1000 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cambay Grand Ahmedabad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing