We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shakahari - CLOSED

Shakahari
Price range: US$14 - US$18
Cuisines: Barbecue, Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Conceptualized as a Contemporary North Indian Restaurant, Bayleaf aims to be the latest addition to Ahmedabad's eclectic gastronomic landscape. The newly found Bayleaf will offer delicately finished kebabs and curries to its guests with friendly and efficient service.
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

The food quality was good. I had been almost 6 months back but the food was awesome. The starters were amazing. They had improved a lot now. The spread was good and staff is courteous. With the standard the pricing is reasonable. Would love to visit again

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ritesh918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    26
    6
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Service below par, hygiene standards pathetic”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

While Shakahari has a very good buffet menu, service standards are not consistent based on our two visits over last month. They offered and served hot fulka to some other guests but they did not even offer the same to us. We had to ask for it. On previous visit, there was no one to show up for a long time.

Their napkins smell. We pointed that out last time but nothing was done. SEcond visit, same problem. I have experienced such smell only from very economy focussed restaurants.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 8poshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
96 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good food and friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

WE booked a table for 14 , thinking it to be an a la carte restaurant. To our surprise they have converted to buffet restaurant.I had visited in August till then it was a la carte.
they serve primarliy Indian and far eastern food.
Good staff,
Only one complaint: One of my friend eats low calorie food. So just had a soup and little raw salad . Since there were fresh fruits in the dessert counter , we requested them to serve a platter of fresh fruits. For that they charged Rs 400! Ideally they should have given it within the buffet charge.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rajesh60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kolkata
Level Contributor
170 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Great food great ambience ! ! !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

This is an old favourite of mine, unfortunately they have discontinued with the best dish Shahjaani Panneer Tikka ( the best starter ever had ). The Black Dal is wonderful which you should not miss at all.. Pricing is very reasonable as compared to 5 stars.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank anandbhatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Being a non-vegetarian, I do not quite like only vegetarian restaurants. But this one stands out with its quality of food and the variety on offer. Do try if you're in the city or staying at the hotel

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Purvabhatia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shakahari also viewed

Ahmedabad, Gujarat
Gandhinagar, Gujarat
 
Ahmedabad, Gujarat
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing