We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“close to nature”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ummed Ahmedabad
Ranked #12 of 166 Hotels in Ahmedabad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2011

At ahmedabad Taj hotel is loacted very near Airport so tension of traffic jam and time consuming. It is at outskirt of ahmedabad and close to nature. The Party lawn is big enough specially pool side area. Food is excellent speacially dal khichdi.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HotelILOVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (593)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

517 - 523 of 593 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2011

The gateway hotel could definelty do with some rennovation.. the ACs temperature settings dont work, its either too cold or hot... the toilets leak, seat doesnt stay in its place and can hurt you while you are relieving yourself. The experience in the restaurants also isnt the greatest..i picked up the buffet for dinner and most of the things were cold. For the money you pay you can definitely get better places in Ahemdabad.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raomingsoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2011

Having stayed in a couple of Taj properties in India, I booked the Gateway Ummed through their site. I could tell it wasn't going to be a palace, but it looked better than what you get - basically a stripped down, India style Holiday Inn. I understand they are updating some rooms - I don't think I had one of those. Old furniture and spartan with no amenities to speak of. I will say that it was very clean and the staff tried hard to be of service, but the feeling I got was that they just weren't trained to actually handle most requests. I agree with other reviewers that the location is odd; you definitely feel trapped and away from the city center. On the plus side, I was able to book a car and driver through the hotel for 8 hours at only 2,800 rupees. Not a bad hotel, just average - to be fair, I'm not sure there really is a good hotel in Ahmedabad - maybe the Taj group should move in and build something really up to their standards.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank artprof13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2011

The services of Hotel are very good. Rooms are quite large and nice. The TV and its remote is most difficult part to handle. Location wise near to airport but far from city. The lobby is the best. The staff is friendly and nice. The location is bit a difficult for business travelers.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrandVitara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2011

We were on pilgrimag tour to bhavanagar, while returning we called them and went directly to hotel, priti at reception helped my family , unexpacted hospitality and mr.anthony himself taken care for our jain meal.

its not only value for money but its atmosphere is like home and fully secured.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jksugars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2011

I stayed in this hotel for 1 night. I checked in on 11th January, and checked out on 12th January, 2011. This hotel is about 1 km from the airport and therefore saves lot of time. However, since it is away from the city, unless you have your own transport, it will be difficult to attend to your business in the city. The room I stayed was well maintained. Though it was a business dinner, I enjoyed the same.

The staff here was courteous cooperative which made my one day's stay in this hotel enjoyable.

Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
Thank BossMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2011

We have been travelling a lot to Ahmadabad and after trying various hotels, have settled for Taj. One of the main reason to select Taj is the courtesy extended by all the staff members, be it lobby manager, reception desk or bell desk. The rooms are adequate for a brief stay with ample amenities and nice bed with clean linen and good shower. The food is excellent, even if the prices are steep. The room service is quick and if they tell 20 min they maintain the timing. The main drawback of this hotel is the location which is closer to the airport and best suits transit passengers or people like us who stay there for two days at a time. If you book well in advance through the nett, you get excellent value for the money. The swimming pool is good, but hardly used by the guests.

Room Tip: choose rooms 301 to 309 and not 320, which are far
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hellojee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ahmedabad hotels
6.2 mi away
Hyatt Ahmedabad
Hyatt Ahmedabad
#6 of 166 in Ahmedabad
733 reviews
7.6 mi away
Courtyard Ahmedabad
Courtyard Ahmedabad
#1 of 166 in Ahmedabad
1,058 reviews
8.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ahmedabad City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Ahmedabad
8 mi away
Novotel Ahmedabad
Novotel Ahmedabad
#8 of 166 in Ahmedabad
721 reviews
4.4 mi away
The House of MG
The House of MG
#11 of 166 in Ahmedabad
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ummed Ahmedabad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ummed Ahmedabad

Address: Airport Road | Near International Airport Circle, Ahmedabad 382475, India (Formerly The Gateway Hotel Ummed Ahmedabad)
Region: India > Gujarat > Ahmedabad District > Ahmedabad
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Ahmedabad
#11 Luxury Hotel in Ahmedabad
#12 Business Hotel in Ahmedabad
Price Range: £59 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ummed Ahmedabad 5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ummed Ahmedabad, located just 1 km from the airport and in close proximity to the government and developing industrial areas makes this location an apt choice. The Ummed Ahmedabad, is an oasis of warmth and soothing surroundings. Splashes of greens and blue welcome you to our elegantly designed, low-rise property spread over four acres of manicured gardens. The location of hotel is well connected to the old and new business districts of Ahmedabad. Gandhinagar, the state government's seat, is also a short 15 minute drive from the hotel. Feel welcomed in one of the 91 rooms and suites along with gives you a choice of indoor and outdoor venues to host your business or social events. The hotel boasts of ease of access, manicured gardens, world class amenities and customized food and beverage services to create the memorable events. Tastefully appointed using suitable tones, styled with custom made teak furniture and convenient amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ummed Ahmedabad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Residency Ummed Ahmedabad
Taj Residency Ummed Hotel Ahmedabad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing