We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ummed Ahmedabad

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Ummed Ahmedabad
Ranked #13 of 154 Hotels in Ahmedabad
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Decent stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

The hotel is very close to the airport. Hence a very easy access. We arrived late at night. Taxi service by hotel was quite prompt. The reception was wide awake just to recieve us. They were young boys perhaps just out of hotel management school, but they were very energetic and always smiling.

The room was comfortable, perfect for two person. The breakfast was good for both Indians and westerners.

Overall it was a very good experience. I recommend this especially if you are planning a stayover for a night in Ahmedabad, given that Airport doesn't have any lounge for a night's stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BabooRao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    206
    97
    27
    16
See reviews for
60
29
42
373
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

This was my first stay at the Hotel. It is very conviniently located about 5 to 8 minutes from the Airport.On arrival to my pleasent surprise, I received an SMS with pickup details including the mobile no of the driver and the car no. Rooms were very comfortable and quite big in size. Toilets were very clean. Buffet was a bit of a let down, looking at the quality of the food and the lack of choices. Staff was very courteous and helpful.The Hotel is away from the city center and it takes around 20 minutes to reach there. I liked my stay at the Hotel and if I do not have work in the city centre then I would definitely stay here.

Room Tip: Garden facing rooms which are more peaceful compared to the pool facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SumeetOberoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

The hotel is within 5 minutes from airport but it's an old building. The occupancy seems to be lower than other locations as it is faraway from city. Therefore, the staff is less experienced. Food choices in the restaurant are limited.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vinket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
99 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

This was my first ever stay at this hotel, and it was a satisfactory experience in most aspects. Getting in and out of the airport is quick and easy, howeve beware that it is quite a distance away from the city center. Rooms and service were pretty decent. I do kind of agree with other other reviewers here who've said that the decor and room fixings are in need of a re-do. Wouldn't recommend this hotel for a stay beyond2/3 days, simply because it is too far away from the heart of the city and communting daily on the traffic-chocked Ahmedabad roads is not a very enticing prospect.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zenith2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

Very Nice hotel, near to airport, Good food & heritage look, however little costly compared to other hotels in Ahmedabad.
Overall amazing experience, I liked it & came back again.............................................

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tanmaymech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
61 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

The hotel is located close to the airport making it easier to get in and out of the city but away from the city center.

The rooms are decent size and are typical to any business hotel. The corridors are long and it have just one entry and exit. Not much directions are placed and it is easy to get lost on the floor trying to find an exit.

The hotel is calm and peaceful being away from the city. It has a small bookstore inside which can offer you the classics as well as some recent books. The food at the restaurant is above average though the service is quite poor.

Leaves much to be desired.

Room Tip: Close to the lift lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank guamit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indian
Level Contributor
92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

the hotel is good neat and clean majorly a buissness hotel rooms are comforable near to airport near to city and railway station

Room Tip: take standard basic rooms they are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vastupal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ahmedabad hotels
4.5 mi away
Lemon Tree Premier; The Atrium, Ahmedabad
5.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Ahmedabad
6.2 mi away
Hyatt Ahmedabad
Hyatt Ahmedabad
#7 of 154 in Ahmedabad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Ahmedabad
Hyatt Regency Ahmedabad
#8 of 154 in Ahmedabad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
5.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Ahmedabad
Radisson Blu Hotel Ahmedabad
#6 of 154 in Ahmedabad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
8.0 mi away
Novotel Ahmedabad
Novotel Ahmedabad
#11 of 154 in Ahmedabad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ummed Ahmedabad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ummed Ahmedabad

Property: The Ummed Ahmedabad
Address: Airport Road | Near International Airport Circle, Ahmedabad 382475, India (Formerly The Gateway Hotel Ummed Ahmedabad)
Region: India > Gujarat > Ahmedabad
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Ahmedabad
#10 Luxury Hotel in Ahmedabad
#12 Business Hotel in Ahmedabad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ummed Ahmedabad 4.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ummed Ahmedabad, located just 1 km from the airport and in close proximity to the government and developing industrial areas makes this location an apt choice. The Ummed Ahmedabad, is an oasis of warmth and soothing surroundings. Splashes of greens and blue welcome you to our elegantly designed, low-rise property spread over four acres of manicured gardens. The location of hotel is well connected to the old and new business districts of Ahmedabad. Gandhinagar, the state government's seat, is also a short 15 minute drive from the hotel. Feel welcomed in one of the 91 rooms and suites along with gives you a choice of indoor and outdoor venues to host your business or social events. The hotel boasts of ease of access, manicured gardens, world class amenities and customized food and beverage services to create the memorable events. Tastefully appointed using suitable tones, styled with custom made teak furniture and convenient amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Ummed Ahmedabad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Residency Ummed Ahmedabad
Taj Residency Ummed Hotel Ahmedabad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing