We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poorly maintained hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ummed Ahmedabad
Ranked #13 of 161 Hotels in Ahmedabad
Certificate of Excellence
Pune, India
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Poorly maintained hotel”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

With two night stay here I came to a conclusion better not to choose this hotel anymore since there are multiple other better options available in Ahmedabad with less cost, you would find bird droppings when you look outside your room window, no external cleaning for years together, also no measures to avoid same. No much options for the breakfast. Very little quantity of food served when ordered from room service. Charges heavily for airport pick up / drop although less than a km from airport.
Since there are other good options available at even cheaper cost better to say no to Gateway Ahmedabad.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bharat188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhavin M, Manager at The Ummed Ahmedabad, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear Sir,

It was indeed our plesure to have you stay with us and thank you for taking time to write your valuable feedback and for patronising our hotel as well.

Having gone through your feedback, we have taken appropriate action with the concerned departments and have rectified the same.

We strive to ensure that every single guest has a wonderful memory to carry back. We look forward for an opportunity again sometimes in the near future.

Kind regards,
Bhavin Mehta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    213
    100
    29
    16
See reviews for
67
32
42
401
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

The location close to the airport is very convenient. When I checked in at 8am after an early morning flight from Delhi I was not informed that the hotel will charge me for half a day because of the early check-in. I just dumped my luggage and left for work within 15 minutes after checking in. This was only evident when I was presented with the bill while checking out. I protested. the front desk manager called the hotel manager who came after some time. After a lot of arguing, he decided to waive the half day's charge for early check-in. Apart from that it must be said that the staff were friendly. The breakfast (included in the room rate) was adequate. The rooms are well equipped but the safe provided in the room was problematic, in my 3 days' stay, I had to get help twice to get the safe to work.

Room Tip: Get a room close to the elevator/stairs, some rooms are quite a distance away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indianguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhavin M, Manager at The Ummed Ahmedabad, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Sir,

It was indeed our plesure to have you stay with us and thank you for taking time to write your valuable feedback and for patronising our hotel as well.

Having gone through your feedback, we have taken appropriate action with the concerned departments and have rectified the same.

We strive to ensure that every single guest has a wonderful memory to carry back. We look forward for an opportunity again sometimes in the near future.

Kind regards,
Bhavin Mehta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Come out of Airport and by the time you settle in cab you have arrived there. Nice spacious structure and as you enter the lobby you realise that you are in a personal haveli full of colors. It has nice statues placed at right places and can see elegant wood carving. The rooms are nice and spacious. Though the furniture looks little old but the whole setup is relaxing and smooth. Depending upon the side you stay either you see nice small strip of lawn or you see the pool side.
The staff is very courteous and eager to help. You don't even need to ask as they are hospitable enough to sense when you require their help. The coffee shop is nice. The menu is quite homely and offers you a good mix of Gujarati dishes as other ones. Pool area is nice and cosy and reminds you of a courtyard setup. Altogether a nice play to stay.

Room Tip: Better to stay in inner facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rbrajesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhavin M, Manager at The Ummed Ahmedabad, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Sir,

It was indeed our pleasure to have you stay with us and thank you for taking time to write your valuable feedback and for patronizing our hotel as well.

We are pleased to read that your stay & food experience was as per your expectation.

We look forward for an opportunity again sometimes in the near future.

Kind regards,
Bhavin Mehta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Have stayed a few times at this hotel. Convinient as its very near to the airport, and especially if u are coming by a late evening flight, can reach the hotel in a few minutes. The last stay at the hotel wasn't pleasant as we were given smoking rooms despite mentioning the preference while making the reservation. Although the sales manager after a lot of persuation managed to give us no smoking rooms, still it wasn't a great experience.

Also Taj needs to live up to its reputation and do up the rooms as they badly need an upgrade in terms of interiors, TV (which are still the old CRT TVs) etc.

Room Tip: Specify a room with better interiors & a LED TV
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mukund_dusad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhavin M, Manager at The Ummed Ahmedabad, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Sir,

It was indeed our plesure to have you stay with us and thank you for taking time to write your valuable feedback and for patronising our hotel as well.

Having gone through your feedback, we have incorporated your non -smoking preference into our system, which will ensure that you are offered the same during your next visit. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused due to the same.

We strive to ensure that every single guest has a wonderful memory to carry back. We look forward for an opportunity again sometimes in the near future.

Kind regards,
Bhavin Mehta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

We had stayed at the hotel sometime mid April...it is nice hotel...very close to the airport however a little away from the city most of the regular tourist places / shopping haunts / malls / food spots restaurants are atleast 20mins away.

The food at the coffee shop was decent ... For Breakfast you get a variety...I was expecting mostly gujarati food for breakfast which however was not there. Breakfast had a fair spread but nothing gujurati

The rooms are comfortable...nothing fancy. Room temperature though cannot be reduced below 21 degrees (even on request) which is not the most comfortable position in the extreme Ahmedabad heat.

Now moving on to the most important aspect at any hotel for me...the staff -
The staff excluding the reservation staff at the hotel is really warm and always smiling...helpful and what was pleasantly suprising was to be greeted even by the bell boy and security guards in English...this was not merely good morning or good evening but to the extent of trying to have a conversation in English...very impressive.

Special mention has to be made of ms. vaidehi at the reception who is extremely helpful, polite and stands for the Taj hospitality we are used to seeing in the past.

However, the only negative about the trip was the reservation staff not only are they rude, non responsive but unreliable. We almost booked at another hotel thanks to the non responsive and contradictory information provided to us...this despite us being regular Taj customers. The attitude of the reservation staff was completely callous and it was only the intervention by a manager at another Taj property to whom we complained of this experience and his resolution thereof that made us stay here.

However, one way thanks to the incompetent reservations staff that I was expecting nothing good but really enjoyed my stay... thank you to all the front desk staff, restaurant staff, housekeeping staff, the concierge, bell boys, and special thanks to vaidehi.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank na2506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhavin M, Manager at The Ummed Ahmedabad, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Sir,

It was indeed our plesure to have you stay with us and thank you for taking time to write your valuable feedback and for patronising our hotel as well.

Having gone through your feedback, we regret that your stay was not as per your expectation. We have already investigated this incident with all concerned and have taken corrective measures to ensure that this does not get repeated.

We strive to ensure that every single guest has a wonderful memory to carry back. We look forward for an opportunity again sometimes in the near future.

Kind regards,
Bhavin Mehta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

New city for me and therefore a new hotel but was pleasantly surprised. The rooms were very clean and very comfortable but its location, next to the airport is very convenient. I can say I was not aware of any aircraft noise during the stay. We had a very nice meal in the restaurant and the portions were very generous, however, we chose the restaurant because the buffet on offer didn't look very appetising. We would quite happily use this hotel for future visits.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flippertybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhavin M, Manager at The Ummed Ahmedabad, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear Sir,

It was indeed our pleasure to have you stay with us and thank you for taking time to write your valuable feedback and for patronizing our hotel as well.

We are pleased to read that your stay & food experience was as per your expectation.

We look forward for an opportunity again sometimes in the near future.

Kind regards,
Bhavin Mehta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Well appointed rooms with good restaurant and services. The staff was courteous and helped us in every manner. We also had food in their restaurant that was nicely cooked and delicious, owing to our off timing. Their dinner buffet was amazing. Great variety and selection of desserts. Talking about the rooms, it was apt for a couple but the mattress was way too soft that was a little uncomfortable. Other than that, we had a good experience although we stayed just for a day.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Komalgupta2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhavin M, Manager at The Ummed Ahmedabad, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear Sir,

It was indeed our pleasure to have you stay with us and thank you for taking time to write your valuable feedback and for patronizing our hotel as well.

We are pleased to read that your stay & food experience was as per your expectation. With regards to the mattress being soft, we like to inform you that hotel has both type of mattresses, ie: hard & soft. Nevertheless, we have updated this preference in your personal profile so that you enjoy this in your future visits.

We look forward for an opportunity again sometimes in the near future.

Kind regards,
Bhavin Mehta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ahmedabad hotels
6.2 mi away
Hyatt Ahmedabad
Hyatt Ahmedabad
#7 of 161 in Ahmedabad
667 reviews
4.4 mi away
The House of MG
The House of MG
#11 of 161 in Ahmedabad
465 reviews
7.6 mi away
Courtyard Ahmedabad
Courtyard Ahmedabad
#3 of 161 in Ahmedabad
878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ahmedabad City Centre
5.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Ahmedabad
8.0 mi away
Novotel Ahmedabad
Novotel Ahmedabad
#10 of 161 in Ahmedabad
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ummed Ahmedabad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ummed Ahmedabad

Property: The Ummed Ahmedabad
Address: Airport Road | Near International Airport Circle, Ahmedabad 382475, India (Formerly The Gateway Hotel Ummed Ahmedabad)
Region: India > Gujarat > Ahmedabad District > Ahmedabad
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Ahmedabad
#12 Luxury Hotel in Ahmedabad
#12 Business Hotel in Ahmedabad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ummed Ahmedabad 5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ummed Ahmedabad, located just 1 km from the airport and in close proximity to the government and developing industrial areas makes this location an apt choice. The Ummed Ahmedabad, is an oasis of warmth and soothing surroundings. Splashes of greens and blue welcome you to our elegantly designed, low-rise property spread over four acres of manicured gardens. The location of hotel is well connected to the old and new business districts of Ahmedabad. Gandhinagar, the state government's seat, is also a short 15 minute drive from the hotel. Feel welcomed in one of the 91 rooms and suites along with gives you a choice of indoor and outdoor venues to host your business or social events. The hotel boasts of ease of access, manicured gardens, world class amenities and customized food and beverage services to create the memorable events. Tastefully appointed using suitable tones, styled with custom made teak furniture and convenient amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Ummed Ahmedabad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Residency Ummed Ahmedabad
Taj Residency Ummed Hotel Ahmedabad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing