We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected Better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ummed Ahmedabad
Ranked #12 of 157 Hotels in Ahmedabad
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Expected Better”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Well let me begin by mentioning the positives :The Rooms are comfortable and the hotel is located very near the Ahmedabad Airport. The staff is extremely helpful, and would go out of their way to make your stay comfortable.
The air-conditioning in my room just didn't work - even after 3 technicians visiting and assuring that it would cool after 1/2 hr - it never happened. This went on till 1:30 a.m and messed up the sleep I was expecting after a grueling travel schedule. This is not what you expect of a 5 Star property.
Hope this was an one off incident and not a common occurence.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vishvajit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhavin M, Director of Sales at The Ummed Ahmedabad, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Sir,

It was indeed our pleasure to have you stay with us and thank you for taking time to write your valuable feedback and for patronizing our hotel as well.

We sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused to you during your recent visit to the hotel. Having gone through your feedback, we have counseled the staff member and have corrected the fault in the room. We assure you that this would have been a one time incident only and would request for your understanding on the same.

We look forward for an opportunity again sometimes in the near future.

Kind regards,
Bhavin Mehta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    210
    99
    28
    16
See reviews for
65
31
42
394
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

The Gateway, Ahmedabad, is a tired and jaded property. The same energy has been imbibed by the service staff. The property screams for a refurbishment. Pool side is nice. The all day dining restaurant is abysmal in both food quality, and service standards.

The Breakfast buffet spread completely lacks imagination, and local content. The restaurant staff are negative in their outlook, and would rather walk around aimlessly, or stare into nothingness, than proactively discharge their duties. They are innovative in finding excuses to explain shortcomings, and reasons why requests cant be complied. The same energy, invested in pursuit of positive ends, could produce remarkably different results, and the guest experience in conformity with the brand standard of The Taj.

Would strongly recommend that this hotel be avoided

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bala0303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhavin M, Director of Sales at The Ummed Ahmedabad, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Sir,

It was indeed our pleasure to have you stay with us and thank you for taking time to write your valuable feedback and for patronizing our hotel as well.

We sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused to you during your recent visit to the hotel. Having gone through your feedback, we have taken corrective measures with all concerned departments. We assure you that this would have been a one time incident only and would request for your understanding on the same.

We look forward for an opportunity again sometimes in the near future.

Kind regards,
Bhavin Mehta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Well maintained hotel.Very clean.I really enjoyed my stay in this hotel.Clean rooms & Very tasty food. excellent F & B service. Great and comfortable rooms. The hotel room as well as lobby, restaurant always smelled fresh.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shah23rachita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhavin M, Director of Sales at The Ummed Ahmedabad, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Sir,

It was indeed our pleasure to have you stay with us and thank you for taking time to write your valuable feedback and for patronizing our hotel as well.

We are pleased to read that your stay & food experience was as per your expectation. We have shared your positive feedback to our housekeeping team for a job well-done.

We look forward for an opportunity again sometimes in the near future.

Kind regards,
Bhavin Mehta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The Hotel is very beautiful and well maintained. The Lobby is specious and always smell freshed. Housekeeping services are too good. Coffee shop "Narmada" serves awsome food. Will definately visit again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reshma167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhavin M, Director of Sales at The Ummed Ahmedabad, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Sir,

It was indeed our pleasure to have you stay with us and thank you for taking time to write your valuable feedback and for patronizing our hotel as well.

We are pleased to read that your stay experience was as per your expectation. We have conveyed your positive feedback to our housekeeping team.

We look forward for an opportunity again sometimes in the near future.

Kind regards,
Bhavin Mehta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odense, Denmark
Level Contributor
185 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Be aware there are bedbugs and the staff know it !!

It seems that something is wrong, restaurant is on a sleep,
Cleaness is long away from earlier standard ( fifth time I am staying here) .

Last time I have stayed at this hotel and I will as a GoldCard member of Taj chain make a very long claim to management.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Strandmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhavin M, Director of Sales at The Ummed Ahmedabad, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Sir,

It was indeed our plesure to have you stay with us and thank you for taking time to write your valuable feedback and for patronising our hotel as well.

We would like to apologize for the unpleasant experience you had during your recent stay at our Hotel. Having gone through your feedback, we have taken appropriate action with the concerned departments and have rectified the same. We assure you that this was an one time incident only and would request for your understanding on the same.

We strive to ensure that every single guest has a wonderful memory to carry back. We look forward for an opportunity again sometimes in the near future.

Kind regards,
Bhavin Mehta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Safwa, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We booked two rooms here as my and three of my friends had to stay in Ahmedabad for a night and wanted a place near the airport, this hotel was just awesome, we arrived late at night and got checked in without any delay, rooms were great, quiet and very comfortable. In the morning, we had our breakfast in the hotel too, variety of food was very good, we enjoyed it a lot.

I would really come back to this hotel if I ever visited Ahmedabad (maybe if I also wanted to be close to the airport too).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mohammed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhavin M, Director of Sales at The Ummed Ahmedabad, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Sir,

It was indeed our pleasure to have you stay with us and thank you for taking time to write your valuable feedback and for patronizing our hotel as well.

We are pleased to read that your stay & food experience was as per your expectation.

We look forward for an opportunity again sometimes in the near future.

Kind regards,
Bhavin Mehta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

On yet another visit, it was confirmed to me that this hotel is good mainly for business travelers who are looking for a decent stay near the airport!...However I do want to mention my wonderful experience at check-in (took about a minute, no verification asked for, no hassle, very pleasant lady - really helped as I was in a tearing hurry to get to Gandhinagar). Asked for water, and a small bottle of mineral water was produced within seconds!
That said, the room was average, water pressure remains uneven, sleep quality average and the mattress hard. At breakfast the staff seemed very eager to please but also slightly clueless. One of my colleagues asked for muesli a few times, finally someone said they were busy 'preparing' it in the kitchen! I asked for cake and they 'forgot' to bring it, of course made up by packing it quickly but some training and a better spread at breakfast would make at least the breakfast comparable to luxury hotels. Free airport transfers would also really add to the value of this hotel which is mainly due to proximity to the airport. Taking a cab from the airport costs Rs 200 which isnt worth it for such a short distance, but there is really no choice as it is also too hot mostly to walk/take an auto. The staff seriously should think along these lines.

Room Tip: Pool facing, close to elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rashig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhavin M, Director of Sales at The Ummed Ahmedabad, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Ma'am,

It was indeed our plesure to have you stay with us and thank you for taking time to write your valuable feedback and for patronising our hotel as well.

Having gone through your feedback, we would like to highlight that the hotel does offer choice of both hard and soft mattress to enhance sleep quality. Please do request for your choice of mattress at the time of check in. With regards to the water pressure, the hotel is considering to change the fixtures shortly. Airport transfers being an out sourced facility is at an additional charge, however, we would be happy to work out a special rates, which are inclusive of this facility.

We strive to ensure that every single guest has a wonderful memory to carry back. We look forward for an opportunity again sometimes in the near future.

Kind regards,
Bhavin Mehta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ahmedabad hotels
6.2 mi away
Hyatt Ahmedabad
Hyatt Ahmedabad
#8 of 157 in Ahmedabad
638 reviews
4.5 mi away
Lemon Tree Premier; The Atrium, Ahmedabad
3.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Ahmedabad
Hyatt Regency Ahmedabad
#6 of 157 in Ahmedabad
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Ahmedabad
8.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ahmedabad City Centre
8.0 mi away
Novotel Ahmedabad
Novotel Ahmedabad
#13 of 157 in Ahmedabad
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ummed Ahmedabad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ummed Ahmedabad

Property: The Ummed Ahmedabad
Address: Airport Road | Near International Airport Circle, Ahmedabad 382475, India (Formerly The Gateway Hotel Ummed Ahmedabad)
Region: India > Gujarat > Ahmedabad District > Ahmedabad
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Ahmedabad
#11 Luxury Hotel in Ahmedabad
#12 Business Hotel in Ahmedabad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ummed Ahmedabad 5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ummed Ahmedabad, located just 1 km from the airport and in close proximity to the government and developing industrial areas makes this location an apt choice. The Ummed Ahmedabad, is an oasis of warmth and soothing surroundings. Splashes of greens and blue welcome you to our elegantly designed, low-rise property spread over four acres of manicured gardens. The location of hotel is well connected to the old and new business districts of Ahmedabad. Gandhinagar, the state government's seat, is also a short 15 minute drive from the hotel. Feel welcomed in one of the 91 rooms and suites along with gives you a choice of indoor and outdoor venues to host your business or social events. The hotel boasts of ease of access, manicured gardens, world class amenities and customized food and beverage services to create the memorable events. Tastefully appointed using suitable tones, styled with custom made teak furniture and convenient amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Ummed Ahmedabad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Residency Ummed Ahmedabad
Taj Residency Ummed Hotel Ahmedabad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing