We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sarovar stay was plesant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sarovar Portico Ahmedabad
Ranked #128 of 157 Hotels in Ahmedabad
Bangalore
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Sarovar stay was plesant”
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for a day. I had got a room facing the river very nice view. Overall the room was good, can be turned into excellent through small changes. The people are very service oriented and they helped me in all ways. I just had the complementery breakfast which was really good. I would like to mention a special thanks to Mr S Roy, he helped me with all my query's and I could also see him helping others.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ranganath V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernard_Fernandez, General Manager at Sarovar Portico Ahmedabad, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments. We are glad that the team made your stay comfortable. Your encouraging comments will help us do better.

Our efforts are always driven to ensure that the guest satisfaction is of prime importance. I truly believe that improvement is a continuous process and I assure you my personal attention will be put to areas of your concern, which are highlighted by your good self.

We look forward to welcome you back soon with assurance of better and improved services.

Yours sincerely,

Bernard Fernandez
General Manager
gmapo@sarovarhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    128
    87
    24
    16
See reviews for
38
17
33
230
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I had read a lot about this hotel on tripadvisor however since this was close to my place of work I decided to stay here anyways. I reached the hotel to find my self listening to a weird conversation between a guest and hotel reception. Apparently the reception had sent someone else to a room which was already occupied. First impression not good ofcourse. The man at the reception was so bothered with this conversation that instead of my booking details he printed someone else booking details twice and that resulted in me waiting for 20 mins.
Next i asked for a scissor as i had to unpack and cut the security tag. It took 45 mins and 3 phone calls for them to get the scissor by that time i had already unpacked.
The rooms are small with hardly any place to move around. the batch tub is unclean. I had a room with a good view that was a plus.
The food is ok. I ate breakfast for 2 days and found the menu to be the same on both days with 2 changes in the overall menu. Paneer tikka are tough and can be avoided. i liked the chicken which was soft and nicely cooked.
They have a decent gym. The best part is the sleep quality. no one really bothers you. And hence the 3 stars. I have stayed and other Sarovar and this was really a let down,

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the garden or River
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s_kumta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernard_Fernandez, General Manager at Sarovar Portico Ahmedabad, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Mr. Kumta,

Thank you for your feedback of your recent stay with us at Sarovar Portico Ahmedabad.

Your positive comments are much appreciated. I am disheartened to note your unsatisfactory experience at the Reception and with the House Keeping. Please be assured that the same has been shared with the concerned team and the department heads for corrective measures and improvement.

Kindly accept my sincerely apologies for the inconveniences caused to you.

We look forward to your continued support and patronage to Sarovar Portico Ahmedabad.

Yours sincerely,

Bernard Fernandez
General Manager
gmapo@sarovarhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KOLKATA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Please come here to learn how poorly a hotel can be run. I fail to understand why such a prominent chain hotel group pays such a step motherly attitude to their own hotel in the chain. I will suggest every one to stay away from it. The staffs are doing their duty and for any request the first attempt is to find a reason not to do it, ask for a soap and they do not have, the towels are the ones which were used when the sarovar started the operation of the hotel. Believe me I have stayed in this hotel several years back and used to love it as it was so lively but now without compulsion one should never stay there. The food is horrible as well as the menu and the choices. Overall the worst seen hotel in last several years in India

Room Tip: Avoid staying
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samir S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernard_Fernandez, General Manager at Sarovar Portico Ahmedabad, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback of your recent stay with us at Sarovar Portico Ahmedabad.

I am personally dismayed to know of the incidents which affected your pleasant stay at Sarovar Portico Ahmedabad. We will certainly take necessary corrective measures and we will do our best to delight you, should you give us the opportunity in future.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Sarovar Portico Ahmedabad.

Yours sincerely,

Bernard Fernandez
General Manager
gmapo@sarovarhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I have loved my stay at Hotel Sarovar Portico. The the hotel is located in between the main city and the airport. Memorable moments about the hotel is the morning breakfast at the river facing restaurant and the scenic beauty of Sabarmati river.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sagardikule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernard_Fernandez, General Manager at Sarovar Portico Ahmedabad, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for posting your review of Sarovar Portico Ahmedabad. We are glad that you enjoyed a comfortable stay.

We much appreciate your valuable feedback on our hospitality and facilities, and hope to be of service to you again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Bernard Fernandez
General Manager
gmapo@sarovarhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajkot, Gujarat, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I stayed in this hotel in April 2014 with my wife & kid. I had a bad experience. I had booked it in advance for 2 adults & 1 child. when i reached hotel i was told to seat in waiting lounge till they work out which room they can provide me after seating 15 mins the handed me the key then a security guy who stands on door guided us to the room and worst thing was room has 2 small bed in which a single person so it was not comfartable for 3 of us to adjust. when i called reception they said there is no king size bed room available no but he will surely shift me to another room tomorrow. my trip was of 2 nights & 3 days i was not even being told or reminded for that shifting to another room so it was not at all acceptable for such a standard hotel chain to treat there customers like this. breakfast was good restaurant was also nice rooms were ok

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riddhish P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernard_Fernandez, General Manager at Sarovar Portico Ahmedabad, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback of your recent stay with us at Sarovar Portico Ahmedabad.

I am personally dismayed to know of the incident which affected your pleasant stay. We have noted the concerns you have highlighted and please be assured that the same has been shared with the concerned team and the department heads for corrective measures and improvement. We will do our best to delight you, should you give us the opportunity in future.

Kindly accept my sincere apologies for all the inconveniences caused.

Yours sincerely,

Bernard Fernandez
General Manager
gmapo@sarovarhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ahmedabad hotels

Bangalore, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

cleanliness is not maintained , Lifts: Elevators are outdated don't work properly ,Bathrooms need to be maintained, I belive this property is very old & is not renovated after Sarovar Group has taken over.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Srinivas V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernard_Fernandez, General Manager at Sarovar Portico Ahmedabad, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback of your recent stay with us at Sarovar Portico Ahmedabad.

I am disheartened to note your unsatisfactory experiences. Please be assured that the same has been shared with the concerned team and the department head for corrective measures and improvement.

Both the guest elevators are upgraded and are now in for interiors. We are in to a phase-wise of room renovations and would be glad to have our newly renovated rooms given/blocked for you on your next visit should you give us the opportunity in future.

I once again apologize for the inconveniences caused to you.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Sarovar Portico Ahmedabad.

Yours sincerely,

Bernard Fernandez
General Manager
gmapo@sarovarhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I have enjoyed my stay at Hotel Sarovar Portico for my business tour. The the hotel is located in between the main city and the airport. Memorable moments about the hotel is the morning breakfast at the river facing restaurant and the scenic beauty of Sabarmati river.

Room Tip: Select the river facing rooms so that you can enjoy the scenic beauty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nair027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernard_Fernandez, General Manager at Sarovar Portico Ahmedabad, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments. We are glad that the team made your stay comfortable. Your encouraging comments will help us do better.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Bernard Fernandez
General Manager
gmapo@sarovarhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ahmedabad hotels
0.1 mi away
Cama Hotel
Cama Hotel
#33 of 157 in Ahmedabad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Ahmedabad
0.4 mi away
Riverview Hotel
Riverview Hotel
#45 of 157 in Ahmedabad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lemon Tree Premier; The Atrium, Ahmedabad
1.3 mi away
Fortune Hotel Landmark
Fortune Hotel Landmark
#13 of 157 in Ahmedabad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fortune Park, Ahmedabad
Fortune Park, Ahmedabad
#15 of 157 in Ahmedabad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarovar Portico Ahmedabad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarovar Portico Ahmedabad

Property: Sarovar Portico Ahmedabad
Address: Bhawan's College Road | Khanpur, Ahmedabad 380001, India (Formerly Hotel Sarovar Portico)
Region: India > Gujarat > Ahmedabad District > Ahmedabad
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 157 Hotels in Ahmedabad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sarovar Portico Ahmedabad 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get a cordial reception at Sarovar Portico as you are introduced to this property that promises you every possible comfort and a world-class luxury. The entrance lobby itself is inviting with its wooden feel and plush furnishings. All the rooms and suites come with all of the best luxuries and a dedicated staff ensures that you are attended to anytime during the day. Extra care is taken to provide you with things to pamper you and keep you refreshed throughout the day. The hotel ensures that its guests are always comfortable and well-connected. Business tourists are even provided with the best of business facilities. The hotel even has the capacity to organize business conferences and meetings in its well-equipped conference halls. Dining is a priority for Sarovar. It has an amazing multi-cuisine restaurant that allows guests to enjoy delicious meals as they enjoy a lovely view of the gardens and the Sabarmati River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sarovar Portico Ahmedabad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing