We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat and clean - OK for a business visit night's stay”

Avalon Hotel & Banquets
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Avalon Hotel & Banquets
Ranked #148 of 163 Hotels in Ahmedabad
Reviewed 17 February 2014

As is commented earlier, this aims to be predominantly a banquets place with rooms attached to it.
Rooms are spacious and well-designed. Ventilation seems to be an unresolved issue. Asked specifically for a non-smoking room, and was placed next to colleague's smoking room on the same floor (can imagine the technical impossibility if rooms did not have their separate dedicated ventilation!!).
Can't say much about food. had a quick, frugal breakfast, since the three of us appeared to be the only house guests, and thus the hotel decided to wrap the buffet and offer us from a fixed menu.
Location was quiet and quite ideal for access to Western fringes of Ahmedabad.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IndianFlaneur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2013

Yes it's a business hotel. I get that, but does that mean that we are not supposed to sleep? Picture this: An open (roofless) 24 hr kitchen just outside (and under) your bedroom! Now try and get some sleep with all the cutting, shouting, vessels clanking throughout the night and more. Also since I went during the marriage season, all the party rooms/conference halls, terrace etc. had parties, music, dancing, screaming, and chairs being moved constantly till wee hours of the morning. There was cacophony from all directions! So my suggestion is this: If you're going to Ahmedabad for a day trip then it really doesn't matter where you stay, but if you want a good night's rest, then please, please avoid this 'hotel'

Room Tip: If you have to stay here, then choose a room on the 2nd floor on the opposite side of the "open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mehulmparikh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Avalon is primarily a banqueting place for marriage and other events with about 30 well appointed comfortable rooms. The best part of the hotel is the FOOD ! The restaurant has an international menu with finger-licking taste. The breakfast spread is also very nice indeed. The room service was at times very slow - I believe this was due to a shortage of staff when all their banquets are busy. It was very funny to see their staff communicating amongst themselves on mobiles ! Adequate parking, peaceful surroundings, near to the upcoming up-market area of the city, very courteous and friendly staff are pluses. Pricing is indeed competitive and value-for-money. The only expectation of mine would be for them to improve their in-room maintenance to enhance the experience.

Room Tip: Take rooms facing the open plots around to get a chance to see peacocks strutting around in the earl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bimaltrivedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I stayed at this hotel this year and overall it was a good experience.the location is an advantage ,the decor of the rooms are nice.cleaning could have been better.Towels were not changed while cleaning.the food is good.Expected more friendly staff.overall I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank exploringnewhorizon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I stayed in the hotel with a group of friends. The stay was ok, with some definite drawback!
The rooms were spacious, however, were not clean enough. The bathrooms although equipped with modern fitting, were not fully functional and the untidy patch job was clearly visible. In a span of 2 days, we had to call for the plumber thrice to repair the toilets flush!

The room service was practically missing, as it took multiple phone calls and an angry conversation to get a bunch of towels for the room. Even after repeated requests we never saw the hand towels we asked for at the time of check-in.

The electricity connection for the room was linked to the key, however, it required special skills to adjust it to a specific angle for it to work! There was definitely some issues with the power output as it took for ever for our mobile phones to charge!

The food in the hotel is decent, and the deserts in restaurant are surprisingly above average!

The place may be ok for a business traveler, however, it you are with your family or are looking for some comfort and relaxation, this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ankit K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Had stayed 3 Nights / 4 days in Avalon Hotel on a business trip. This is one of my favorite hotel in Ahmadabad. Excellent Quality of Rooms... Amazing Quality of Food... Best in Location...Superb Services... Like a best and decent place to stay when you travelling with your family... I this this is my 3rd trip to Ahmadabad and to Avalon also... I am a guest of Avalon since 2011 i guess and whenever i travel to Ahmadabad my preferred option to stay is always Avalon Hotel. Cheer to Avalon Hotel.

Room Tip: Always go for rooms on 2nd Floor and ask for road side view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vikram b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Ridiculous experience at this hotel. Even after telling the hotel staff repeatedly the AC wasn't fixed properly and I was told each time that the problem has been fixed. Woke up at 3am thanks to the AC shutting off again. Sleepless night. All 3 rooms we took as a group of 6 ppl had the same problem. If the hotel is trying to save electricity costs this way it's just disgusting. Wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank Ringsosaturn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ahmedabad hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel Formule1
Hotel Formule1
#21 of 163 in Ahmedabad
307 reviews
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Ahmedabad
Courtyard Ahmedabad
#1 of 163 in Ahmedabad
1,034 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Ahmedabad
Hyatt Ahmedabad
#6 of 163 in Ahmedabad
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The House of MG
The House of MG
#11 of 163 in Ahmedabad
478 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cambay Sapphire
Cambay Sapphire
#133 of 163 in Ahmedabad
72 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Ahmedabad
Novotel Ahmedabad
#8 of 163 in Ahmedabad
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Hotel & Banquets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Hotel & Banquets

Address: Opp Mango Garden Bunglow | off S.G. Road, Bodakdev, Ahmedabad 380054, India
Region: India > Gujarat > Ahmedabad District > Ahmedabad
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 163 Hotels in Ahmedabad
Hotel Class:3 star — Avalon Hotel & Banquets 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Evoline ltd and Booking.com so you can book your Avalon Hotel & Banquets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing