We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Budget Business Hotel”

Avalon Hotel & Banquets
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Avalon Hotel & Banquets
Ranked #114 of 154 Hotels in Ahmedabad
Simla
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Budget Business Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

Location is not very impressive. Staff is courteous. Buffet is delicious. Roof top is an attraction. Difficult to locate for an outsider. Cab driver took lot of time to reach this place from the airport.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amogh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    15
    4
    5
    5
See reviews for
15
2
1
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gurgaon, India
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

Stayed there for 3nights - 4 days, the food ,especially the lasagne is out of this world ,the hospitality is exquisite,the staff is excellent, room service top notch.
The one turn off was the on going construction that made it difficult to sleep sometimes. Hoping ,it will be completed soon and I can give it the 5 ratings.:)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Akhil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

As is commented earlier, this aims to be predominantly a banquets place with rooms attached to it.
Rooms are spacious and well-designed. Ventilation seems to be an unresolved issue. Asked specifically for a non-smoking room, and was placed next to colleague's smoking room on the same floor (can imagine the technical impossibility if rooms did not have their separate dedicated ventilation!!).
Can't say much about food. had a quick, frugal breakfast, since the three of us appeared to be the only house guests, and thus the hotel decided to wrap the buffet and offer us from a fixed menu.
Location was quiet and quite ideal for access to Western fringes of Ahmedabad.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IndianFlaneur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

Yes it's a business hotel. I get that, but does that mean that we are not supposed to sleep? Picture this: An open (roofless) 24 hr kitchen just outside (and under) your bedroom! Now try and get some sleep with all the cutting, shouting, vessels clanking throughout the night and more. Also since I went during the marriage season, all the party rooms/conference halls, terrace etc. had parties, music, dancing, screaming, and chairs being moved constantly till wee hours of the morning. There was cacophony from all directions! So my suggestion is this: If you're going to Ahmedabad for a day trip then it really doesn't matter where you stay, but if you want a good night's rest, then please, please avoid this 'hotel'

Room Tip: If you have to stay here, then choose a room on the 2nd floor on the opposite side of the "open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mehulmparikh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ahmedabad hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

Avalon is primarily a banqueting place for marriage and other events with about 30 well appointed comfortable rooms. The best part of the hotel is the FOOD ! The restaurant has an international menu with finger-licking taste. The breakfast spread is also very nice indeed. The room service was at times very slow - I believe this was due to a shortage of staff when all their banquets are busy. It was very funny to see their staff communicating amongst themselves on mobiles ! Adequate parking, peaceful surroundings, near to the upcoming up-market area of the city, very courteous and friendly staff are pluses. Pricing is indeed competitive and value-for-money. The only expectation of mine would be for them to improve their in-room maintenance to enhance the experience.

Room Tip: Take rooms facing the open plots around to get a chance to see peacocks strutting around in the earl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bimaltrivedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

I stayed at this hotel this year and overall it was a good experience.the location is an advantage ,the decor of the rooms are nice.cleaning could have been better.Towels were not changed while cleaning.the food is good.Expected more friendly staff.overall I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank exploringnewhorizon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

I stayed in the hotel with a group of friends. The stay was ok, with some definite drawback!
The rooms were spacious, however, were not clean enough. The bathrooms although equipped with modern fitting, were not fully functional and the untidy patch job was clearly visible. In a span of 2 days, we had to call for the plumber thrice to repair the toilets flush!

The room service was practically missing, as it took multiple phone calls and an angry conversation to get a bunch of towels for the room. Even after repeated requests we never saw the hand towels we asked for at the time of check-in.

The electricity connection for the room was linked to the key, however, it required special skills to adjust it to a specific angle for it to work! There was definitely some issues with the power output as it took for ever for our mobile phones to charge!

The food in the hotel is decent, and the deserts in restaurant are surprisingly above average!

The place may be ok for a business traveler, however, it you are with your family or are looking for some comfort and relaxation, this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ankit K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ahmedabad hotels
1.2 mi away
Cambay Grand Ahmedabad
Cambay Grand Ahmedabad
#135 of 154 in Ahmedabad
3.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
The Grand Eden
#77 of 154 in Ahmedabad
3.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kells
Hotel Kells
#90 of 154 in Ahmedabad
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Novotel Ahmedabad
Novotel Ahmedabad
#11 of 154 in Ahmedabad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Ahmedabad
Courtyard Ahmedabad
#4 of 154 in Ahmedabad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Ahmedabad
Hyatt Ahmedabad
#8 of 154 in Ahmedabad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Hotel & Banquets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Hotel & Banquets

Property: Avalon Hotel & Banquets
Address: Opp Mango Garden Bunglow | off S.G. Road, Bodakdev, Ahmedabad 380054, India
Region: India > Gujarat > Ahmedabad
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 154 Hotels in Ahmedabad
Hotel Class:3 star — Avalon Hotel & Banquets 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Agoda, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Avalon Hotel & Banquets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing