We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, Good ambience , bit slow”
Review of MoMo Cafe

MoMo Cafe
Ranked #11 of 3,573 Restaurants in Ahmedabad
Price range: US$11 - US$20
Cuisines: Asian, Indian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Buffet, Reservations
Description: An all day dining restaurant offering an expansive buffet and a la carte menu featuring local and International favorites.
kolkata
Level Contributor
170 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Good food, Good ambience , bit slow”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Food was great, it is an open cafe in attached to the lobby. Buffet is really great and so is ala carte.. Once again Black Dal was great which should not be missed at all. Am a very regular visitor of this and will definitely continue to.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank anandbhatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    39
    13
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
52 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“MoMo Café - Courtyard By Marriott - Decent food but less than impressive service”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

It was pretty late in the afternoon (about 3 PM), a bunch of us had a fairly early start to the day and quite a busy day till this point. Bottomline, we were hungry and looking forward to a good meal. And we decided to go to the Courtyard by Marriott in the Satellite area for a lunch. As we arrived at the hotel, the courtyard seemed to be a relatively new property and definitely impressive in its structure (quite worthy of the name of Marriott). What followed immediately was not so impressive though.

As we arrived the entry gate, the lady responsible for collecting phones and wallets (for security scanning) practically scolded my colleague for having the audacity of walking past her with submitting his belongings to her for security scan. Courtesy was definitely not her string suit. Then came the security personnel who was scanning us all to detect objectionable stuff that we may be carrying on our person. This experience has to count in my worst experiences at being frisked/scanned for security (and this is including some of the rude CISF soldiers performing a security check at airports in those wee hours of the morning when everybody is a bit cranky). Eventually, being dismissed from the presence of these security personnel, we arrived in the main lobby of the hotel.

What hits you about the way the multi cuisine restaurant (MoMo Cafe) is located right in front of you (adjacent to the front desk where guests arrive for checking in to the hotel). While sitting here one cannot help but feel a bit exposed. Once you are able to get past this fact, you do appreciate the decor of the restaurant which is quite modern. The ceilings are quite high creating an impression of open spaces which I kind of liked. We were past the time for buffet lunch as we arrived quite late but the restaurant was kind enough to accommodate us and serve ala carte. The menu was quite in line with an ala carte menu of any multi cuisine restaurant in a hotel of Marriott's stature.

We were all quite satisfied with the food and the quantities in which it was served. And just when we had just about forgotten the 'royal' welcome that we were subjected to, the less than acceptable hospitality of the staff here struck again. While some of us were promptly provided with finger bowls at the end of the meal, others had to wait for over 10 minutes without the finger bowl as the serving staff was moving about us. Eventually, we ended up asking explicitly before being provided those. Not to be a prick but when I go to a restaurant in a hotel like Marriott, I do have an expectation to be treated nice and unfortunately on this particular occasion at MoMo Cafe, Marriott just missed the mark.

I am going with a 2 out of 5 for a less than pleasant experience, and this is for no fault of the food itself.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank voldore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wide choice, Excellent taditionals”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Seasame oil- have you heard it? I had first taste of this oil at the MoMo. Wide variety. Traditional chutney, pickels, all gaolred. Of course the food, especially the biryani was toungue twisting

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mo_Ahmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
82 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Excellent fare!”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

In the dinner, baked fish was excellent! For breakfast, the spread was large, and catered for everybody's needs.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shilendra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent service and high standard of food”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

The staff are very good and went out of their way to ensure that I had everything I needed. The food quality if excellent with a large array of dishes. As the hotel is in Gujarat , there is good opportunity to try out traditional dishes made in a different way.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank RSB22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed MoMo Cafe also viewed

Ahmedabad, Ahmedabad District
Ahmedabad, Ahmedabad District
 
Ahmedabad, Ahmedabad District
Ahmedabad, Ahmedabad District
 

Been to MoMo Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing