We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bad start, good ending”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aloft Ahmedabad SG Road
Ranked #17 of 161 Hotels in Ahmedabad
Knysna, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“bad start, good ending”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We have stayed at many Starwood hotels, so decide to try an Aloft for the first time.
We arrived in Ahmedabad on a midnight flight, so checked in in the early hours.
The hotel seemed to be very new - our taxi driver from the airport had no English and didn't know where the hotel was located, so we had been driving around for some time, it was dark, and we had no idea where we were, it seemed like the middle of nowhere.
The hotel apparently works on a boiler system, so there was no hot water in our room when we arrived.
However, the room, though basic, was very clean and had everything necessary (which I think is the point of Aloft hotels), including a very big decent bed.
The water was hot by morning, and the shower very good. The breakfast was a non-event, but the serving staff very friendly and willing.
The staff is actually the main selling point of this hotel - they were charming, so pleasant and helpful and wanting to please, any shortcomings were forgiven.
On the front desk they were able to give us tips on what to do in Ahmedabad, where to eat, and arranged a car with driver, giving the driver exact instructions on where to take us and in which order (he didn't speak English), along with a map for us, marked with where we were going, and bottled water.
And when we left the hotel in the car in daylight, we realised in fact it is very close to the town - but you do need transport.
On our return at the end of the day, they greeted us like friends, asking how we enjoyed Ahmedabad.
I would recommend this hotel for a no-frills but comfortable stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hugojean2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vikas A, General Manager at Aloft Ahmedabad SG Road, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay at Aloft .

I have made note of your feedback and taken steps to address the points of discomfort.

I have also passed on your appreciation to the Front Desk team , who helped you plan your trip.

We look forward towards welcoming you back at Aloft .

Stay Aloft
Vikas Ahluwalia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    77
    34
    4
    7
See reviews for
69
11
12
150
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

I and my colleagues stayed in feb 1st week for 4 days. We had quite a number of shocking experiences like room being not ready while checking in. The aesthetic is pleasant. The service understaffed. I didn't receive a tea which i ordered for 2 hrs even after reminding. The management needs to seriously increase head counts for better service. Rooms are spacious and cosy. Nevertheless i liked the hotel and may stay there next time if I am in Ahmadabad.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank SAMUDRAJEET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vikas A, General Manager at Aloft Ahmedabad SG Road, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay at Aloft and sparing time to share your valuable critical feedback.

I have made note of the same and take steps to address the issues and ensure non of this is repeated and faced by our guest in future .

We look forward towards welcoming you back at Aloft on your next visit to town

Stay Aloft
Vikas Ahluwalia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Its a newly opened Hotel, so not sure if my review will do full justice.

Firstly the Staff are just amazing both in terms of behavior and helpfulness, Although they do need some more knowledge to help customers.

Secondly the rooms are very clean and well maintained, Beds are comfortable, Bathroom is alright but I have a worry which is that there is a glass in the shower cubicle which is slightly transparent from the room, I am not sure if its intentional or something, as there is no curtain inside to block it.

Pool was not functional when I stayed and it was very small anyway.

Location is right on the highway so you have to take a cab, or some transport to go anywhere like shopping, eating etc.

Elevators are painfully slow, but they are new so I am sure its some settings that will be able to change.

Room Tip: Higher the floor better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank touring_ravi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vikas A, General Manager at Aloft Ahmedabad SG Road, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sparing time to share your feed back .

We are happy to know that Team Aloft was able to make your stay comfortable .

I have made note of your concern regarding the elevator speed and are trying to have that addressed.

We look forward towards welcoming you back at Aloft during your next visit to Ahmedabad

Regards
Vikas Ahluwalia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 March 2014

At Aloft the rooms and hotel is very well equipped. Although service is a little poor since they have recently opened and are not fully functional. They put great effort in training and hopefully it should get better.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a lower floor/level, elevators take long to reach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrishlaTalera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vikas A, General Manager at Aloft Ahmedabad SG Road, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Ms Talera

We would like to thank you for staying with us and sparing your valuable time to share your critical feedback .

It is only through such feedback from our guests that we are able to meet and exceed their expectation .

Request you to please share your contact details so that i can understand the issues and have them resolved for all our guest to have a seamless service experience

Regards
Vikas Ahluwalia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

A nice, clean place to stay in Ahmedabad. Helpful, friendly staff, and good food. The Internet service was fast. The showers are good with plenty of hot water. The staff was gear to assist with any need.

Room Tip: Room was comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vikas A, General Manager at Aloft Ahmedabad SG Road, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Guest

Team Aloft joins me in thanking you for sparing time from your busy schedule and sharing your encouraging feedback

We look forwards towards welcoming you back at Aloft on your next visit to the city

Stay Aloft
Vikas Ahluwalia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Rooms are big and fitted with all required gadgets, toiletry range and bath products are good, but still bath experience is bad....Should work on shower type & water pressure & also think of hand shower provision....

Food is awesome and rich in verity....salute to chef...Broccoli never tested so good...Best start of the day...

Bathroom hygiene is one thing they should improve upon, things were not clean and wash basin was not functioning properly...Hotel staff is responsive and quickly fixed the same...but all these things should be checked before giving the room...

Staff was very supportive…Restaurant experience is the best in the hotel…

Room Tip: Want to leave early (around 6-7 AM)...make sure to inform the hotel staff about it or take a cold wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamOnATrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vikas A, General Manager at Aloft Ahmedabad SG Road, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and the time taken to give us your feedback .

I have passed on your appreciation to our culinary team which delighted you with the food .

We have made note for your critical feedback and taken steps to rectify the issues faced by you with regards to hygiene and shower

We look forward towards welcoming you back at Aloft on your next visit

Stay Aloft
Vikas Ahluwalia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I stayed at Aloft Ahmedabad for 2 nights while I was attending a family gathering in the city. The hotel is not fully complete yet and still needs quite a few finishing touches. It has all the typical elements of a regular Aloft hotel but lacks the detailing that I have seen at some of their other properties. For example, the wheelchair ramp has grooves facing downwards instead of upwards which is actually counter-productive in moving up the ramp for handicap people. Also, the elevator switches are a touch-pad type but not very sensitive hence, it needed to be tapped multiple times before it responds. 2 of the 4 elevators weren't operational, and even the 2 that were operational had separate call buttons and weren't linked.

The hotel sign is extremely insignificant from the main highway as well making it slightly hard to spot the hotel when you arrive for the first time especially if it is night.

One beautiful thing about the hotel is the artwork that they have displayed in the corridors; very contemporary!

Room Tip: Pick a room with windows facing the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shanro11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vikas A, General Manager at Aloft Ahmedabad SG Road, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing Aloft for your stay .

We have initiated action to address the concerns raised by you and would have the same addressed shortly

We would also like to thank you for sparing time from your busy schedule and giving us your valuable feedback

We look forward towards welcoming you back at Aloft

Regards
Vikas Ahluwalia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ahmedabad hotels
3.3 mi away
Hyatt Ahmedabad
Hyatt Ahmedabad
#8 of 161 in Ahmedabad
671 reviews
5.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Ahmedabad
4.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Ahmedabad
Radisson Blu Hotel Ahmedabad
#9 of 161 in Ahmedabad
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ahmedabad City Centre
4.2 mi away
Courtyard Ahmedabad
Courtyard Ahmedabad
#3 of 161 in Ahmedabad
883 reviews
0.8 mi away
Caspia Hotel
Caspia Hotel
#1 of 161 in Ahmedabad
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Ahmedabad SG Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Ahmedabad SG Road

Property: Aloft Ahmedabad SG Road
Address: 147 /1 Opp Bhagwat Vidya Peeth | Sola, Ahmedabad 380061, India
Region: India > Gujarat > Ahmedabad District > Ahmedabad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 161 Hotels in Ahmedabad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aloft Ahmedabad SG Road 3.5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you have business with corporate honchos in Ahmedabad or the policy makers at The Sachivalaya in Gandhinagar, Aloft Ahmedabad is the place to set up base .This centrally located trendy business hotel has easy access from the Airport, business hubs and The Sachivalaya, the seat for the Government of Gujarat and is located on Sarkhej Gandhinagar Highway- the express way connecting the twin cities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Aloft Ahmedabad SG Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing