We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Need a step-up” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cama Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cama Hotel
Ranked #25 of 154 Hotels in Ahmedabad
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Need a step-up”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Cama is supposed to be one of the most luxurious places to stay at Ahmedabad. It might have been too once. Today it seems quite outdated. They are in urgent need of stepping into the 21st century.

+ People are very nice, warm and welcoming, almost to a fault.
+ Breakfast was good.
+ We had dinner a la carte and that was quite ok.
+ Room was spacious enough with sofas and stuff.

- 'Old' was the first word that struck me as I entered the room. Probably needs renovation at several points.
- Towels and sheets were clean enough but very old and threadbare.
- Bathroom was kept clean but needs renovation.
- Shower curtain and curtain rod were practically falling off.
- Commode didn't have hand-shower, a must in India these days.
- We got two separate beds and had to ask for them to be pushed together - room with a larger twin bed wasn't available just then.

With new-flanged comfort business hotels like Lemon Tree and Sarovar Portico right next to it and other such places around, Cama needs to think about renovating the rooms, restaurants, etc. and making them a bit more modern. Hope they don't lose their warmth and hospitality in this process.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sundarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    65
    36
    8
    4
See reviews for
27
20
15
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Level Contributor
77 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

The hotel is located at Khanpur area of Ahmedabad. It is a pretty old property and hence the rooms have a dingy smell when you enter. The rooms and toilets are also old designed and aint that great. The rooms are spacious though. The hotel needs renovation very badly.

Morning breakfast is just okay and service & choices are poor. The room service food I had ordered was also not v tasty.

So overall I wouldn't rate the hotel high. The only plus point was the complimentary airport pickup and drop. But given other better options available in the city now, i think I will give it a skip in future.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harisreez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

Its a small hotel with good service but just not meant for girls to go and stay alone -- its creepy !!

The food is terrible - specially the italian

But staff is polite and hospitable.

Never had a bad experience - but nothing that draws you towards the hotel to choose it.

Room Tip: Closer to the main door the better ! The higher floors are more creepy than the lower ones !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pal_fish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaipur, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

Very good experience. Standard maintained since long. Very good food and hospitality. Very cordial staff. Worth stay next time. The property is good but located in old ahmedabad. But located in heart of city, near very bussy are of Lal Darwaja. Management is very good. Even the food is very good. The business in Ahmedabad is very good so the hotel should attract the business man and offer them more facilities. The cleanliness of the hotel is appreciable. Service is also appreciable.

Room Tip: Very peaceful atmosphere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dipakbbhatia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

The rooms are excellent and so is service. I travel to Gujarat on business trips as well as with family. In Ahmedabad Cama is an all time favourite. Spacious and plush rooms, good interior and friendly service. Besides, food is also good. What else do you need while on travel. I recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vijay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
130 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

The building is not well maintained. The room I had smelt of sewerage. The only solution offered was to spray the room with perfume. There were severe cracks in the ceiling, which continued through the cornice. There were bare electrical wires. The free wifi did not work for most of my stay. The rooms we were supposed to have had, rooms with a balcony overlooking the river, did not eventuate. Rather we were one floor down, with the rest of that floor occupied by the noisiest, most ill mannered children I have ever encountered. They screamed, they yelled, they ran up and down the corridors, they left their doors open all the better to scream at each other. Complaints to reception and to the teachers with these noise machines were met with a shrug. My room had a nice view of the river. The staff were, in the main courteous and helpful. The breakfast was splendid, and the staff at breakfast were excellent. The only reason this hotel did not get a poor rating from me was the courtesy and helpfulness of the staff. The hotel is cheap, so also saved it from a poor review.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river view, and one with a balcony, and preferably one that does not require p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arapuni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
194 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

I stayed once again in this hotel as it offers good value. I prefer this location as you can enjoy a nice river view in case you get a room on riverside. However the rooms are pretty old and stinking. I had to request housekeeping to spray perfume spray as room was stinking. It's definitely a good property but has became quite old and needs some renovation. The best part is the restaurant of this hotel which offers excellent food. Breakfast though offers very limited choice. One can only opt this hotel for a reasonable price and good location. The hotel offers free WiFi.

Room Tip: Ask for riverside room as it offers nice view and rooms are peaceful compared to roadside rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank guru52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ahmedabad hotels
0.3 mi away
Riverview Hotel
Riverview Hotel
#44 of 154 in Ahmedabad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
1.0 mi away
Treebo Super Inn Armoise
Treebo Super Inn Armoise
#32 of 154 in Ahmedabad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ahmedabad
Holiday Inn Express Ahmedabad
#34 of 154 in Ahmedabad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lemon Tree Premier; The Atrium, Ahmedabad
2.0 mi away
Krios Hotel
Krios Hotel
#17 of 154 in Ahmedabad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Formule1
Hotel Formule1
#22 of 154 in Ahmedabad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cama Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cama Hotel

Property: Cama Hotel
Address: Khanpur Road, Ahmedabad 380001, India
Region: India > Gujarat > Ahmedabad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Ahmedabad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cama Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Appealing hotel situated in quiet area overlooking River Sabarmati. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Cama Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Ahmedabad
Park Plaza Cama
Ahmedabad Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing