We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed review.. gr8 food.. unwelcoming front desk staff..Customer care by GMs was brilliant!”
Review of The Grand Bhagwati

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Grand Bhagwati
Ranked #79 of 164 Hotels in Ahmedabad
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Ahmedabad was the last destination in my trip schedule, and i had pre booked the room in TGB online. TIP: book online and get better room rates.. on spot rate is quite high!

firstly, the GOOD part of the stay, which will be eventually followed by the disgusting experience i had with the front desk personnel..

Good Part : * luxuriously comfortable bed and pillows... International standard bathroom (although the towels looked as if they belonged to another century altogether :P ) .. superb room service and house keeping staff..!!

MUST TRY : The masala chai.. dal khichdi.. dosa...

The lift features a list of floors and the different banquet rooms located on them.. TGB updates this list everyday with the current parties of the day hosted by Mr. and MRS xyz in Xyz banquet.
This makes a visitor's search quite easy.. COMMENDABLE JOB!! :)

Now, the BAD part !!
the first look of the hotel leaves u little disappointed since u have already been enamoured by the perfect picture posted on its website..the reality aint that glamourous... thank god it has lift which connects to the lobby.. senior people with leg problems couldnt have climbed those
steely steps..

I had written a request of 6 AM check in since my train was scheduled to reach by 4:30. Weary, tired and sleepy, we reached the hotel front desk at 5 am. The Receptionist was unfriendly and unwelcoming (to say the least).. he gave us a very cheeky answer when i asked him about breakfast being included in the tariff.. later, he insisted very badly on ID cards for both the occupants of the room.. i understand, its a procedure, but there HAS to be a decent tone of speech!
receptionist : The check in time is 11 am
Me: but, i specially mentioned on your website that i will be here at 6 am.
R: its 5 am now.
Me: (irritated beyond redemption now) : I shall sit in lobby for an hour if u like.

this was a trailer by the front desk staff.. to cut a long story short, i had requested for strepsils/cough syrup.. and he said, we are out of stock, the bell boy will be there.. u pay him money and get it yourself.(a big hotel not having basic halls/vicks is not acceptable)! next, i requested at 11 pm for check out at 4 pm.. make sure bill is ready since i had a flight to catch.. unfortunately, the receptionist again tried to be MAHA INTERESTING and made me wait for a solid half an hour despite pre-informing the front desk.

However, the silver lining was that the F and B manager and General manager were really attentive after reading the guest comment feedback and immediately called up to apologise for the bad experience.. they were courteous...humble and really assuring!!

I would recommend this hotel definitely !! the food is yummy and fortunately, no gujju touch of sweetness in the food!! :)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anushree l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2013

it was really a memorable stay at Grand Bhagwati .Superb food & wonderful hospitality . coffee shop is great, specially for late nighter is a romantic venue.Staff & Service quality at its excellence Great ..Keep it up.!.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Very Good Ambience. Superb Hospitality. Variety of food available. 24 HRS Coffee Shop. Location is convinient. Eevrything available at nearby places.Small black spot is WIFI is chargeable. Normally in such hotels WIFI is free.


  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Manoj M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

It was really wonderful to stay at TGB . The staff is soo friendly and service is up to the mark. A wonderful stay I had .. The round the clock kitchen is really great. The rooms are kept clean tidy all the time. The whole staff is very friendly and helpful ..The service quality is A1

Room Tip: All rooms as good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manmeet4you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

The Grand Bhagwati as writer earlier also is a very good hotel to stay at I have visited recently at the hotel and find the same ambiance as I had find earlier. The Service quality is also good and the food my god very good.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank csashishshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Hi Friends,

Was forced to stay at this hotel sometime back as part of an event. It was just for a night and that was enough to understand this place in-out. It simply does not deserve a 5-star rating. At best a 3-star. So many new options in this city, why this hotel ? The pros and cons below :

Pros

1) Frankly nothing that I could think off. Has a large banquet and hence popular for events, business meets and marriages

Cons

1) As you reach the hotel what you see is hundred stairs to climb to get to the lobby. No one to receive you at the ground level. I had call someone "pls help me with my luggage"
2) The overall look of the hotel is very old school 1980's/1990's style
3) The staff are highly untrained. It seems they just picked them up from the streets
4) The breakfast area next to the lobby is very uncomfortable
5) I was initially allotted a room on the 3rd floor. Could not believe I was here. Totally run-down. Not even a 3-star feel. Had an interconnecting door. Imagine you could hear the TV playing in the other room. Immediately asked for a change in room. Being a speaker at an event was upgraded to 4th floor rooms. Relatively better but still way below expectation
6) Had a large open lobby area on the 4th floor. Seemed like a MELA. Kids running around.
In the morning saw a lady moving around brushing here teeth. Simply amazed
7) Was super hungry as i arrived. Generally in such a state, taste does not matter. Despite that have to say just about managed to fill-up.
8) The room layout was pretty odd. The TV had a unique old style box.
9) The pricing of room service was unbelievable. A coke cost 150 Rs. Everything super expensive and just not worth it
10) Every time you call room service/house keeping it would reach reception and he always says "will try to arrange"
11) The staff at the reception seem over worked and untrained

Overall, a really bad experience. Sometime back I stayed at the Radisson Blu and that now feels like heaven. So many options in Ahmedabad. Do yourself a favor. Don't stay here.
If you still go ahead, do forget to mark a helpful vote :)

Happy travelling
Gautam

Room Tip: Dont take rooms on the 3rd Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GudduKolkata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Best location, spacious rooms, great interior and a very good staff. Brilliant experience in Ahmedabad. The splendour of the hotel is attractive and earthy. Clean and plush.

It was a first time in this hotel, but I must say I took a whole new experience with me. Particularly the quality of rooms and interiors used. Highly recommend this one.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MannMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ahmedabad hotels
0.3 mi away
Pride Plaza Hotel Ahmedabad
Pride Plaza Hotel Ahmedabad
#15 of 164 in Ahmedabad
666 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Fern Ahmedabad
The Fern Ahmedabad
#28 of 164 in Ahmedabad
529 reviews
0.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson - Ahmedabad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Aloft Ahmedabad SG Road
Aloft Ahmedabad SG Road
#17 of 164 in Ahmedabad
310 reviews
1.3 mi away
Novotel Ahmedabad
Novotel Ahmedabad
#8 of 164 in Ahmedabad
699 reviews
3.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Ahmedabad
Radisson Blu Hotel Ahmedabad
#7 of 164 in Ahmedabad
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Bhagwati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Bhagwati

Address: S.G. Highway | Near Pharmacy Road, Bodakdev, Ahmedabad 380054, India
Region: India > Gujarat > Ahmedabad District > Ahmedabad
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 164 Hotels in Ahmedabad
Price Range: £50 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Grand Bhagwati 3.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Bhagwati Ahmedabad is the first venture of TGB Banquets & Hotels Ltd, it is located on S.G. Highway. The Grand Bhagwati lies at a distance of approximately 17 km from Ahmedabad Airport, 12 km from Ahmedabad railway station, 1km away from bus-stand and conveniently located to some of the most popular shopping and commercial hubs of the city. The Grand Bhagwati offers 2 pure veg. Dining options, Cafe Piano is the on-site coffee shop that is functional round-the-clock and offers buffet, a-la-carte and exotic drinks. To have a fine dining experience, guests can step in Mr. & Mrs. Somani a modern Indian fusion eatery. It also have bakery counter in hotel itself. The Grand Ballroom, Ambience, Memories and chancellors are the in-house banquet halls that are apt for celebrating business as well as party events. This banquet hall features a conference hall and a business centre, perfect for social and corporate with an adequate seating arrangement. There are also off-site lawns where guests can organize grand celebrations like wedding and parties. Additional facilities like Wi-Fi, laundry services, taxi services, shuttle service, airport and railway transfers are available on chargeable basis. When you are looking for comfortable and convenient stay in Ahmedabad, make The Grand Bhagwati Hotel your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Grand Bhagwati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Bhagwati Hotel Ahmedabad
Grand Bhagwati Hotel Ahmedabad
Grand Bhagwati Ahmedabad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing