We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Made good in Ahmedabad” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The House of MG

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The House of MG
Ranked #9 of 154 Hotels in Ahmedabad
Certificate of Excellence
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Made good in Ahmedabad”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

If turbanned doormen, vast expanses of white marble, lots of chrome thingies and obsequeous flunkies are your thing, don't stay here. But if your ego is OK and you are a more touchy-feely person who appreciates the sensory side of life, and you find yourself in the Gujarat, especially its biggest city Ahmedabad…..then you will always regret it if you don't stay here.

From the subtle scent of sandalwood in the narrow lobby to the big brass padlock on your room, to the suprisingly spacious rooms, the lovely old tiles on the floor, the tented beds, the ancient electric switches, the huge tiled bathroom, the ceiling fans - it's rich with character (the rooms have A/C too, cunningly disguised behind wooden louvres).

Many things about this place impress. For example they contacted the travel agent who had booked me in, to ask if I needed airport pick up and if I wanted to book a table in the restaurant that evening (The airport pick up was included in the room rate); the kindly gentleman who took my bags up the stairs and showed me how everything worked, and left some chocolates and a poem of the day (a couplet by Rabindranath Tagore) on the turned-down bed.

I had eaten at the splendid rooftop restaurant on a previous trip, so this time I ate in the Green Room on the ground floor. The food is totally Gujarati which tends to mean a thali of some kind - lots of small dishes to share. Westerners need to remember thathe Gujarat is a dry state so you won't get a beer - but they do delicious sherbets!

The room rates will surprise you - about £65 including breakfast, free wifi and a poem. This is a lovely place - oh, they have a great gift shop too with sumptious pashminas and silks, books and a wide range of tasteful souvenirs too.

Room Tip: Mine was room 12 - no outside window but this didn't bother me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HertfordshireGem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    130
    32
    8
    8
See reviews for
76
118
47
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

Well the place is situated in chaotic part of the city but it depends on what you expect from the place. I checked the hotel early morning and they were more than eager to accommodate my early check in request.
Words about the place: It has been made nicely but at places renovation work was going on and in common area between two rooms the couch didn't appeal because of their dirty look. Room is not so large but yeah it can accommodate nicely. The location of TV was very poor as you couldn't watch it from your bed. The restroom was too big but the shower area was too small.
In all the hospitality was good and the breakfast too. Anyways it is a good place for people willing to stay at place that looks like old havelis. Yeah a different experience.

Room Tip: Try and take a room which has balcony and bigger shower areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alps2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

The House of MG is very much in the centre of the chaotic old city area of Ahmedabad at a manic busy intersection. This boutique heritage hotel built in 1924 as a home for a wealthy textile merchant, has been tastefully restored to retain its old-world charm but with all the amenities and comforts of a world-class hotel. Both the Airport and the Railway Station are within a 7 km distance. My room was huge, charming, and high-ceilinged, with two twin canopied beds, a comfy couch and a useful desk. The walls were full of interesting old black and white family photos hanging lopsidedly. I had a large bathroom and dressing area, the only disappointment being the wardrobe which turned out to be an old aluminum office filing cabinet, not somewhere I would choose to hang my clothes and certainly not in keeping with the rest of the room!!! Outside in the corridor there was a typical Indian swing that was lovely to sit on while reading.
This is not your ritzy five staff hotel. It’s a rambling old home full of character with terrazzo tiling, family portraits and quaint sitting areas with suspended swing seats. There were lots of steep stairs leading all over the place and no room seemed to be on the same level as another. If you have problems climbing stairs then this may not be the place for you, or else you need to request a room on the lower floors. If you forgot something from your room you were not inclined to make the long trek back to retrieve it.
The ‘Lotus Pool’ its indoor swimming pool appeared to be getting a facelift while I was there as it was surrounded by scaffolding, as was the hotel itself. I understand that its owners had purchased a similar adjoining property and were in the process of renovating same.
‘Agashiye’, its rooftop terrace eatery, is apparently an award winning Gujarati thali restaurant very popular with locals, Government Ministers and business people alike. It served delicious vegetarian Gujarati "thali" off gleaming copper plates.
The staff were pleasant but I felt that service was highly indifferent and impersonal. However, if you are looking for somewhere different to stay then this may be the place for you.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maryd1928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

The House of MG beckons for the fourth time and I can't wait. I love the charm of the rooms which are spacious and comfortable and the décor of the hotel, even if slightly labyrinthine, is a fascination. There are great things to buy in the shop and the food is sensational, whether it is a quick snack in the airy ground-level Green House restaurant or a sumptuous banquet at the roof-top restaurant, Agashiye, the pure veg Gujarati food is superb. The House of MG is one great reason for visiting interesting Ahmedabad.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank claudiahyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

This hotel is lovely. Our room (room 9 - the largest twin room and well worth requesting specifically) was perfect, very large with a sofa for relaxing on whilst escaping the sweltering heat of the city.

The pool is lovely also, seemed fairly unused, but is well worth going for a dip in, very relaxing and we had it to ourselves for the whole 3 days we were at the hotel.

Two restaurants: The Green Cafe downstairs serving Gujarati snacks and meals, absolutely delicious, my mouth is watering just thinking about it, and then the rooftop restaurant, serving Gujarati thalis which are to die for.

All in all, amazing hotel, fantastic location in the old town of Ahmedabad, and relative to UK hotels extremely good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

The House of MG is everything that I wanted in a hotel in India.
During what was a fly-in visit to the state of Gujarat on our way down to Mumbai, the House of MG allowed us full use of the hotels facilities at 4am - we were able to use to pool and washrooms and were allowed an early check-in when the room became available.
The room itself was absolutely fantastic - if not a little on the expensive side for the "off season". We stayed in one of the suites which was more than big enough for our party of 3 - and I simply loved the decor - it was an authentic heritage hotel - packed full of colonial era charm - impressive high ceilings, wonderfully tiled flooring, single four poster beds, and decorative flourishes that transformed you to a by-gone era of glamour with a hint of luxury.
The general aesthetic of the hotel is wonderful - and is ranked among the finest architecturally in Ahmedebad.
They can arrange guided tours of the city, although in the summer months these our conducted in the late evenings. They also recommended a host of other activities to enjoy in the city - as the hotel is centrally located it is easy to access most of the sights.
Upon our departure at 5am - we received a wonderful send off from the staff who helped us flag down a tuc-tuc.
The breakfast in the morning was great and included in our rate. In the evening we dined at the "Green House" restaurant downstairs which I would recommend for a good selection of North Indian and Gujarati dishes.
On the whole, I wish I could have spent an extra night!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlastairMcMahon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

We stayed there for one night only. The room decor was amazing and I loved every detail of the room. We really felt like princes and enjoyed a lot of space for our 2year old daughter to have fun and run around.
Our room was a Grand Deluxe Room (Nr. 3).
Negative Points about that room: It was a little noisy as it is in the front. But the staff pointed out in advance (before we did the booking) that some rooms might be a little noisy as it is a heritage hotel in an iconic building in the city centre and the rooms are not completely sound proof and the windows do not have ‘black-out’ curtains. We felt that this was really fair and you'll get what they promise.

Food at "The Green House" was quite disappointing for us. The range of international dishes was really poor and as we're living in India, we're tired of eating the Indian Food. Quality and taste of Indian Food at "The Green House" might be good but we were hoping for something more international. The few international dishes weren't very tasty and quality was also very poor!

I'd definitely recommend the Hotel for a stay but take Food outside if you don't want to have typical Indian Food!

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ahmedabad hotels
0.3 mi away
Lemon Tree Premier; The Atrium, Ahmedabad
0.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Ahmedabad
3.3 mi away
Hyatt Ahmedabad
Hyatt Ahmedabad
#7 of 154 in Ahmedabad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Ahmedabad
Hyatt Regency Ahmedabad
#8 of 154 in Ahmedabad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Ahmedabad
Radisson Blu Hotel Ahmedabad
#6 of 154 in Ahmedabad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lemon Tree Hotel, Ahmedabad
Lemon Tree Hotel, Ahmedabad
#12 of 154 in Ahmedabad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The House of MG? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The House of MG

Property: The House of MG
Address: Opp Sidi Saiyad Jali | Ellis Bridge, Ahmedabad 380001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Gujarat > Ahmedabad
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Ahmedabad
#5 Family Hotel in Ahmedabad
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ahmedabad
#7 Spa Hotel in Ahmedabad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The House of MG 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The House of MG is the only 'boutique' category hotel in Ahmedabad. This stately heritage property has been tastefully refurbished to retain its old-world charm but with all the amenities and comforts of contemporary living. The Lonely Planet Guide and the Rough Guide recommend this hotel highly and the discerning British travel guide 'Sawdays - Places to Stay in India' has singled out The House of MG as the only hotel worth mention, in its Ahmedabad section. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The House of MG reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The House Of Mg Hotel Ahmedabad
Hotel Of Mg
Of Mg Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing