We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming city hotel”
Review of The House of MG

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The House of MG
Ranked #11 of 166 Hotels in Ahmedabad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Centally situated for a visit of the city , this ancient palace has been turned into a nice and cosy hotel. Large rooms with excellent bathrooms. The restaurant is also nice. A discovery was the inside pool in one of the nicely decorated places : an experience and a haven of rest.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank resqtaurant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (482)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

276 - 282 of 482 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2014

This is a nice place to stay for an experience - very large rooms well done up, excellent food served in the specialty restaurant, and well mannered and welcoming staff. One of our drivers of the hotel's car - Praveen Chauhan - gave some excellent service. While the ambiance is nice and stay is relaxing (loved the swing in the room - a typical Gujarati tradition), the hotel needs to improve its noise proofing - the traffic noise is very disturbing and even the adjacent rooms voice can be heard. The pricing seems high, though, despite all the positive aspects.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road side to avoid external noises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amit B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Did not stay, but had dinner and hosted Banquet or ~150 guests.
the ambience is exotic as are the interiors - especially at night, the place comes alive with lighting.
Check out their various Thali options, that are not only mouthwataring, but also served with elegance and LOVE (mostly missed at other locations). Amdavadi's love food and the Maharaj here knows what works best. Staff are friendly and more customer oriented - willing to go that extra mile to put a smile on the guests.
Their a-la-carte menu also dishes out good stuff, bit pricey though.
Parking is at a premium, but Valets are industrious and don't make guests wait longish periods.
MUST VISIT!

Room Tip: Traditional Gujarati Thali is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terminattor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

A lovely old house yes but not a particularly relaxing or comfortable place to stay. The noise from the street pervades the whole hotel and there is no courtyard or similar to relax in. The staff on reception were neither particularly efficient or friendly.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Timothy2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

The House of MG, a Heritage hotel may not be the best in town, but it is a large house full of character, offering luxury in a lovely Indian style. We stayed two nights. We were offered a suite with a very spacious sitting room decorated with family portraits. In our bedroom , we were intrigued by a large swing hanging from the ceiling and an overhead mirror over the bed. The bathroom was modern and well equipped. The information brochure is bulky and not informative enough about the facilities available. Cleanliness is average.
We had diner on the top floor at ‘Agashiye`, a thali restaurant. Food was good, but the experience disconcerting as we hardly knew or saw what we were eating, and we are weary of green chili...! We preferred the Greenhouse Cafe, in a verandah downstairs.
A bit noisy since it is in the centre of a chaotic intersection. Location is excellent for visiting the old town, as Siddi Saiyad Mosque is right across the street. The staff were pleasant but even at the reception they had difficulty speaking English. Airport is within easy reach with the hotel limo.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MARC D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Recently hosted a dinner for 250 at their Roof Top. Ambience - lyrical, staff - friendly, efficient, flexible, quick, discreet, Food - classic...
On the whole a most excellent experience in every way.
Our guests were pleased. Clearly the best experience we have had in all our years of experience.

Room Tip: Not stayed, but I am sure each room is beautiful in its own unique way. I cannot imagine the manage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harsingar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

This fine property combines real character with a degree of luxury in a particularly Indian style which for us represents why you travel to this kind of destination in the first place. Apart from the spaciousness and the wood panelling etc, Our room also had a large Gujerati style swing (which we understand is a common feature in many Gujarati homes ) and a overhead mirror (!) (not sure if that is also a common feature in Gujerati homes)
Attached to the hotel is the Greenhouse Cafe which serves a wide selection of food and great coffee. On the top floor you have their thali restaurant which makes for an interesting experience in its own right. With regard to some of the previous reviewers comments as to the lack of a lift in the right place and a very small step into the shower,with all respect, perhaps they would be better off in a modern, chain,hotel where such issues would not arise; which is not to say that the plumbing and other facilities here are not first rate, they are.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Nicholas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ahmedabad hotels
0.3 mi away
Lemon Tree Premier; The Atrium, Ahmedabad
1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Ahmedabad
3.4 mi away
Hyatt Ahmedabad
Hyatt Ahmedabad
#6 of 166 in Ahmedabad
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Novotel Ahmedabad
Novotel Ahmedabad
#9 of 166 in Ahmedabad
721 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cama Hotel
Cama Hotel
#46 of 166 in Ahmedabad
180 reviews
5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ahmedabad City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The House of MG? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The House of MG

Address: Opp Sidi Saiyad Jali | Ellis Bridge, Ahmedabad 380001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Gujarat > Ahmedabad District > Ahmedabad
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Ahmedabad
#2 Family Hotel in Ahmedabad
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ahmedabad
#8 Spa Hotel in Ahmedabad
Price Range: £54 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The House of MG 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The House of MG is the only 'boutique' category hotel in Ahmedabad. This stately heritage property has been tastefully refurbished to retain its old-world charm but with all the amenities and comforts of contemporary living. The Lonely Planet Guide and the Rough Guide recommend this hotel highly and the discerning British travel guide 'Sawdays - Places to Stay in India' has singled out The House of MG as the only hotel worth mention, in its Ahmedabad section. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The House of MG reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The House Of Mg Hotel Ahmedabad
Hotel Of Mg
Of Mg Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing