We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great experience”
Review of The House of MG

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The House of MG
Ranked #11 of 161 Hotels in Ahmedabad
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai, India
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A great experience”
Reviewed 19 June 2010

even if slightly attuned for an expat experience. It's right in the middle of the city which makes it easy to get around. The food is great - must have the Agashiye Thali on the roof - and the staff is extremely courteous.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MumbaiCentral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    143
    35
    9
    9
See reviews for
83
128
49
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
pune
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2010

A mansion ? A Hotel ?...Well...an old beautiful mansion converted into a hotel. Antique furniture greets you from the start. Takes you back quite a few decades. The rooms are HUGE. Bathrooms are also very very spacious. Old pictures of the Mangaldas Giridhardas family are all over the place. The conference room though cozy hardly seemed like a conference room.
Food was awesome. Well known for it's Gujrati fare, their thalis were amazing !
The hotel is situated in a very busy junction with a lot of noise. But on the whole it was a pleasant experience staying at this hotel. I'd definitely go back there if I went back to Ahmedabad.

Stayed August 2007, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank nixtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2010

We booked 3 nights at the House of MG after seeing the web-site (an experience to cherish for a life time it said)! It was a lovely old house built in 1924 for Mangaldas Girdhardas and his family, now in the midst of a busy roundabout with continuous traffic
all day and night with the beeping of horns until around 1 am. Then the pack of barking dogs roaming the streets would takeover. We did not sleep at all during our stay.

We had a Deluxe Room which was spacious and clean, there were many framed black and white family photographs covering the walls ( 2 would have been ample). We also had a "Jhoola" (swing) in the room. The windows were covered with blinds and some of the panes of glass were missing.

There was a rooftop restaurant which only served Gujarati vegetarian food which was very complex, the other alternative was the Green House cafe on the ground floor outside in the semi open which had long wooden benches and tables to sit at (not very comfortable) with the view of the traffic going by and all the noise and fumes that it constitutes. There was the option to sit and eat your meal in the air-conditioned room nearby with proper dining tables and chairs but there was an extra charge for this. The menu was very poor, no curries of any description available but you did have the choice
of a pizza!!

Our last morning we had to leave the hotel by 5.45 am to get our flight to Sri Lanka and the staff were very slow in bringing our luggage from our room. We had to ask Reception 3 times and it was only when our driver intervened and shouted that we would miss our flight that our cases were brought down immediately.

Ahmenabad is an interesting place to visit, the Sabarmati Ashram situated by the Sabarmati River was established by Gandhi (his second home) and there is a well presented open air Museum of his letters, books etc and also the cottage he lived in containing his eyeglasses, wooden slippers and his spinning wheel.

Also visit the Calico Museum with exhibits dating back to the 17th and 18th century.
I can recommend visiting the Step Wells (Adalaj Vav) built in 1499 to conserve water and
to provide a cool meeting place and also to wash clothes. The platforms and galleries are covered in sculptures and there are rows of carved pillars all this approx 98 ft underground and free to visit..

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2010

So this is the second time I've stayed at House of MG.

It's an old joint family mansion in the thick of old Ahmedabad, amidst a very traffic-snarled junction. All of the hustle outside though does melt away once you walk into the cool reception with the harsh light outslde filtering in through wooden blinds.

The staff are friendly and my interactions with Janet and Keshav both times have been uniformly pleasant and helpful. I will mention that it's not for the budget traveller, and both times I was on an expense account trip.

That said though, it does pay to call ahead and request whether you could be allotted their better rooms at their lesser rate slabs; depending on occupancy, this should be possible. Even if not, their basic rooms are also large, high-ceiling-ed and well-appointed, so no worries.

With regard to food, while I'm sure that there may be places that serve up as good Gujarati food at greatly lesser rates, but Agashe and the Green House Cafe (to a lesser extent) do so with an laid-back charm that's hard to replicate.

There's a really pretty and trippy indoor pool so do be sure to pack your swim things, I didn't. The other noteworthy thing I missed was the morning heritage walk to the old wooden family Haveli close-by.

All-in-all, even if it's for one night of RnR in an old-world setting, you would be hard-pressed to do better than House of MG in Ahmedabad.

P.S. if you're all for old homes that are left slightly rough-around-the-edges when renovated, you won't fond that here. If House of MG has a fault, it's that the renovation is too thorough; all AC'ed and shiny surfaced.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janedoetravelsalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 347 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2010

The House of Mangaldas Girdhardas seems to divide opinion totally. Some reviewers loved the hotel, others loathed it. It is one of those places that provoke strong reactions. Our experience was bad and we would recommend that people read all the reviews carefully before booking.

The main problem for us was noise. We were booked into a room at the back of the hotel but it was near a light well and the roar of the airconditioning units was dreadful. They came on and off all night through and we staggered down to reception the next morning and said we couldn't possibly stay in that room another night. We were shown over all the available rooms and chose what we thought was a quieter room. There was traffic noise but we were told that the sound of the traffic stopped at night. Not so. The noise was much worse than our previous room. The hotel is on a major roundabout and it is amazingly noisy. The second problem for us was the decorative theme of the hotel based around the family of the Magaldas Girhardas and the countless black and white photographs and family trees in all the corridors and rooms. It can be difficult enough to love members of your own family much less the unattractive members of somebody else's.
Service was up and down - on the dozy side of unremarkable. The dining experience offered by the rooftop restaurant is unnecessarily complex for the Gujarat vegetarian menu. There are people who have loved this fourteen room hotel. We didn't and would advise anyone thinking of going to be certain it sounds like a place they would enjoy. The noise is a mega-major drawback.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boulbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
1 review
Reviewed 23 February 2010

The House of MG is well located in the city and has a wonderful feel. The Room sizes are large, all thier toiltaries are herbal and thier tea/coffee maker has a great selection of Herbal teas. One can conduct a business meeting with ease and remain internet connected also as they offer free LAN in the rooms. The food is great and the service is amazing.
It is a MUST try on your next visit.

  • Liked — The peace & service
  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank A-MUMBAI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2010

I had heard great things about this hotel - and yes, the rooms are enormous and the hotel does have a fascinating history. BUT the junction that the hotel sits on is simply one of the busiest in a truly traffic-choked city and the noise is unbearable, the horns and beeping never stops, it's constant! For me this was an issue. The rooms are not sound proofed in the slightest and there are various slats and windows leading to other parts of the hotel allowing for yet more noise to reverberate through. I didn't sleep well during my one night stay here as some chap was shouting at 2am...

The service is mixed - front desk not bad, restaurant staff, while friendly, were often not aware of me, even after I'd waved my hand a few times, on different occasions, to get attention. Nice little shop on-site worth checking out for gifts back home, little over-priced perhaps. I couldn't decide if the swathes of old family photo's were quaint or just plain creepy, they are everywhere!

All in all, yes this is probably the best hotel in the city in terms of it being a 'boutique heritage' hotel with a convenient location, but for me it's overrated and let down by the din - unfortunate as an unavoidable problem I guess...

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelling_light1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ahmedabad hotels
3.4 mi away
Hyatt Ahmedabad
Hyatt Ahmedabad
#7 of 161 in Ahmedabad
672 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lemon Tree Premier; The Atrium, Ahmedabad
4.4 mi away
Courtyard Ahmedabad
Courtyard Ahmedabad
#3 of 161 in Ahmedabad
883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Ummed Ahmedabad
The Ummed Ahmedabad
#13 of 161 in Ahmedabad
568 reviews
5.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ahmedabad City Centre
0.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Ahmedabad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The House of MG? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The House of MG

Property: The House of MG
Address: Opp Sidi Saiyad Jali | Ellis Bridge, Ahmedabad 380001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Gujarat > Ahmedabad District > Ahmedabad
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Ahmedabad
#5 Family Hotel in Ahmedabad
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ahmedabad
#8 Spa Hotel in Ahmedabad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The House of MG 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The House of MG is the only 'boutique' category hotel in Ahmedabad. This stately heritage property has been tastefully refurbished to retain its old-world charm but with all the amenities and comforts of contemporary living. The Lonely Planet Guide and the Rough Guide recommend this hotel highly and the discerning British travel guide 'Sawdays - Places to Stay in India' has singled out The House of MG as the only hotel worth mention, in its Ahmedabad section. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The House of MG reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The House Of Mg Hotel Ahmedabad
Hotel Of Mg
Of Mg Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing