We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique experience”
Review of The House of MG

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The House of MG
Ranked #9 of 158 Hotels in Ahmedabad
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Unique experience”
Reviewed 15 October 2010

Absolutely beautiful hotel. They have managed to preserve a lot of character while still providing every modern amenity you need. Trust me - its much better to stay at a place like this than some of the 5 stars in the city.

Also the food at the rooftop exellent was amazing. Great way to sample gujarati cuisine.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank dedtomato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    138
    32
    8
    8
See reviews for
78
124
49
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
united states
1 review
Reviewed 20 September 2010

I had found this hotel on website, i got the reservation with and when i entered in to the hotel, i welcomed with a great smile from the staff at reception. i have been described by well personality gentlemen at front office who says about my room and all the services and facilities about Mangaldas Girdhardas and also provide me a complimentary transport to got to a place called heveli which was two fifty years old beautiful building. i appreciate the hotel rooms which was very beautiful with family photos in it. I am really thankful to this hotel to make my stay more memorable. Thank you House Of mangaldas girdhardas.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauraannchristianuni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2010

The hotel is truly special-it embodies history,character and a desire for perfection.
Booking: prompt and quick.
Airport pickup: superb-in my case done in a mercedes at excellent value.
front desk: prompt
Rooms: in one word-superb.the owner has spen a lot of attention on small details,from the smell one gets when one enters the rooms,to the lighting,to the comfortable sofa,the work desk and the beds and best of all the rooms are huge.
bathrooms:Again huge and very user friendly with all desired cupboards.Seperate area for dressing,storing luggage, for the toilet section and the shower section.
Restuarants: The green house has a good ambience with a fabulou veg food.In fact i was loath to eat anywhere else in ahmedabad.The Agashiye had a fabulous ambience with great food.
Carbon credits: a truly innovatve idea wherein you earn carbon credits for low power usage which can be redeemed at the inhouse handicrafts shop.
Staff: extremely helpful,courteous and efficient.A Special mention of janet who helped me get my packing organised.
For anyone who loves history as well as mordern comforrts,the hOuse of MG is the perfect choice.In fact it adds to the character of Ahmedabad.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackSukhija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2010

The House of Mangaldas Girdhardas is a most wonderful hotel that conbines traditional style and values with twentyfirst century comfort and luxuries. It is situated in the heart of downtown Ahmedabad.
The spacious rooms are very beautiful, clean and adorned with Indian nicities and all modern facilities one can wish for. All rooms have AC and an internet connection.
The food is served in either a cool AC restaurant or in an open air 'green house' with graet atmosphere. The quality is very good, especially the vegetarian Gujarati dishes.
Most important is the very good reception staff. They make miracles happen and they know all the answers to your questions. If you want to buy special souvenirs, they know the place and instruct the driver of the autorickshaw. They take care of all your hassles. If you wish a roundtrip through all Gujarat they arrange the car and provide for an English spoken driver, who is also the best of guides! Nothing is too strange for these people. Absolutely fantastic and great values for money!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cliffvd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2010

We absolutely loved this place. It has these huge ceilings giving that makes the room look huge.

We stayed in the Kanchangauri Suite and the whole room had this positive vibes the moment we entered and the shining white marble flooring was awesome.

Being situated right in the centre of Ahmedabad city, we had no problem with the sound of traffic, it was pin drop silence in the rooms.

The service of the staff was very good and they attended us in a timely manner.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jai S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
94 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2010

I stayed 2 nights in a Grand Deluxe room with my wife and baby boy. It was a huge and charmingly old-fashioned room with a four-poster bed. The modern amenities included air conditioning, satellite television and free wired high-speed Internet. The room had also a swing which fascinated our boy, and which I and my wife put into good use during the night.

In addition to the minibar the room had a water cooker and a thermos jug, which was quite convenient when we had to prepare milk formula for our boy.

The room was in the 2nd floor and could be accessed only through 2 long staircases - no lift was available. The staff helped very nicely with our luggage and the stroller, but this hotel would be a poor choice for guests with limited mobility.

The room had in the bathroom a safe large enough for my laptop. However, the lock did not work, so the staff replaced the safe with another one. I cannot help wondering how secure is a safe which you can carry away! :-D

We booked using an Indian travel site and our room rate was supposed to be room only, but actually breakfast was included, too. The food was good, although having breakfast was a bit inconvenient, since there was no buffet: you had to order from the a la carte menu. We had our breakfasts early and were actually the only guests at that point of time, so it is hard to say how the service would be in general - we were happy with it.

The indoor swimming pool was lovely. However, you had to go outside and walk through the courtyard to access it, but fortunately the hotel provides bathrobes.

We had once a dinner in the captive roof-top restaurant 'Agashiye'. It serves only a set menu of Gujarati cuisine, but the food was really tasty and good value for the money - actually quite inexpensive compared to many other places in which I have dined in India.
The only annoyance was that finding the restaurant was a bit tricky: you had to go downstairs to the lobby and exit the hotel before taking the lift up to the restaurant, although it was in the same building.

Our room rate included transfer from the airport upon arrival. We also booked a car from the hotel for sightseeing, since the rate was very reasonable. The driver/guide turned out to be quite knowledgeable and spoke good English. We were quite happy to book the transfer to the airport from the hotel, too.

The hotel was a very nice and interesting experience compared to big chain hotels (e.g. the Marriot in Mumbai which was our next stop). We had no trouble with traffic noise, either. We would definitely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the_goodsoil_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2010

This is an old haveli converted into a hotel. You feel like you have stepped back into a different era. The place is vey well conserved.The bedrooms are spacious with a swing and a large bathroom, beautiful tiling and fittings. Furnishings throughout the haveli was elegant and in very good condition. The thali served on the terrace is authetic Gujrati and even if you are not staying at the hotel, you must try it out. The staff is very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vandana_Shinghal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ahmedabad hotels
0.3 mi away
Lemon Tree Premier; The Atrium, Ahmedabad
0.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Ahmedabad
3.4 mi away
Hyatt Ahmedabad
Hyatt Ahmedabad
#8 of 158 in Ahmedabad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Starottel Ahmedabad
Starottel Ahmedabad
#10 of 158 in Ahmedabad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Ahmedabad
Hyatt Regency Ahmedabad
#6 of 158 in Ahmedabad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
4.7 mi away
Novotel Ahmedabad
Novotel Ahmedabad
#11 of 158 in Ahmedabad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The House of MG? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The House of MG

Property: The House of MG
Address: Opp Sidi Saiyad Jali | Ellis Bridge, Ahmedabad 380001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Gujarat > Ahmedabad District > Ahmedabad
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Ahmedabad
#5 Family Hotel in Ahmedabad
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ahmedabad
#7 Spa Hotel in Ahmedabad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The House of MG 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The House of MG is the only 'boutique' category hotel in Ahmedabad. This stately heritage property has been tastefully refurbished to retain its old-world charm but with all the amenities and comforts of contemporary living. The Lonely Planet Guide and the Rough Guide recommend this hotel highly and the discerning British travel guide 'Sawdays - Places to Stay in India' has singled out The House of MG as the only hotel worth mention, in its Ahmedabad section. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your The House of MG reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The House Of Mg Hotel Ahmedabad
Hotel Of Mg
Of Mg Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing