We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth your visit--more than what you'd expect!”
Review of Hotel President

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jamnagar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel President
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Jamnagar
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Well worth your visit--more than what you'd expect!”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

You wouldn't be in Jamnagar just to chill or vegetate. You'd be a bird-watcher, a tourist or a business traveller. You would not have a better place to stay in than the President. It's not a luxury resort--it's not meant to be. But you couldn't be more comfortable!

The owner, Mushtaqbhai is the most hospitable of men. He even accompanies you on excursions like birdwatching, time permitting. He loves the great outdoors, the birds in the sanctuaries around, is a mine of info on the marine and bird life the area is so rich in. He's got guides to accompany you to all the tiourist spots and temples around. We went to Khijadia Bird Park, Dwarka and the Marine National Park. He personally took us at sunset to the central Lake at Jamnagar. We were amazed to see millions of Rosy Starlings that had migrated from Europe in winter, flying around in formation at sunset.

The rooms are clean and neat. The beds had crisp, clean sheets and you really wanted to crawl between the sheets for that much needed rest after a whole day of sightseeing. The bathrooms need a bit of re-designing, but they were entirely serviceable.

The food is VERY Good. The seafood needs a special mention. It was fresh and delicious. Theirs is probably the only good non-vegetarian place in Jamnagar. The service was very good. We had dinner in the room one day. The portions are truly generous and the food clean and tasty.

Mushtaq is very well connected. He's a mine of local info, he runs a tight ship, and it's well worth your while visiting his establishment.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilla D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    49
    36
    3
    4
See reviews for
44
12
18
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bhubaneswar
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I with my family members reached Jamanagr on 19 May 2013 as per our booking with Travel Guru. I paid for extra bed. Room as well as room service was OK. On my request the hotel authorities arranged AC car for visiting SOMNATH on 20 May 2013 and to drop us at Dwarka the next day. The hotel also gave us complementary breakfast on 20 May 2013 though we could not avail the facility on 19th due to our journey to Somnath. However, when I booked for another day for 24 May 2013, the hotel charged extra and did not provide us complementary breakfast. So it is better to book throufg either clear trip or Travel Guru for this hotel.

Room Tip: corner suits / rooms are good and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PrasannaKumarD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

We were recommended Hotel President by a large number of birdwaters. And rightly so. Mustaq the owner himslef is a great birder and he has on his panel a number of excellent guides who not only know their birds and locality but also the best angle and vantage points to photograph them.
The location of the hotel in the centre of the town, walking distance from Lake Lkhota is certainly an advantage. Rooms are small, but clean and more importantly, the linen is good and freshly washed. The staff are solicitous and always willing to go the extra mile.
The in-house restaurant is certainly the best in town, serving authentic North Indian and pretty acceptable Chinjabi ( Punjabi version on Chinese) as good as any in big towns.
Another added attraction is, during the birding season, you are sure to run into a few birders and photographers, and quite often famous ones from India and abroad.

Room Tip: Rooms on all floors are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Koshy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We landed in the afternoon around 11.30.Done the booking online.Paid 2200/- for deluxe room with extra bed for third person.The room was okay but the interiors are old.The bathroom is a sham.Outdated and not maintained.At night on request an extra bed was sent which was in a filty condition,very old and the cotton had become lumps.I asked the reception whether for a deluxe room this kind of bedding is provided.he then sent a proper bed.Overall not a great experience for the price we paid.moreover the food prices are too high.we ate out.

Room Tip: You can skip ango for other options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raj0108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Well, first of all, Jamnagar comes as a big plus on your journey, the city is very interesting. The birds, the old houses and tribal women roaming the streets, the flamingos around at harbour highway, the birdsights all over. The hotel so is a very basic Hotel mainly for Indian business man in the province. Rooms are dull, so is the reception, dark and uninviting. We had suite rooms, so there was space, lots of sitting places, bathroom was clean, but the whole place is noisy like hell. Restaurant was good, quality of food excellent, the waiters could have been a little more friendly, but I guess they are not used to strangers:-). The real big plus is the owner, who is a treasure cove of knowledge and very, very helpfull and very proud of his city. So if you are interested in birds and else, stay there, because you won't be able to find such a pleasent and interesting guy anywhere else in Gujarat:-)

Room Tip: take a suite, so at least you have some space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IbnBatutta3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Stayed there as part of Saevus - Gujarat Tourism sponsored Bird-a-thon 2012. Not a star class hotel but better than many you will find around Ahmedabad railway station. Decent rooms for the price and remoteness of this place. Tariff is not very high. Hotel is nicely located, barely a km or so away from drop off- pick up points if you travel by Volvo buses from Ahmedabad.

Room Tip: Do not take rooms on first floor facing the main road. You may not get a sound sleep because of vehi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rups33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
notts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013

Decent hotel, decent prices, decent location, very friendly staff.
The hotel was clean and the rooms a good size. We paid about 800 rupees for one night in a non ac room and saw this as very good value. We were very happy with the room.
The hotel is in the centre of town and about 5km from the train station.
I would recommend this as a lower end, mid range place to stay.

Room Tip: Get a room that doesn not back onto the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NottsEggmanfoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jamnagar hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Aram
Hotel Aram
#1 of 16 in Jamnagar
243 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Nova K D Comfort
Hotel Nova K D Comfort
#4 of 16 in Jamnagar
28 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Vraj
Hotel Vraj
#5 of 16 in Jamnagar
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Fortune Palace
Hotel Fortune Palace
#2 of 16 in Jamnagar
164 reviews
72.5 mi away
No photo provided
Chetna Hotel
#8 of 16 in Jamnagar
5 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Express Residency
Hotel Express Residency
#13 of 16 in Jamnagar
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel President? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel President

Property: Hotel President
Address: Teen Batti, Jamnagar 361 001, India
Region: India > Gujarat > Jamnagar District > Jamnagar
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Jamnagar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
46 well appointed rooms & suites. Situated in the heart of Jamnagar. 24 hour multi-cuisine restaurant. A 24 hour front desk. Daily housekeeping included in the room rate. Private bathroom for each unit. Travel assistance to various places in Jamnagar. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing