We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic experience”
Review of Vanvaso Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gir National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Vanvaso Resort
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
Reviewed 21 January 2013

I have to say it was one of the best one we have stayed. Rooms were fantastic - opposite to Hiran river. Food was really good - plenty of options to choose from. Management and Staff were very helpful. They sorted out everything for gir permit. Very helpful!!! They made our 5000 miles trip worth every second!!!! Definitely coming back again,

Room Tip: Everything is fantastic but we stayed in 302 - opposite to Hiran river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JK2328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    13
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
7
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pune
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Location : This resort is about 7 km away from forest department guest house (sinh sadan) from where the safari starts. Maps somehow shows it very close and can be deceiving. However, the distance doesn't matter that much since the resort keeps jeeps that can take visitors directly for the safari. The resort manager arranges for the permit the prior day, so you don't need to queue up or visit the forest office for permits etc.
The resort is on the banks of the Hiran river with a nice open view from the river-facing cottages.

Rooms : Cottages are spacious especially the river facing ones with lawns facing the river for a quiet and peaceful stay. Bathrooms are pretty big as well.

The resort is overall well maintained with a huge central open lawn surrounded by cottages. There's a TT table, a carrom board and they keep badminton rackets and shuttles. The pool is decent as well. The resort arranges a tribal dance every evening which is ok for once.

Staff : The resort manager is very helpful both while doing reservations as well during stay. For example, he went out of his way to arrange a visit to the crocodile breeding center near the gir safari office and the gir orientation center. The rest of the service staff is courteous and helpful.

Food : In general the resort tries to cover a variety of indian/chinese and sometimes continental food. When they serve traditional gujarati food, its pretty good. Continental food isn't that great, one of the desserts is always continental and always some form of pudding which can get boring ! We didn't try their usual punjabi stuff. Breakfast is decent with 4 or 5 varieties of indian vegetarian dishes apart from toast and preserves.

Overall its worth the money. The resort offers decent packages as well with one or two safari's free with 2 or 3 night stay. You should specifically ask for early morning (6:30am) safari, since thats when you have the greatest chances of seeing a lion. Otherwise you might end up with a 9:30am/3:30pm safari or visit to Devalia which isn't as good.

Room Tip: The 300 series rooms are river facing, we were in 304, which had a very nice river-view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PuneAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Its a nice resort owned by an MLA in Ahmedabad with clean and comfy rooms (indifferent service), but the entire purpose of going to Sasan Gir is defeated as its pretty far from the action. Its on the banks of the Hiran river and we saw a few 'gators there but its insanely far from the town. We had asked the management to get us booked for a safari into Gir national park but the oafs were too lazy I guess to bother and we were left only with devaliya which is not too great. And yes I must mention I caught a person sitting in the lobby, a member of staff, posting reviews online so you can't be too sure of what you read. My advice stay clear. Its not worth 14K. Gateways is much better.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank popeyed t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Arlington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

If you are visiting Gir with a jungle and Lion in your mind, this is the perfect place to stay located right in the heart of Sasan gir. We were here in January 2012 for one day, but try to stay here for at least 2 days. They have their own Gypsy which will take you dip in the Gir forest for Lions. Very nice restaurant and staff. Food is amazingly tasty. Each cottage is design with a rural theme. But inside you will find all the modern five star amenities. try to stay in river view room. I think its a best place to relax in this busy life style. We are definitely going to visit the resort again.!!!

Room Tip: River view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BiiDii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
296 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We visited in this resort at the peak of summer and it appeared to be a oasis under the schorching sun. A beautiful locale near Hiran River, the well apponted cottage rooms, beautiful garden and the all round decor were truely gorgeous. We saw tribal dance within the resort campus which was a big attraction. Gir Forest is a distant away and we were told theThe lion king frequented this place in the night to quench thrust in Hiran river. The swimming pool and the spa were majestic and the sweeping view of the surroundings were deeply refreshing.The service was great but food available were vegetaran. Even a giant screen was there to show IPL matches in the evening during our stay. You can have a quiet walk around the garden in the morning or evening. We enjoyed throughly amidst green and beauty.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the garden are really excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gopal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

I had been to this resort in peak Diwali time in 2011 we were a group of 40 people. It was noteable that this resort has min front office & operations staff but they are organised despite being located in Sasan Gir. The check in & allocation is kept smooth & rooms are pretty clean & well done. They serve pure veg food & sometimes have musical entertainment during dinner time.
The hotel organises jungle safari trips too.

Room Tip: They have open to sky bathrooms in few rooms which are worthy. For jungle safari, kindly ONLY opt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Naeem A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

Beautiful location, great food, quality service. You can't ask for more. A perfect weekend getaway.u will feel that every penny spent here was worth. Have been there many times. Best being the rainy season wen d place is lush green n the river hiran is at its peak. Best place in gir till date.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vipnesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gir National Park hotels
2.5 mi away
Lords Resorts Sasan Gir
Lords Resorts Sasan Gir
#1 of 6 in Gir National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
9.1 mi away
Vishal The Green Wood Resort
1.0 mi away
The Gir Garden
The Gir Garden
#4 of 4 in Sasan Gir
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Van Vihar Farm
Van Vihar Farm
#2 of 4 in Sasan Gir
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Fern Gir Forest Resort
The Fern Gir Forest Resort
#1 of 31 in Gir National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.7 mi away
Saavaj Resort
Saavaj Resort
#1 of 21 in Sasan Gir
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vanvaso Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vanvaso Resort

Property: Vanvaso Resort
Address: River, Chitrod a__ Sagondra Road | banks of Hiran River, Gir National Park 362135, India
Region: India > Gujarat > Gir Somnath District > Gir National Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Gir National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Vanvaso Hotel Sasan Gir National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing