We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place To Stay.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gir National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sinh Sadan Guest House
Surat
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best Place To Stay.”
Reviewed 7 February 2012

I had visited Gir along with my wife and 7 year old kid. The rooms were very clean and big. Ofcourse not Luxurious, but, all the basic aminities were present. Huge garden for my kid to play. And very convinient as all permits has to be taken from this place only. In Vacations there is a long line to getr the permit, so here you get the advantage of standing in the ue even before the doors are opened for other guest staying else where. Earlier you go in the forest, better chance of seighting a Lion.
Food was O.K.
If you want to have non-veg, there is a small hotel (Just two tables) out side this lodge. Alibhai who is a cook in Sinh sadan himself runs this small hotel along with his wife, who would make hot rotis. ASk for Egg curry, its delicious.
Over all an superb experiance.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Kausar T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    30
    13
    2
    4
See reviews for
38
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fremont, California
Level 6 Contributor
633 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

This location is outstanding. It is at the place where you get the permits to enter Gir national forest. It is the place where the safari jeeps leave. Just outside the gates, there are plenty of food stalls. The rooms were clean & had hot water. The hotel was not luxurious but definitely worth the money. Nice gardens to walk around. Also, there is a wonderful 45min movie about Gir in English that is right next to the permit counter, & a hall with a professionally done exhibit about Gir with English, Hindu & Gujarati text. I recommend that anyone coming to Gir stay here for a clean room, good service, without the luxury, but with an unbeatable price & location. It is a 1minute walk from your room to the above mentioned things.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MihirMeghani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indiantravelbug93
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Wow what a place , very well maintained by the Forest deptt and that too at room-tariffs ranging from INR 500 to 1500/- ..it is un-believable... gives run for money to Taj Gateway Hotel next door !!!

Huge parking area, acres of immaculate gardens or i shoud say forests for company, spacious and clean dormitories for drivers and large groups aprt from 20+ cottages equipped with sit-out area , living room, bedroom,separate wash rooms, TV, AC etc
it is luxury par excellence in the jungle...they are neat /clean and provided with clean linen.

Staff is limited but courteous . We checked in around 9pm and the house-keeping clean mthe washroom on our request with no whims/fancy/tips !!

Food is simply , tasty but limited menu - y dont' throw tantrums - remember its jungle !!
But do remember to order a meal time in advance else they'll say sorry for viz confirm u'll have lunch during brkfst and so on !!

The Jungle Safari booking window is inside the Sinh Sadan Campus and for Tatkal booking of Safaris its an advantage to stay inside Sinh Sadan

Sometimes wild-life films are shown in the evenings, there'a wildlife souveniour shop & museum also for company !!!
should you need to buy sth umpteen shops are just outside the Gate

Sasan Gir is best experienced staying at Sinh Sadan.
Bookings need to be done in advance by calling the front office and sending Demand Drafts or try your luck on the spot.

Ek bar jayo ttho jaroor ...Lions are Calling

Room Tip: All rooms are good, Non-AC cost 500/-, AC noes 1500/-
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank indiantravelbug93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Sinh Sadan is a Government Forest Lodge. It is at the main entrance of Sasan Gir Forest, from where the tickets/ permits are issued to the tourists who want to go in the park. Since this is one of the oldest lodges, the rooms are very spacious - probably thrice the size of any five star hotel. I had stayed in a cottage, it was clean and with the AC facility. The surroundings give you the actual feel of staying near the jungle. The food quality is above average.
One should make the booking in advance as the guest house has limited rooms available. The charges for the room without AC are approx $ 11 whereas for the AC rooms it is around $33. Staying in Sinh Sadan gives you a distinctive advantage than the other people who stay outside this guest house. The ticket counter is located inside the Sinh Sadan premises and opens at 6 am in the morning. Tourists who stay in Sinh Sadan can form a queue prior to 6 am when the gates are open for all who stay outside the guest house. It is said that the chances of seeing a lion/ any other animal are far greater during the morning safari. I was lucky to see a leopard and lion during the safari.

Room Tip: Book the AC cottages in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank hawk_wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level 5 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

To reach Sinh Sadan or Gir it is preferred that you alight at Junagadh Station.
Book a Taxi in advance, before you reach here as you will be shocked to find no taxis on the stand.

Sihn Sadan is a very basic place to stay it is a guest house not a resort. It is very economical. There are fancy and more expensive resorts of all categories around.
The advantage of staying at Sinh Sadan is that the booking for Safari park/ Game reserve is done from the complex itself, so any where you stay here, you have to come here in the morning and evenings to book. Jeeps are also available from here and their bookings are also done here. You will have to queue up for safari bookings. Staying here means you need not worry about catching a ride from anywhere to come here in the mornings/evenings.
The guest house is full of trees and on the main road. There is a dining hall where you need to pre book your meals. Indian traditional food is only available except breakfast which you can find bread toast etc.

Pre booking of your room is advised to avoid disappointment on arrival, You may need to send a fax with exact dates and on a verbal confirmation send a Demand draft before you go.

2 night trip is sufficient. There are some nearby detours like the Somnath temple itself and the Beach I think Daman Beach.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same, A/C rooms are bigger .
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank Rahulmmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vadodara
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2011

We arrived at early morning and were happy to have chosen the right place to stay. The tall trees, various birds on the trees making all kinds of noise, the lush green lawn, walking area with riverbed sand, shells, etc... it was all so good.
The rooms were clean and spacious and more could not be expected considering the tarrif. The food was simple and healthy. No excess oil/flavors/colors etc.
A short film was shown at night 8 pm about the Gir santuary and lions.
There is a museum which we missed seeing.
A crocodile rearing place is nearby and worth going.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ymanoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2011

Rooms are very spacious. Food is below average. Area is very big with big garden. Service is just ok. We could not find other decent place to stay in that area. Near to railway station.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MannG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gir National Park hotels
0.9 mi away
Lords Resorts Sasan Gir
Lords Resorts Sasan Gir
#1 of 6 in Gir National Park
148 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Gir Garden
The Gir Garden
#4 of 4 in Sasan Gir
12 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gir Jungle Lodge
Gir Jungle Lodge
#2 of 30 in Gir National Park
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aditya
Hotel Aditya
#2 of 21 in Sasan Gir
34 reviews
2.6 mi away
Saavaj Resort
Saavaj Resort
#1 of 21 in Sasan Gir
258 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Fern Gir Forest Resort
The Fern Gir Forest Resort
#1 of 30 in Gir National Park
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sinh Sadan Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sinh Sadan Guest House

Property: Sinh Sadan Guest House
Address: Gir National Park, India
Region: India > Gujarat > Gir Somnath District > Gir National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Gir National Park
Also Known As:
Sinh Sadan Guest House Hotel Sasan Gir National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing