We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adamantly refuse to take advance booking”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gir National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sinh Sadan Guest House
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Adamantly refuse to take advance booking”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Based on the previous reviews, I decided to book a room here for my forthcoming trip. But they are refusing to make advance bookings at all. This is contradictory to the experience of other travellers, so I want to highlight the change in policy for the benefit of other tourists who face a similar problem.

The guy who picks up the phone just says they don't do any advance booking as a rule, and just hangs up when you try to reason it out. Very clear that customer service is an alien concept.

I'll be arriving late night from Velavadar with family and cannot afford to just try my luck so unless someone can help by pointing to another way of doing advance booking, I will be staying elsewhere. If you have managed to book in advance in Nov-Dec 2013, please put in a review explaining how.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank worldtravelplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    30
    13
    2
    4
See reviews for
38
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
jamnagar
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Sinh sadan is the best place to stay as its run by goverment of gujarat. you get all the information about gir national parks and the near by surrounding areas where you can go its the center of the natonal park so u can get transportation,food,market very easily and near by but you have to do advance booking for sing sadan as most of Ministers,MLAs,IAS and goverment officers stays here so its better to book your room in advance..........

Room Tip: corner a/c rooms are large in good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ishanvora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Nice location and traditional cottage type accommodation with spacious surroundings. Management of this place is under forest department. Management of the guest house and lion safari tours are co-operative and helpful. Furniture and interiors require some renovations/replacements but architecture gives you feel of mid 1950's era. All resident guest in this place don't have to worry about getting permits for lion safari. Travelers looking for modern 4/5 star resort facilities should avoid this place. This place has nice gift shop run for the welfare of forest department employee association.

Room Tip: As you will take the lion safari next day morning, it's advisable to arrive here late in evening...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rockiesexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Location location location. The biggest plus. All the safaris start from this point and need to be booked from here. Rooms are spacious and very clean. Visited in Dec so did not need AC.

Food leaves a lo to be desired, but i guess in the middle of the jungle you dont have much choice either.

And cheap tariffs as well. Another plus, on some nights, you can hear the roar of the lions as well.

Only negative is that you dont get bookings easily. My first choice would be Sinh Sadan in Gir

Room Tip: Book in advance and enjoy the trip
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jiggs03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SURAT GUJARAT
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

A tourist stay point, right in the middle of Gir Forest, only abode of Asiatic Lions. The place is 102 years old. You cant even imagine so big and spacious rooms in our era. Well maintained. Ambiance is too good. Wash rooms are truly royal. No hassles, no disturbances. If you love tranquility, you must stay at this place. Its run by government, and you will change your opinion about places run by government in India once you stay at this place. I have never seen such a dedicated staff. They run a dining hall services here. Food served is Indian (vegetarian) at most reasonable rates. Hygiene and quality of food is excellent.

Room Tip: Non AC, AC and Dormitory rooms are available. Don't Give in to agents and touts. Insist on stayi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jwopandya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I had chosen Sinh Sadan for its reasonable tariff of Rs1500/day for an AC room and because the Safari bookings are made from its premises. The first safari booking starts at 5:15 am so it was easy enough to trudge along to the reception in a sleepy state.

Cleanliness and hygiene: The room linen isn’t changed as a rule on an occupant’s exit–our bedsheets looked somewhat crushed while taking the room and weren’t changed even upon requesting; even after paying the required charge of Rs100, I’d to pay extra tips to get a spare mattress, clean sheets, blankets and towels. All 3 blankets were torn in places. I’d to absolutely insist on a set of clean sheets to line them; the cleanliness level of the otherwise tiled bathroom and its western pot was poor and required a renewed resolve to use the facility; grimy dustbins and poor sweeping of the room often increased one’s discomfort over being in the room too! The room was equipped with a 29″ TV airing 100 channels but I wished it had offered clean linen/washroom instead.

Food and refreshments: Food is laid out buffet style in a common dining hall but every meal required one to repeatedly tell the Incharge about one’s plan to eat the next meal there or the food isn’t cooked for that guest; food is simple and vegetarian but nice to taste if one doesn’t peek too deeply into the kitchen or its counters or floor; bed tea is promised but doesn’t reach before 6.30 am—the time to be at the Sanctuary gate. For dinners, one must get the word to the Incharge by 5.00 pm and secure his nod. Breakfast of poha, toasts, butter+jam, plain paranthas+dry aloo sabzi is served on one’s return from the morning safari around 10 am. One can drop any of these items from his breakfast but not expect anything other than them. A pot of tea or coffee is part of a reasonable breakfast charge of Rs40/person. Lunch or dinner comes at Rs80/meal per person and includes rotis, 1 curry dish, 1 dal, rice, salad and paaper.

Tips: Most services require regular tipping to keep motivation levels high or one is left wondering about most basic facilities.

So, I’d say that one would do well to stay elsewhere and let that hotel offer a better experience of Gir. Or, approach Sinh Sadan without any illusions about its facilities and instead spend the money saved on making multiple visits to the sanctuary.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jyotib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gir National Park hotels

vadodara
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Usually, we dont stay at government guest house as there is always some problem with the amenities that they provide.But this one is wonder. We booked AC rooms of higher category just for 1500 rs per night only. The rooms were stunning. Nice beds,big flat screen and really spacious rooms. Much to our awe, safari booking is done from campus itself.The guest house is located in the center so almost everything around is accessible by walk.Near to lap of nature you can see lots of birds around in the morning. Awesome place to be!

Room Tip: Choose higher category ac rooms. Non ac rooms arent that good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rahul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gir National Park hotels
0.9 mi away
Lords Resorts Sasan Gir
Lords Resorts Sasan Gir
#1 of 6 in Gir National Park
148 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Gir Garden
The Gir Garden
#4 of 4 in Sasan Gir
12 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gir Jungle Lodge
Gir Jungle Lodge
#2 of 30 in Gir National Park
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aditya
Hotel Aditya
#2 of 21 in Sasan Gir
34 reviews
2.6 mi away
Saavaj Resort
Saavaj Resort
#1 of 21 in Sasan Gir
258 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Fern Gir Forest Resort
The Fern Gir Forest Resort
#1 of 30 in Gir National Park
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sinh Sadan Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sinh Sadan Guest House

Property: Sinh Sadan Guest House
Address: Gir National Park, India
Region: India > Gujarat > Gir Somnath District > Gir National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Gir National Park
Also Known As:
Sinh Sadan Guest House Hotel Sasan Gir National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing