We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location for Gir Safari”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gir National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sinh Sadan Guest House
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We were lucky enough to get a room in this guest house and we stayed there for two nights.
Rooms are really spacious and huge. We stayed in a non- a/c room which was very pleasant. Tariffs and charges of this guest house are extremely reasonable and the cheapest in Gir (Tariffs:- Non A/C Room - 500/- and A/C room- 1500/-). Food charges were also very nominal and they provide only vegetarian food.
To top it all the starting point of safari was this guest house so we did not have to travel at all for boarding the safari. The guest house people were very cooperative and helpful.

Room Tip: Advance booking is not done atleast for people who do not have any contacts in forest departments. O...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Enakshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2014

This place is best for safari because
1. It's the starting place for safari. Other hotels are far and this means for all safari you have to Wakeup very early to reach and stand in booking queue.
2. This place has a separate booking counter for room guests.
3. What gujarat tourism advt and websites don't inform is the fact that they have a limited Jeep and spotting wild animals is sheer luck. Our else you have to be Sachin Tendulkar and they will ensure that you see each and every lions bypassing safari rules. So please be prepared to go 2 -3 times.
4. I would suggest to carry extra bedsheets and towels and some biscuits in the hotel as I personally found them not so clean.
5. All in all this place is prefect Compared to any other hotel in gir for safari.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank my121travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

A planned trip to Sasan Gir made a group of friends search of accommodation on TripAdvisor and we zeroed in on Sinh Sadan just because we knew it would be the best place to stay and for a safari since all the safaris start from here. A contact in the forest department via a colleague is how we got in. Advance booking as a civilian is not possible and there is no guarantee that you will get a booking once you land there.
We had prior bookings for 2 rooms. Sinh Sadan was built in 1906 by the then nawab to entertain guests for a hunting game. The old structure is well-maintained and additional new structures are built for the rooms. The rooms are huge with large bathrooms and a dressing room. The rooms have large size photo prints shot by the forest officials

The location is very peaceful and quiet, you will see the occasional langurs on the trees and sometimes the roar in the middle of the night. It has a garden in the middle where you can sit and relax in the evening. Sinh Sadan also has an orientation room which gives you information about the reserve and ecology of the place and a souvenir shop.

The Safari also if booked earlier is easy otherwise since the safari bookings are done here there is a long queue for the early morning safaris
Tipping to the staff seemed a norm for cleaning the rooms and getting ice-buckets.
Food available is simple vegetarian Guajarati meal; you need to have prior confirmation for all the meals. We asked for bed-tea which did not arrive before 6:30am.

The best deal if your intention is the safari. We were lucky to have sighting up and close of the majestic lions of our first safari there.

Plusses
Start point of the Safari
Location-peaceful
Large rooms
Hot water
Proximity to local stores and local transport

Reaching there Travel: Junagadh railway station to Sinh Sadan -~ 2 hrs rented non ac cab at Rs900/-

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nishsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

This is really a very beautiful place, but cannot be booked by any lay public. Either you should be a govt employee or VIP to enjoy a stay here. Or else you have to be just LUCKY to get an accommodation on arrival. I was told that this is meant only for forest or govt people who tend to arrive any time without notice and so no advance booking is possible. Rooms may remain vacant but nobody bothers for the lost revenue. I had made several calls - unanswered! When i contacted Gujarat tourism I was told even they can't book - it is under Forest Dept. So I would advise not to waste time and money in making phone calls - just make your private arrangements for stay. I wondered whether this is deliberately done to promote private hotel industry. (The tickets for jeep rides have advertisements by hotels printed on the back).
I was not a VIP or lucky so I cannot write about other facilities in rooms.But i am writing this just to make readers aware of the situation and plan their stay.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
7  Thank chetana306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We did not stay in this property as we stayed at Club Mahindra (Another Review). Safari booking is done inside this property and hence we checked it out.
1. Its location cannot be beaten, the best you can have in Gir, especially if you are here for the Safari.
2. Advance booking is not possible, on the day of your visit, if rooms are available, you will be allocated the same. I was told by their official that maximum rooms are been held back for government officials and hence are unavailable for prior booking.
3. Rooms, Bathrooms, and Linen lack hygine & cleanliness and needs immediate attention.
4. Property is big and decently maintained.
5. Food has to be pre-ordered in the Restaurant, same is a bit wierd for a resort this size

If on a budget, do not look elsewhere, this is the best option you have.

Room Tip: A/C Rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Kalpeshp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

This is a good value for money place to stay with an old building being renovated with modern ameneties. It is a better place to stay at Gir for ease of booking the safari. One can easily get the safari jeeps here and also the entry. A convenient place to stay.

Room Tip: For ease of booking the safari, stay at this place any room would be good to stay at.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Harishmalur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Based on the reviews..made an unsuccessful attempt to book a room 60 days in advance. Firstly the madam in-charge of booking was either in meeting or had gone for lunch or for rest.. after persistent attempts managed to get her on phone on thirds day after 50 odd attempts. (The cell no. was kept for callback with the person who answered the phone and promised that when madam comes he will pass on the number and she will call...This never happened.

I am not still sure for whose benefit this state govt. property is created. I was told by the so called madam..for Judges, MLAs & MPs and Government Officials. For others you arrive at Gir and check ...If it is available it will be given. With modern means of communication, it is simply beyond comprehension. How is it possible for anyone to come to this Jungle and keep checking if rooms are available..and if not get lost in the company of lions.

This may not reach the Ministry of Tourism - Gujarat so the issue will remain unresolved.. I am sure, Yet this is being written for the benefit of fellow travellers, who may be benefitted by this small piece.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
16  Thank CarLinkMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gir National Park
1.1 mi away
Lords Resorts Sasan Gir
Lords Resorts Sasan Gir
#2 of 8 in Gir National Park
177 reviews
8.8 mi away
Vishal Lords Inn Gir Forest
1.4 mi away
Gir Jungle Lodge
Gir Jungle Lodge
#1 of 8 in Gir National Park
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Hotel Somnath Atithigruh
6.4 mi away
Daksh Resort
Daksh Resort
#1 of 5 in Sasan Gir
62 reviews
2.6 mi away
Saavaj Resort
Saavaj Resort
#1 of 23 in Sasan Gir
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sinh Sadan Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sinh Sadan Guest House

Address: Gir National Park, India
Region: India > Gujarat > Gir Somnath District > Gir National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Gir National Park
Also Known As:
Sinh Sadan Guest House Hotel Sasan Gir National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing