We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“yuk..” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Golden Star

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Surat
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Golden Star
Ranked #16 of 23 Surat B&B and Inns
Vadodara, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“yuk..”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Hell hotel damn far from railway station and rooms are damn old. Charging too much. Foods are damn expensive and quality of rooms ac is not at all good.
No pick up and drop facility. house keeping is also not good. All electronics items are made in china

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank Dhaval D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    1
    1
    1
    6
See reviews for
4
1
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Deesa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

My wife and I stayed in this hotel for 3 days (19th Sep to 22nd Sep 2013) with a prior booking.
Details given by the Hotel on Make My Trip are misleading.
- There is no parking for cars, we had to park on road in front of hotel.
- We were allotted room with "twin beds" which was smelling badly. On asking, the manager said, "we don't have any other room available." I said, we have prior booking! When we refused the room, the bell boy went down and brought keys of some other room. That room had a bed with size of 3.5 feet.!!! I was shocked. I asked the manager whether they are serious about their business or they don't understand hotel industry as such. When I said I will have to talk to Make My Trip, he gave another room which was ok if not good.

The offerings on the site were as below.

Inclusions

Free Wi-Fi
Free Indoor Swimming Pool, Health Club, Sauna Bath and Steam Bath
Free use of Business Center
Free Scanning, Print-outs and Fax
Led T.V With Satellite Channels, Hair Drier, Mini bar, Tea and Coffee maker in all Rooms
Free A/C Pick-up and Drop facility from Railway Station and Airport.(ON REQUEST)

Wi-Fi was surely available but Swimming, bath etc. were closed. I have attached photo of the notice. On 21st when pool and bath opened, we were told that they are not free. we showed them the booking voucher then they allowed bath.

TV was not working, it took almost 45 minutes to repair. Each day, we had to ask for replenishment of soaps, towels, water etc.despite room makers visiting daily.

Restaurant is in equally bad shape. When we ordered a particular dish, the steward said, it was not available in restaurant, available only in room. We asked why. He said because it is mentioned in the menu card of the room and not of the restaurant. I asked but the kitchen must be the same. He said yes but we charge more in room and so we will not offer it here. After 10 minutes of ordering other items, my wife found a mini-menu which was plated and was lying on the same table on which we were sitting. That menu card had the same dish available which was earlier refused. we called the captain and informed him about this. Instead of feeling guilty, they said ok, we will offer you a complementary ice cream which we refused. Billing was not done properly. One bill which didnot belong to our room was attached with our bills.

Hotel has 4-feet passage between rows of rooms that too is occupied by shabbily created cabinets which is very risky in case of fire or other problems.

I am attaching nine photographs of the inside of the hotel which will tell the story.

The surprising part is the hotel has tie-up with "The Country Club"-a time-share company.!!!

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel. 5-star hotels available for two more thousands.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank come2kamal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Surat hotels

Pune, India
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2012

Worst business hotel I had stayed. Rooms damp, stinky and dirty. Pure Veg food no Non veg food.
Room service takes ages to come. Lift is manual sometimes gets stuck between floors.
You can get better Hotel at same range like Ginger in piplod Surat.

Room Tip: Avoid the standard room please check the Delux and Super delux rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Saswata B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MUMBAI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2009

OUR 4 STAY WAS EXELLENT, Rooms are quite Airy & Spaciuous First of all we liked the staff hospiality with exellent service WITH MODESTY and unforgettable PESHAWARI superb food quality in the 'GARAM MASALA ' RESTAURANT. We also enjoyed their Gym and Swimming Pool FACILITY free of cost with very good Intructor in Gym and International Trainer in the Swimming Pool. Over all our 4days experience was Exellent, we will certainly visit again & again, we will recommend this property in our big busi. circle / relatives in Mumbai, Delhi & Chennai. We wish all of the all the best and Keep it up.

BHUSHAN SAWANT.

  • Liked — EXELLENT AMBIENCE ,QUALITY OF FOOD & SERVICE WITH MODESTY.
  • Disliked — AIRY AND SPACIOUS ROOMS & FRUIT BASKET AND MINI BAR.
  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank FABULOUSMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surat hotels
1.0 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Athwa Lines Surat
3.3 mi away
Budget Inn Bellevue
Budget Inn Bellevue
#2 of 32 in Surat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
3.2 mi away
Lords Plaza - Surat
Lords Plaza - Surat
#5 of 32 in Surat
3.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Vetro Inn Spice
Vetro Inn Spice
#8 of 32 in Surat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Ginger Surat
Hotel Ginger Surat
#4 of 32 in Surat
3.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Central Excellency
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Golden Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden Star

Property: Hotel Golden Star
Address: Arzees Circle, Adajan Road, Surat 395009, India
Region: India > Gujarat > Surat
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Surat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Golden Star 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
26 rooms air condition rooms with wi fi free complimentary fast multi cuisine restaurant,swimming pool ,gym,spa,indoor games, conference hall for 200- 50 pax dj hall.free pick up drop from station/Airport.(on request) ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing