We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food”
Review of Sakura

Sakura
Ranked #186 of 2,769 Restaurants in Gurugram (Gurgaon)
Price range: US$21 - US$45
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Probably the best sushi in Delhi/NCR.I went in a large group so we were able to try a lot of items in the menu. The food was very good and the service matched it. The sushi tasted fresh.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mudit79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    26
    9
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Gurgaon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Below Expectations”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I have read more good reviews than bad, regarding this restaurant so I decided to give it a shot. My friend and I went to this restaurant today for their Sunday brunch. Their Sushi and Sashimi section was really nice. There was Octopus, Tuna. Bonito, Sea Bass, Squid,Salmon and Prawn. Also there was Flying fish roe and salmon roe to go along with these. The Maki sushi, nigiri sushi, uramaki and sashimi were very well made. That is it.
Nothing else on the buffet was worth eating. The tempura was soggy. Something like tempura should never be put on the buffet due to the short life of the crispy batter. The rice was good but one hardly goes to a specialty restaurant to eat rice alone. The katsu curry was ok. The buffet featured the cheap and unhealthy steroid fed Vietnamese Bassa, which was a big turn off.

I must say that this experience was far below that expected out of a restaurant with such brilliant potential. Hopefully their a la carte quality would be better.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tinstryde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai, India
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing brunch”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Perhaps the a la carte selections and set menus might be good,I will never know because in my experience the sunday buffet brunch was bad.Apart from the sushi and sashimi(which were fresh and excellent),no starters ,mains or dessert created an impact on us.The katsu curry seemed it was made out of broth powder and the beef teriyaki was chewy.Worst part were the desserts,a majority of them seemed to contain more amounts of tasteless whipped cream than the sponge and flavour.Service is ok but the brunch menu needs to be revamped.Also the food knowledge of staff is average and needs polishing.For 2200+ taxes ,which comes to approximately 2873/- I expected much better food n service.

Helpful?
1 Thank razor1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“A nice surprise in Gurgaon”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

A real Japanese restaurant! Very good variety of options, good presentation of the dishes, impeccable service and moderate pricing: excellent combination

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Damian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Excellent food and ambiance”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I love the ambiance at Sakura and the food as always was excellent.
The sushi and sashimi variety for the Sunday brunch has diminished since my last visit, but the quality is still holding out.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
2 Thank YBNormal78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sakura also viewed

Gurugram (Gurgaon), Gurgaon District
Gurugram (Gurgaon), Gurgaon District
 
Gurugram (Gurgaon), Gurgaon District
Gurugram (Gurgaon), Gurgaon District
 
Gurugram (Gurgaon), Gurgaon District
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to Sakura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing