We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Green Hideway Close to Delhi”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Surjivan Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gurugram (Gurgaon)
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Surjivan Resort
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Green Hideway Close to Delhi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

The chief reason for choosing this was that we didnt want to waste too much time on road for our long weekend getaway. We knew that the 15th Aug weekend was very busy and all main highways going out of Delhi will have heavy traffic.
It too us just 2 hours from East Delhi with hardly any traffic on roads on 15th Aug morning. The resort is 9 km in, once you exit NH8, but since the road has many resorts such as ITC Classic Golf Resort, its a well paved road.
If you choose not to go in extreme summers, its a good choice. Clearly, its only for travellers who like greenery and solitude and get high on sustainable living. Tradeoffs have been chosen to minimize carbon footprint. So don't expect the 4 star creature comforts. But the rooms are air-conditioned, with large modern washrooms (perhaps the 2 things city dwellers cant live without).
The resort is kid friendly which helped keep our 8 year old daughter well occupied.
The staff may not be polished looking, but are ever eager to serve.
The food is grown organically in the resort, which can make you feel good, but also limits the menu choice when you want to indulge during the holiday.
The owner was around and personally overseeing most activities, which to me is a big plus.

In all, good to try at least once over a weekend and then decide if eco holiday is your cup of tea.

Room Tip: Cottages 1 and 2 are band in front of the splash pool and large well landscaped greens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nitinthakur100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    73
    34
    11
    25
See reviews for
109
15
1
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

Had gone to Surjivan with my friends on 15th Aug. All of us had a blast. It was worth every penny paid. The place is itself so serene with such beautiful landscaping. We enjoyed testing our strength on the adventure activities that they have. All of us went gaga over the food, specially the Karhi. We came to know that the food is prepared traditionally like in the clay pots. Wow!!! Tractor ride – Was my first one and I completely enjoyed the bumpy-bouncy ride. The staff there is very helpful too. Overall, we friends completely enjoyed spending our day at Surjivan. I will definitely come back and would recommend you all too. With the ethnic environment, it completely lives up to its motto –‘Back to roots, Back to Nature’. And yes, how could I forget to mention the Mud pool. Good Experience !!!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Manisha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

I visited Surjivan Resort for a night stay with my family on 15th Aug. As I entered the resort, I was welcomed with greenery all around. I loved the ambiance and the quality of service provided. Kids loved the camel ride and Village Safari. I personally enjoyed the adventure activity and Mud Pool a lot. Playing with kids on the mud pool was really fun. I was initially skeptical about how the food will be as my kids can't bear spicy food at all. The food turned out be super delicious and moreover to the liking of my kids. The gorged the food like anything for a change. The staff is very courteous and helpful. The rooms are made of mud which is a unique concept. Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed the place and would recommend all to visit.

Room Tip: take the pool side facing room. They have the best view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sanjeetmishra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

We spent one night recently at Surjivan resort and curse ourselves for this decision.Worst experience of my life.Badly managed,no professionals,costly.no value for money,no maintenance of rooms and resort,high grass in lawns,insects,soild bed sheets-you ask it and its there.Never again.

Room Tip: You cant get because its not there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dksardana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghaziabad, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

" Back to nature , back to the roots " is the supposed USP of this place . Unfortunately for visitors this is not only misleading but also serves as a mask for the owner of the resort to hide all the flaws and problems of this place. The concept is good on paper except that it is shabbily implemented. The website of the resort paints a completely different picture from the ground reality .
We stayed there for one night on a long weekend with family including children. When we reached the resort , we were greeted by ....nobody ! There was no reception . We had to locate the person who would allocate rooms. Upon entering the rooms, there was a distinct smell of seepage.The bedcovers were old, the rugs were unclean, the wooden chairs were broken ( all in the name of "natural" surroundings). There was an AC in the room with no switch / remote. Staying with a toddler and an infant I could not control the temperature of the room ( which when brought to the notice of the owner , was not considered an issue by him ) . The geyser of the room was not working. In 24 hours stay at the place, the electrician had to be called a few times for various problems. There are 4 lawns on the property. The grass in two of them is a few feet high with all kinds of insects.
The only saving grace was tasty food, although menu was limited. But here again, to keep things basic and natural, leftovers from previous night's dinner were served again for lunch the next day. Unsuspecting guests who arrived directly at lunch that day had no clue .
it would still have been okay if staff and owner had cooperated , but unfortunately he was rude and unapologetic. Also, the place was grossly understaffed .
All in all this experience was totally avoidable. We are never going to visit this place again and would never recommend it to friends or family. It was a different weekend as promised , but for all wrong reasons.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aartisardana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

It was a terrible choice for a weekend getaway. The staff had lot of attitude and kind of rude. The beds were almost cushion-less and smelly. The pillows smelt even worse. The towels were again smelly to use. And there were cockroaches to accompany you in the toilet. The unforgiving bed almost broke my back :-(

The staff was not like really rude, but had lot of attitude. Like we stepped out of the room for a while (And my wife was still inside) and the door was open, their staff came and switched off the AC without taking permission from us on the pretext that the door is open and we cannot keep the AC switched ON like that. He even had the training to argue in such circumstances. During lunch, they had provided bowls for taking the curry, but if someone used the bowls for other dishes, they had issues with that. On questioning, they would easily agree with a load of favor on you that you can take it. Selling 9 months expired "Diet Coke" was easily shrugged off by them as "just a mistake". The whole experience was not good.

The good things were the food (presumably cooked on clay chulahs) and the parks were lush green. But nothing more than that. Their mud bath cum rain dance area was a disaster even to look at. And their splash pool was very dirty and was occupied with people in their night gowns and underpants than swim costumes. Quite unhygienic.

I really wanted to give 2 stars. But one good thing did happen. We had a booking for 2 nights and when we told them about the troubles we faced, they agreed to return half of our money without contesting at all and handed over the cash to us there and then. Probably, even they know their shortcomings. So, the easy refund earn them an extra rating.

Please go there as a day visit only if you must. But please stay away from a stay.

Room Tip: No room is good room. Sorry
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sushant_j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

We went for a one day and a night stay here. While the cottages are beautiful, the resort gives you a feeling of shabbily maintained and bountiful of overpromise in terms of activities. Pathetic games room (dim lighted store room) and you can take ludo carrom etc at the max. Lunch is served the way 'langar' is served wid a tent in ground. Service is really poor and you hav to literally catch hold of the waiters. Room ac was so old that it kept going off. The owner is rude and I really doubt if the place has any repeat visitors. Avoidable.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank namanvit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gurugram (Gurgaon)
2.4 mi away
Best Western Resort Country Club
11.8 mi away
Westin Sohna Resort and Spa
0.6 mi away
ITC Grand Bharat
ITC Grand Bharat
#5 of 229 in Gurugram (Gurgaon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lemon Tree Hotel, Tarudhan Valley
6.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Gurgaon
Hyatt Regency Gurgaon
#10 of 229 in Gurugram (Gurgaon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
6.3 mi away
Park Inn By Radisson Gurgaon Bilaspur
Park Inn By Radisson Gurgaon Bil...
#47 of 229 in Gurugram (Gurgaon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surjivan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surjivan Resort

Property: Surjivan Resort
Address: On Naurangpur Tauru Road, Opposite Classic Golf Resort. | 29 Kms From Delhi, Gurugram (Gurgaon) 122001, India
Region: India > Haryana > Gurugram (Gurgaon)
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 378 Speciality Lodging in Gurugram (Gurgaon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surjivan is an ethnic theme based resort near Delhi. Come stay in our designer mud & thatch cottages and enjoy going back to your ethnic roots amongst 50 Acres of lush green countryside! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing