We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A cool Shack” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Roots Cafe In The Park

Roots Cafe In The Park
Ranked #18 of 2,693 Restaurants in Gurugram (Gurgaon)
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$9
Cuisines: Indian, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, View, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A cool Shack”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Roots-café in the park has a completely opposite philosophy than Gurgaon. It’s an open shack, serving healthier food in a park.

It opens up at 8:30 AM; you can have breakfast there (maybe right after your walk/jog).

For the breakfast you must try their Poha, Upma and Egg bhurji on a toast along with nimbu pani.

For main course you must try Cheesy baked vegetables, Thai Curry Served with steamed rice and raw ppapaya salad, Pizza Veggies delight. Sattu ka sherbet is also good.

The food is good and healthy, and the ambience is good.
Go there in winters and enjoy the greenery around you.

The meal for two costs Rs 500-600 Approximately.

Visit Roots if only you want to relax and enjoy small healthy bites.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank yellowbag_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    128
    26
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Quite place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

This is the best place to have a food out of the city noise. By having in the leisure valley park you can enjoy the park with the awesome food here. You will find different kind of food here with different kind of environment.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vikas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Lucky Second”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

We had been meaning to go to Roots Cafe for a long time, after lots of right and wrong turns when we first located this Cafe, we waited for 30 mins to get a table and had to return disappointed due to heavy rush..it was a sunny afternoon after a long spell of unforgiving Delhi cold..
We returned little later than a month after visiting Vintage Car Show in adjacent ground. The waiting queue was still long, but I insisted on eating here or nowehere (old trick at work) and persisted hubby's hungry glares though very mildly satiated with Masala Chai for which cafe generously took order from waiting crowd..
The seating was good when we got it and we were too hungry to run through the menu and toss our order..however I was little disappointed there as most of the dishes have a particular time range and the time range we were in, there was not much at offer..nevertheless the food was good in taste and on pocket as well..service was quick and staff was friendly..since it is a cafe run on alternate energy sources, do not expect lots of pomp and show, its nicely placed alongside a garden, having lots of greenery around it and that becomes its USP in a concrete jungle..would love to get back..

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SunshineSurya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Could have been excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

When you are living in a concrete jungle, a place like this is almost unbelievable. Also, the only place in Gurgaon which is open for breakfast at 8am. But the place falls short for its choice of food. The menu is almost non existent and average quality. Service is neither that great either. But what a stunning setting... The place also attracts some very fine quality of people, which is another important factor when in Gurgaon. So, if French press coffee and grilled sandwich is on your mind... rush to Roots

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anirban S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“My Hideout !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

Located in the midst of a lush green park (opp to KOD) Roots is my personal hideout from the noise of the city roads and malls .. Food is simple and yum !

Really nice for a quiet Sunday brunch .. or an evening hangout.

I believe its open only till 7 pm or 8 pm.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Prettycool2879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Roots Cafe In The Park also viewed

Gurugram (Gurgaon), Haryana
Gurugram (Gurgaon), Haryana
 
Gurugram (Gurgaon), Haryana
Gurugram (Gurgaon), Haryana
 

Been to Roots Cafe In The Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing