We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"OLD BUT NOT GOLD"”
Review of The Bristol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Bristol Hotel
Ranked #54 of 233 Hotels in Gurugram (Gurgaon)
Hyderabad, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“"OLD BUT NOT GOLD"”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

I Stayed in this hotel for my business visit. Though I could not explore much of it, but can say this hotel is a very old property in Gurgaon BUT not to the Present standards of luxury hotels. I still cannot decide why this hotel is been given a ***** status where they cant even deserve a *** status when compared to the other properties of that range.

My room was in second floor where the patches were exposed with water leakages, the power sockets were not working, infact I had to unplug a side lamp to charge my mobile. The corridor was stinky and looks like a passage in a prison. The bathroom is such an old concept with a bath tub where I had to struggle with the mixture knob for operating it. And to say I had never seen such an old hair dryer, probably it my be of my grand fathers generation.

The Elevators are very old model and to reach the lobby in the ground floor from your room would take atleast 7-8 mins of walking in those stinky corridors and change 2 Elevators in between from your room door to the car door.

Though it is located to the Skindarpur metro station and in a very prime location of Gurgaon business district. I will not recommend to others if they prefer a comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Choose rooms near to the elevators or else you need to jog to reach your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yaminiNaresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    122
    60
    24
    43
See reviews for
58
42
23
218
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
1 review
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I stayed here during a bussines trip.The hotel is big and has a certain charm, that hotels have Malta or old grand family run Hotels in New York. It offer an excllent breakfast and has a pool (unfortunately not filled when I was there) and a gym. Lovely staff, eager to make the most of you stay. The rooms are well cut and good if you have to do work in your room.

I deduct one point, as many hotel in the area offer an office shuttle. Bistol charges 600 for a ride, which is way overpirced anyway. Others offer it free. Apart from that, I really enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reviewperson1234627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeepankarGurgaon, Front Office Manager at The Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting specific feedback on your stay at The Bristol Gurgaon.

It gives us so much happiness to hear that we were able to serve you well following your recent stay at our hotel. Thank you so much for making the effort to write us such a wonderful feedback despite your busy schedule. The positive remarks you mentioned pertaining to the overall comfort of the clean and nice accommodation, as well as the breakfast selection and the warmth of our staff services truly inspires us to further excel. It means a lot to us to know that you appreciated all our efforts to continually give our valued guests the best service like no other hotel can. Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Trip Advisor is a very powerful forum as feedback is genuine and motivates us to do better. Your feedback is well noted and we will further customize our responses.

Thank you for your message. We look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of the best in services and hospitality.

Best Regards,
Deepankar Basu
Front Office Manager
The Bristol Gurgaon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

In early 2000s this hotel would be among the most happening place in Gurgaon. However with the new entrants in the market, I would prefer an alternative.Though food and services are great and rooms are well kept, the maintenance of the property is really poor.I also found their hotel planning little baffling.

If you are planning to stay during weekends (Fri-Sun), be careful not to choose rooms above their Discotheque, if you need a sound sleep. The music will go on till 4 AM morning and you will have to bear it helplessly!

Overall hotel is good but overpriced.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RiturajD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeepankarGurgaon, Front Office Manager at The Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting specific feedback on your stay at The Bristol Gurgaon.

I personally acknowledge your feedback on the up keeping of the property & noise from Discotheque . Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you. Please be assured that your feedback has been noted and the matter has been discussed with the housekeeping team at length, so that such an instance does not recur and all the areas are covered deeply.

Please allow me to share with you that all the responses to guest comments are customized and specifically address the mentioned feedback. Every feedback that is posted on the Trip Advisor is shared with all the members of our hotel team, basis which corrective action and required training is initiated.

Your feedback is well noted and we will further customize our responses.

Thank you for your message. We look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of the best in services and hospitality.

Best Regards,
Deepankar Basu
Front Office Manager
The Bristol Gurgaon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

I love the breakfast (India food), i love the pool and good service of the staff..want to come here again. The best moments of that day, i enjoyed the deepawali night from the roof top and saw the fireworks around the city

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lois E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeepankarGurgaon, Front Office Manager at The Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Bristol Gurgaon !

It gives us so much happiness to hear that we were able to serve you well following your recent stay at our hotel. Thank you so much for making the effort to write us such a wonderful feedback despite your busy schedule. The positive remarks you mentioned pertaining to the overall comfort of the clean and nice accommodation and the warmth of our staff services truly inspires us to further excel. It means a lot to us to know that you appreciated all our efforts to continually give our valued guests the best service like no other hotel can. Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back at a The Bristol, Gurgaon.

Best Regards,
Deepankar Basu
Front Office Manager
The Bristol Gurgaon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I think this is the third time I've reviewed this Hotel over the last 3 years. It's definitely improved over time and my latest stay was very good apart from a couple of issues.

Pro's
- Great location for the commercial centre of Gurgaon
- Good standard rooms
- Clean
- Friendly & Efficient Staff. Richu from the front desk is always extremely helpful.
- Gym is well equipped
- Check in/out process has been streamlined. A lot less bureaucracy that past visits
- Good value for money

Cons
- Wi-fi is poor. Slow speeds & frequent lost connections
- 3rd floor rooms beneath the 4th floor restaurant are noisy. Particularly so in the late evening as the restaurant closes. Lots of noise of chairs/tables being dragged across the floor during cleaning.
- Breakfast buffet quality is deteriorating. Not terrible, but becoming on par with 3* guest house quality rather than the 4-5 star international hotel standard
- Room Service. This is likely a one-off, but I had a poor experience this time with room service. Took 1 hour to deliver my meal after being initially told 20 mins. Called after 40mins to be told that it's on it's way. Received another call 10 minutes later to advise me that it's on it's way again (?). It was stone cold when it arrived. Sent it back and called them again - the guy was extremely apologetic then went on to explain that it had been sitting around for a while before being sent to me!! Anyway, they replaced it within 10 mins and it was hot. Unfortunately it didn't taste good. Lesson learned (see past reviews) - the kitchen here is not worth it. Plenty of restaurants on the MG Road.

Keen to stress that apart from the food issue (which is centered on buffet/room service menu - the a la carte is great), this is a good hotel who have clearly made a big effort to improve standards of late.

Will be back next week (with my own packed lunch :)

Room Tip: Avoid rooms that are over/next to the nightclub or are under the 4th floor restaurant if you want a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PenriJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navi Mumbai
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We stayed in this hotel for three nights. We observe that the hotel has two seperate wings. One with conference room facilities and second one for rooms on two floors, restaurants in fourth floor with Lobby/ Reception.while checkin is a smooth process for few, the waiting period for many others is more than an hour . This is because rooms are not made ready for check in .Checkout process is smooth.Wi Fi connectivity is very poor.caused lot of inconvenience.Password and user name for wi Fi is different from location to location within the hotel.Electronic room key is required to be reprogrammed every time you renter the room .this is another inconvenient. This has nothing to do with the access to mobile etc.Restaurant services are good. Breakfast arrangements are satisfactory. Housekeeping and Conceirge services are reasonably satisfactory.But care should be taken to provide much better Lenin, bath towels etc.Overall stay is satisfactory.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bhima2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2014

This is a great business hotel, with good restaurants in the hotel. However being one of the older properties in Gurgaon, the rooms although they are slightly larger than your normal hotels - the bathrooms could be better with amenities. As a location it is centrally located next to a Metro and easy access to all major malls and offices in the area.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kinjaltanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gurugram (Gurgaon) hotels
0.7 mi away
Fortune Select Global
Fortune Select Global
#63 of 233 in Gurugram (Gurgaon)
234 reviews
1.0 mi away
juSTa Gurgaon Hotel
juSTa Gurgaon Hotel
#17 of 233 in Gurugram (Gurgaon)
358 reviews
1.7 mi away
Anya Gurgaon, New Delhi NCR
Anya Gurgaon, New Delhi NCR
#5 of 233 in Gurugram (Gurgaon)
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Gurgaon / Udyog Vihar
Hyatt Place Gurgaon / Udyog Viha...
#12 of 233 in Gurugram (Gurgaon)
588 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Acura BMK
The Acura BMK
#26 of 233 in Gurugram (Gurgaon)
302 reviews
2.8 mi away
Galaxy Hotel & Spa
Galaxy Hotel & Spa
#38 of 233 in Gurugram (Gurgaon)
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bristol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bristol Hotel

Property: The Bristol Hotel
Address: Adjacent To Dlf Qutab Enclave Phase - 1 | Main Gurgaon, Mehrauli Road, Gurugram (Gurgaon) 122002, India
Region: India > Haryana > Gurgaon District > Gurugram (Gurgaon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Gurugram (Gurgaon)
#31 Business Hotel in Gurugram (Gurgaon)
#38 Luxury Hotel in Gurugram (Gurgaon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Bristol Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly updated luxury rooms and suites are replete with the latest state-of-the-art interiors and gadgetry and are spacious and elegant in style. Muted tones, polished hardwood floors and flat LCD screens give these plush rooms a unique and contemporary look. There are a total of 83 rooms and suites on offer, ranging from executive and deluxe rooms to business and penthouse suites. The sprawling Presidential Suite/Business Suite and the Penthouse Suite offer a breathtaking view of the sky line. Staying at The Bristol, one need not venture out to savour mouthwatering delights as the refurbished onsite restaurants offer a multitude of delectable and exotic delicacies and drinks from around the world. The Bristol offers banquet facilities, beautiful gardens, stunning views and outstanding ballrooms. The hotel’s nine versatile gathering venues with high-tech features allow for corporate meetings, conferences and social functions of all types. Luxurious flooring and furnishing enhance an atmosphere of exquisite elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Odigeo, Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bristol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Hotel Gurgaon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing