We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch Review - a disappointment”
Review of Tikli Bottom

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gurugram (Gurgaon)
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tikli Bottom
Ranked #115 of 496 Gurugram (Gurgaon) B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 March 2014

This charming and attractively decorated guest house provides a pleasant retreat from city life. We enjoyed sipping our drinks by the pool while happily anticipating lunch on the patio. Unfortunately, the kitchen just isn’t up to par. Lunch was both expensive and of only average quality (a mix of western and Indian options). It is served buffet-style and the kitchen ran out of many of the dishes before all the guests had all had enough of each. Given that reservations are required, it couldn’t be that they didn’t have a correct headcount. We were quite disappointed given the reviews. Perhaps we just hit an off day? And while the English host was very charming, the same could not be said of the senior staff person who was mixing the drinks: She insisted on taking away the water glass of one of our party and rudely instructed him on which glass to use for drinking water - a bit more instruction to her would be in order on the spirit of hospitality rather than the letter of etiquette.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
12  Thank 2trvel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2014

A wonderful retreat from Delhi. The rooms are lovely, furnished with care and attention to every detail. The staff are very helpful and give you wonderful food (delicious with lots of variety) and drinks (plentiful). The garden is full of birds (large and small), exotic trees, swimming pool, and cozy places to read. Ride to the airport is easy making it the best place to begin or end a trip. The hosts are true hosts giving you guidance if you need it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kciff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed at Tikkli Bottom (how we laughed every time we told people where we were staying) for 2 nights in November. It seemed to be a popular spot for those flying from Delhi, whether at the beginning or the end of a holiday, as was the case with us. It is in a beautiful, rural setting, set in lovely gardens and surrounded by hills. There is no shopping or nightlife nearby, so it is the perfect place for a relaxing break, provided you are happy with the "at home" type of experience, where all the guests eat together, with the hosts, in a communal setting.

There are 4 bedrooms, all with en suite bathrooms. Rooms and bathrooms are spacious and comfortable. Ours had a big bath with shower and lots of potions and lotions, although these are not the fancy brands that you will find in posh hotels. The food is homely and wholesome, and the owners are happy to provide for vegetarians. One of the best things from our point of view was the fact that wine was included with meals, as were pre and post dinner drinks - and the hosts pour with a generous hand!

The hosts are charming, long-term India residents, who are well known in both the local and the Delhi UK expat communities. You may not share their views on present-day India, and they may not share yours, but the whole package makes for a rewarding experience, one that you certainly will not getting by staying in a typical hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank maggiavelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We started our Rajastan holiday here outside Delhi - a charming, peaceful oasis, below the local hills with no palaces, forts, temples, hawkers, traffic. For two days we enjoyed reading, swimming, chatting, visiting the local school and imbibing before hitting the road for the serious business of having a holiday.

A lovely bedroom and bathroom was matched by the drawing room, dining room, courtyard and grounds (complete with emus, buffalos and other wildlife). Dining with other guests, visiting teachers and the owners was stimulating and fun - providing you are sympathetic to a patriarchal colonial outlook, vote conservative or are prepared to fight you corner!

Food (and drink included) was plentiful and wholesome. It came from my parents era and reminded me of the old joke "buns like mother made a penny, buns like mother thought she made tuppence". This was certainly from the latter school but by no means haute cuisine - more like meat and two veg.

Overall a lovely, unexpected start to what became one of our very best trips.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank singasOng21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Nestled peacefully in the Aravalis about 25 mins off Sohna Road is the charming Tikli Bottom. The architecture is reminiscent of Lutyen's (colonial) bungalows. Arches and pillars, rooms with high ceilings and ventilators, a central courtyard, verandas (remember them?), an eclectic collection of books spread in every corner of the house- what a delight!

The rooms are spacious with large bath rooms and a dressing area. Cute child sized charpais (or should I say charpoys :)) were easily accomodated in the room besides the double bed.

Food.. Simple, Delicious and wholesome, what was known in India as 'continental cuisine' made using classic recipes (till American television bastardised everything). For the buffet lunch the chioces included fish cake, baked potatoes, sauted red peppers, mushroom and cheese toasts, chicken balls and a few other things besides dal chawal. The desert consisted of crepe suzette with orange sauce and more. The sit down dinner had courgette soup, roasted chicken, lasagna, baked cauliflower and cheese, paneer makhni and much more, for desert we had the classic bread pudding.

The kids loved running around, splashing in the pool, playing with the owners farm animals and their pet dog. The owners Annie and Martin didnt seem to mind the rattle they were making, in fact they seem to enjoy children, I even noticed them playing with the children of their staff.

We were truly treated like house guests with our every need taken care of. Their owners (and their well trained staff) kept checking on us, they joined us for drinks and dinner and kept us engaged with their conversation.

Tikli Bottom is also a Bird watchers paradise, we saw a huge variety of birds which at least I had never seen before. Right at the entrance of the house are a dozen or so weaver bird nests where the birds were busy building their homes.

The approach to Tikli Bottom is surprisingly easy as most of the road from Sohna road is cemented.

I loved this place, worth every penny and more! I will go back in winters.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Kabirp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Surrounded by the Aravalli Hills, this Lutyens-style country house has lovely rooms , deep verandahs and friendly staff. It is close to the Delhi airport though present in the Delhi-NCR. With presence of Delhi Metro it has become easy to reach Gurgaon, You can spend a lovely weekend over here. Its is run by a charming English couple, Annie and Martin Howard. You need to take an off country drive to reach this place, but when you are here you'll forget everything.

Room Tip: Lovely weekends can be spent here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank emanurag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

I visited Tikli bottom on 16th June. We had heard a lot about this place, so on sunday evening we thought to visit this place as the weather was good. We couldnt open the site so we were not sure if it would be open.

The first half of the road to Tikli Bottom was from crowded area of Gurgaon, and the second half is within a village and open fields. Though roads are paved so not a problem.

The place where this guest house is located is very nice, but unfortunately it remains close from somewhere from Mid April to July.

Still we went inside and roamed near the cottage. The guards there told us that pre booking is necessary there.We were just planning to go for dinner so i dont think pre booking would be necessary for that. But to confirm that i will have to go once the place opens in July.

But Tikli ( the village) is must visit, if there are group friends and weather is good, you can take your own food and have a small picnic. There is place as such to sit, but then the fun part is to find one of urself , as we did. Otherwise the car bonet is also good enough.:)

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
4  Thank kavya g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gurugram (Gurgaon)
12.1 mi away
Westin Sohna Resort and Spa
7.2 mi away
ITC Grand Bharat
ITC Grand Bharat
#3 of 265 in Gurugram (Gurgaon)
477 reviews
6.6 mi away
Heritage Village Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Ariisse Farms
Ariisse Farms
#201 of 496 in Gurugram (Gurgaon)
6 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Gateway Resort Damdama Lake Gurgaon
The Gateway Resort Damdama Lake ...
#7 of 265 in Gurugram (Gurgaon)
796 reviews
5.6 mi away
Karma Chalets
Karma Chalets
#6 of 496 in Gurugram (Gurgaon)
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tikli Bottom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tikli Bottom

Address: Manender Farm | P O Tikli,, Gurugram (Gurgaon) 122101, India
Region: India > Haryana > Gurgaon District > Gurugram (Gurgaon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 496 B&Bs / Inns in Gurugram (Gurgaon)
Price Range: £159 - £305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a full-board guets-house, where the charge covers all taxes, all meals, all drinks, and the room. Beside the Aravali hills we are peaceful and scenically beautiful. This is the best place within miles for doing nothing except relaxing. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tikli Bottom Hotel Gurgaon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing