We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveller rating
37
6
4
2
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
37
6
4
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews soft landing en famille bric a brac annie hosts india guests ensuite bungalow warmth bathtub spread
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 54 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2014

A wonderful retreat from Delhi. The rooms are lovely, furnished with care and attention to every detail. The staff are very helpful and give you wonderful food (delicious with lots of variety) and drinks (plentiful). The garden is full of birds (large and small), exotic trees, swimming pool, and cozy places to read. Ride to the airport is easy making it the best place to begin or end a trip. The hosts are true hosts giving you guidance if you need it.

Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kciff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed at Tikkli Bottom (how we laughed every time we told people where we were staying) for 2 nights in November. It seemed to be a popular spot for those flying from Delhi, whether at the beginning or the end of a holiday, as was the case with us. It is in a beautiful, rural setting, set in lovely gardens and surrounded by hills. There is no shopping or nightlife nearby, so it is the perfect place for a relaxing break, provided you are happy with the "at home" type of experience, where all the guests eat together, with the hosts, in a communal setting.

There are 4 bedrooms, all with en suite bathrooms. Rooms and bathrooms are spacious and comfortable. Ours had a big bath with shower and lots of potions and lotions, although these are not the fancy brands that you will find in posh hotels. The food is homely and wholesome, and the owners are happy to provide for vegetarians. One of the best things from our point of view was the fact that wine was included with meals, as were pre and post dinner drinks - and the hosts pour with a generous hand!

The hosts are charming, long-term India residents, who are well known in both the local and the Delhi UK expat communities. You may not share their views on present-day India, and they may not share yours, but the whole package makes for a rewarding experience, one that you certainly will not getting by staying in a typical hotel.

Date of stay: November 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank maggiavelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We started our Rajastan holiday here outside Delhi - a charming, peaceful oasis, below the local hills with no palaces, forts, temples, hawkers, traffic. For two days we enjoyed reading, swimming, chatting, visiting the local school and imbibing before hitting the road for the serious business of having a holiday.

A lovely bedroom and bathroom was matched by the drawing room, dining room, courtyard and grounds (complete with emus, buffalos and other wildlife). Dining with other guests, visiting teachers and the owners was stimulating and fun - providing you are sympathetic to a patriarchal colonial outlook, vote conservative or are prepared to fight you corner!

Food (and drink included) was plentiful and wholesome. It came from my parents era and reminded me of the old joke "buns like mother made a penny, buns like mother thought she made tuppence". This was certainly from the latter school but by no means haute cuisine - more like meat and two veg.

Overall a lovely, unexpected start to what became one of our very best trips.

Date of stay: November 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank singasOng21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Nestled peacefully in the Aravalis about 25 mins off Sohna Road is the charming Tikli Bottom. The architecture is reminiscent of Lutyen's (colonial) bungalows. Arches and pillars, rooms with high ceilings and ventilators, a central courtyard, verandas (remember them?), an eclectic collection of books spread in every corner of the house- what a delight!

The rooms are spacious with large bath rooms and a dressing area. Cute child sized charpais (or should I say charpoys :)) were easily accomodated in the room besides the double bed.

Food.. Simple, Delicious and wholesome, what was known in India as 'continental cuisine' made using classic recipes (till American television bastardised everything). For the buffet lunch the chioces included fish cake, baked potatoes, sauted red peppers, mushroom and cheese toasts, chicken balls and a few other things besides dal chawal. The desert consisted of crepe suzette with orange sauce and more. The sit down dinner had courgette soup, roasted chicken, lasagna, baked cauliflower and cheese, paneer makhni and much more, for desert we had the classic bread pudding.

The kids loved running around, splashing in the pool, playing with the owners farm animals and their pet dog. The owners Annie and Martin didnt seem to mind the rattle they were making, in fact they seem to enjoy children, I even noticed them playing with the children of their staff.

We were truly treated like house guests with our every need taken care of. Their owners (and their well trained staff) kept checking on us, they joined us for drinks and dinner and kept us engaged with their conversation.

Tikli Bottom is also a Bird watchers paradise, we saw a huge variety of birds which at least I had never seen before. Right at the entrance of the house are a dozen or so weaver bird nests where the birds were busy building their homes.

The approach to Tikli Bottom is surprisingly easy as most of the road from Sohna road is cemented.

I loved this place, worth every penny and more! I will go back in winters.

Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Kabirp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Surrounded by the Aravalli Hills, this Lutyens-style country house has lovely rooms , deep verandahs and friendly staff. It is close to the Delhi airport though present in the Delhi-NCR. With presence of Delhi Metro it has become easy to reach Gurgaon, You can spend a lovely weekend over here. Its is run by a charming English couple, Annie and Martin Howard. You need to take an off country drive to reach this place, but when you are here you'll forget everything.

Room tip: Lovely weekends can be spent here!
Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank emanurag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews