We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and comfortable but Scope for Improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Gateway Resort Damdama Lake Gurgaon
Ranked #6 of 241 Hotels in Gurugram (Gurgaon)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I stayed with Family from 4-6 July. The hotel has just started operation couple of months back. Overall the experience was nice and satisfies however there is still a scope of improvement.

The rooms are spacious and nicely done with big bathroom. We stayed in a pool facing room which has a beautiful view of the gardens too ( recommended). The checkin process was convenient and fast. However the hotel is short on house keeping staff affecting the service levels. However in room dine was quick and good.

The good menu was also decent and restaurants are decorated very beautifully. I feel if the resort runs on full capacity then the dining area might be short of sitting space.

The kids room is adequately stocked and my kid had a wonderful time there. The lawns are also nicely done and looked beautiful. The pool area was nicely done along with the gym.

As per my discussion, there is another 9 acres under development which will comprise of Spa, indoor swiming pool , cricket pitch and other sports areas, amphitheatre, butterfly and rose garden etc. the same is expected to be operational by max end of September 14. Hence its advised to go from October onwards to enjoy the complete experience of a resort.

I think another 6 months with full service and staff, the resort will give westin Sohna a run for its money and will be a welcome break in Delhi NCR.

Room Tip: Room Facing the pool and garden for uninterrupted view and nice wind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank AseemAgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Damdama, General Manager at The Gateway Resort Damdama Lake Gurgaon, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Mr. Aseem,

At the outset, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and also for taking the time out to share your feedback here on Trip Advisor.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and your feedback and for special mention of our Kids activity center. Regarding your feedback about understaffing in the Housekeeping department, the same has been addressed.

As you already mentioned, the resort has just done a soft launch and many services at the hotel are under developing stage. We would be operating the resort in full strength by October 2014. We assure you on your next visit we would exceed your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm Regards,
Dilpreet Singh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (766)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

762 - 766 of 766 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Didnt know this place existed till a friend suggested it. Huge rooms with bathrooms as big as the bedroom. Large manicured lawns and a very clean pool. Good for a city getaway break for 1-2 nights. The resort is tastefuly done up. The food was good at the multi cuisine restaurant...had ala carte, although they were serving a buffet as well. Services are as one would expect from a Taj hotel. Special thanks and mention for Mr Dilpreet Singh the GM who personally took initiative to resolve concerns.

Must visit for delhites, go for the ground floor rooms closer to the reception.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
6  Thank shivneet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Damdama, General Manager at The Gateway Resort Damdama Lake Gurgaon, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Mr. Shivneet,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us, and for your kind acknowledgement of our guestrooms and manicured lawns.

I am delighted to note that you liked the ambience and service at the resort.

Once again, thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor and for recommending our Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm Regards,
Dilpreet Singh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

When I came across this location, me and my wife both were not thrilled. We were working on constrains like our 6 month old little fella, extremely hot days (end of summers) and getting sultry, long drive or long flight was not an option considering short time. And we were still not ready for an adventure. We were suggested this prions while speaking with Taj holiday team. Was unsure, still decided to take chance considering its a new resort and taj name.

I was pleasantly surprised, the place has excellent villas and very courteous staff. We were looked after well and even smaller requests like an Infant Bed, sterilising milk bottles eta. were all made available. Though some of the facilities were not ready and will start by End Sept 2014, I think this will be a great place with bird safari etc coming up.

Iam sure I will take another trip soon (great during Monsoon and Winters) though will advise against travel in summers.

The property looks good for business travellers as well...good conference rooms and all facilities for a good offsite/ training.

MUST Visit for anybody in vicinity of Gurgaon..might not take more than 30-45 mins drive, newly laid roads all the way to resort.

Room Tip: Ground Floors give you access to garden and hence will always be my preference
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Girish T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Damdama, General Manager at The Gateway Resort Damdama Lake Gurgaon, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Mr. Girish,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

I'm delighted to know that our resort was at par with expectation in terms of rooms, quality of food, service, staff & cleanliness. Our endeavor will always be to exceed our guests' expectations, which we will continue to do.

We thank you once again for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back at our oasis of happy experiences - The Gateway Resort Damdama Lake, Gurgaon.

Warm Regards,
Dilpreet Singh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Had the opportunity to stay at Taj Gateway's new property near Damdama lake and came back delighted and waiting to go back again. The property itself is extremely tastefully done with interesting art installations spread across. The staff is extremely welcoming and cordial and it was really nice to be in a resort where the staff practically saw us off when we left. There are quite a few training issues and communication issues with the staff particularly the room service but being a less than a month old property, it can be overlooked. We had been there for my dad's birthday and father's day and the cake the restaurant whipped up was delicious. While only one restaurant was operational during our stay, the food was typically Taj and delicious. The only odd bit was the really scaled down dinner buffet with very limited options. The property has a nice walking track with lush greenery all around. There is a swimming pool and spa but they were not operational while we were there. Overall an excellent place near Delhi to go out for a relaxing weekend with friends & family.

Room Tip: recommend the deluxe rooms which have a nice sit out and awesome bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Pavas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Damdama, General Manager at The Gateway Resort Damdama Lake Gurgaon, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Mr Pavas

At the outset, i would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and also for taking the time out to share your feedback here on Trip Advisor.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and your feedback regarding training issues and communication have been addressed . We assure you on your next visit your experience on this front will exceed your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

warm regards

Dilpreet Singh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stay in Delhi and drove to Gateway Hotel Damama on 14th June for a quick weekend trip with our baby. We had decided to stay one night, but were pleasantly surprised by the property and service and decided to extend our stay by another night.

Though the hotel is not too vast, the landscaping view from the rooms is a fresh change a something a few minutes away from Delhi. A large part of the hotel is still under construction.

Facilities: The property is brand new and done up in contemporary style. The rooms were tastefully done, clean and 5 star class. When we stayed, the hotel pool was under renovation and the spa was not functional yet – we are told these services will go LIVE sometime around September this year. What was functional was ‘Buzz’ restaurant, the gym and the kid’s play area.

Food: We had all our meals at the hotel itself. The breakfast buffet was brilliant (huge spread including everything from pancakes, omlettes to dosas). The dinner buffet, on the other hand, was slightly chaotic and just about average. We ordered main course on day 2 for dinner, and were happy to have done away with the buffet choice. We ordered pasta and fish - both of which were delicious.

Service: The staff at the hotel was excellent – very helpful and courteous. We were traveling with a baby and had all sorts of inane asks at many times – for all of which the hotel staff was happy to help.

Approach: The hotel is a few kms away from the highway and the road towards the property is decent.

Overall, a great place to head out for some time out – specifically if you want to go in a group / with elders or kids. Once the pool becomes functional, Gateway will be a hotspot for NCR and Corporate travelers.

Room Tip: Stay on the rooms on the ground floor - to open your balcony door and walk into all green!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DCandPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Damdama, General Manager at The Gateway Resort Damdama Lake Gurgaon, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback for the hotel. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Your feedback regarding the buffet dinner has been addressed.
We look forward to welcoming you back once the hotel opens its 8 acre adventure park, Spa and Sian-our contemporary Chinese restaurant in September .

warm regards

Dilpreet Singh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gurugram (Gurgaon)
4.7 mi away
Westin Sohna Resort and Spa
8.9 mi away
ITC Grand Bharat
ITC Grand Bharat
#3 of 241 in Gurugram (Gurgaon)
425 reviews
14.0 mi away
Trident, Gurgaon
Trident, Gurgaon
#2 of 241 in Gurugram (Gurgaon)
1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
The Palms - Town & Country Club
The Palms - Town & Country Club
#37 of 241 in Gurugram (Gurgaon)
207 reviews
11.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Gurgaon
Hyatt Regency Gurgaon
#11 of 241 in Gurugram (Gurgaon)
1,134 reviews
11.2 mi away
Taj City Centre Gurugram
Taj City Centre Gurugram
#5 of 241 in Gurugram (Gurgaon)
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Resort Damdama Lake Gurgaon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Resort Damdama Lake Gurgaon

Address: off Gurgaon-Sohna Road, Gurugram (Gurgaon) 122102, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Haryana > Gurgaon District > Gurugram (Gurgaon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 241 Hotels in Gurugram (Gurgaon)
Price Range: £130 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Gateway Resort Damdama Lake Gurgaon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience nature woven beautifully in the first ever Gateway resort in India. Derived from the existing landscape, The Gateway Resort Damdama Lake Gurgaon welcomes you to a nature inspired sanctuary for the urban nomad. Located just 45 km from IGI Airport Delhi, across a sprawling 20 acres in the bosom of the Aravalli hills, near Damdama Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoftTaj, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Gateway Resort Damdama Lake Gurgaon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing