We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Not the best"” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Monk

The Monk
Ranked #15 of 2,692 Restaurants in Gurugram (Gurgaon)
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$100
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff
Gurgaon
Level Contributor
99 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“"Not the best"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

On my recent visit I was expecting the best service and food, but I was wrong on both counts, to start with the service, there was no one at the entrance to give us a table to sit, after searching for the manager we were given a table, we received the Menu promptly but there after it seemed that they were in no hurry to attend to us, finally we had a server come to our table and asked us what we would like to eat/drink, we placed our drink orders and also ordered the food simultaneously, the air-conditioning is much less than the requirement and specially when you are eating some spicy Chinese food ,one needs it even more. Our dish the chicken with ginger tasted like a normal chicken dish that one would get in a corner restaurant, the other dish seasonal veggies had hardly any seasonal veggies but had more of lettuce and pok choy . It was bland and had no taste, I could have had raw veggies instead which would be more healthy . I think if Monk wants to retain the position they have had then the team has to put its act together all over again. I would not say that I will never visit again, but surely expect a lot of improvement when I visit again, shall keep all readers posted!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gourmetboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Monk_Gurgaon, Manager at The Monk, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for dining with us and sharing your experience. The Monk is among the popular restaurants in Gurgaon and is known for its authentic Oriental cuisine. We are disappointed to learn that your dining experience was not upto your expectations. We have made a note about your concern regarding the quality of food and the services, and assure you that corrective actions will be taken at the earliest.

Once again, thank you for the feedback. We look forward to offering you an overall wonderful experience.

Best Regards,
Amit Jakhar
Food & Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    161
    50
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Conveniently located, comfortable ambience. You dont have to worry about parking (valet available)

The place has a limited seating and more often than not, you will find yourself waiting, especially on weekends. Weekdays you could probably get lucky.

Safe to say, the most authentic chinese food, this side of the city.
However, a word of caution though. This is not the place to go to, if you like your chinese spiked up or Tadka Chinese (yup, that's what I cal the indianised-chinese).

The liquor choices are good. The cocktails are very innovative and delicious too.
Food is simply amazing and I think by now, I would have tried everything on the menu having been there so many times. my all time fave is - Pan Fried Wheat Noodles with chicken in ginger chilly sauce.

The price point is high. But then, you don't mind spending that extra bit coz of the fulfillment of your taste buds..

Must try!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MDhiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Monk_Gurgaon, Manager at The Monk, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to dine at The Monk once again and for sharing your personal experience here on TripAdvisor. We are always delighted to hear from our esteemed diners and food enthusiasts.

We are happy to know that you had a pleasurable time on your recent visit and that we were once again able to please your taste buds. Your kind words of appreciation have been conveyed to the team in the kitchen and they are really excited and motivated to continue to strive to provide a wholesome experience to our guests.

Located at The Galaxy Hotel & Spa, Gurgaon, our diners have the facility of valet parking and are glad that it added a value of convenience to your overall experience. Also, as you have great taste and were impressed with the innovative cocktails served at The Monk, we must inform you that we have five other dining spaces that offer creative cuisines from different continents altogether. Including The Monk, Axis, Terroir, Howzatt, Beanstalk & Ultra Premium, these venues represent the best in Gurgaon’s contemporary dining.

Once again, thank you for repeated patronage. We would deem it a privilege to serve you again.

Best Regards,
Amit Jakhar
Food & Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“"The Price of success"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Once upon a time, Monk was rated the best chinese in the NCR. When we started visiting Monk some years back, we realized why. One of the best Dimsums, and their sticky rice and authentic flavors were great, and we kept going back to them again and again. And then there was a long break till yesterday, and we decided to take our visiting family members remembering the great food.

So whats different. To begin with, our mood went rapidly downhill on finding that the aircon was on the blink and we were sweating through the starters. Not entirely their fault, as the restaurant is located in a shopping arcade. From there, it went more downhill.

The Dimsums that we remembered so fondly were nothing what we had eaten before. The outer skin was breaking and sweating water. The meat inside was harder than it used to be. In short, just another chinese place, nothing to write home about.

The main course when it came, had lost the flavors that it was famous for. The sticky rice was not sticky, it was hard and congealed and had to be cut up. The fish in XO sauce didn't taste of anything special.

But the worst was the service. You go to a restaurant and pay through your nose for good food and attentive service. The staff was going through the motions and were inattentive. They took ages to clear away the starters service, and had to be reminded twice. Fresh plates were brought without removing the dirty service, and the staff acted as though it was normal for them to put fresh plates and leave the dirty service trays on the table. Twice they had to be reminded to bring fresh forks and spoons. The idea didn't seem to strike them on their own. The complimentary chopsticks had disappeared, only to to be provided on being asked. On leaving, we glimpsed the staff washing chopsticks, possibly for re-use. Uggghhh.

We left disappointed. And for the price we paid, there are far better options available.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sanjay44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Monk_Gurgaon, Manager at The Monk, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank for your recent stopover at The Monk and for your feedback. The Monk is counted amongst famed Chinese diners in Delhi NCR where our patrons can try out an array of delicacies. Though it is nice to know that you have been visiting us for last few years, it is disappointing for us to learn that your dining experience with us was not what we had aimed for. We regret the inconvenience caused to you and would like to assure you that it may have been rare incident and is surely not a norm at The Monk.

We hope to get another opportunity to host you again and offer you the best of our service.

Best Regards,
Amit Jakhar
Food & Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaipur, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

Amazingly nice. A perfect combination of shopping, hopping and dining out experience. Great food with freshly brewed beer.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank wsherwaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Monk_Gurgaon, Manager at The Monk, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to dine with us and sharing your valuable feedback on this public platform. Our restaurant, The Monk, offers a wide variety of authentic oriental delicacies in a zen-inspired ambience. The personalized service of our staff and the availability of freshly brewed beer have made us a favorite among residents as well as walk-in guests, however it is feedback from patrons like you that inspires us.

We are delighted to know that you had a fun-filled experience with us. Once again thank you for this wonderful review and we hope to host you again sometime soon

Best Regards,
Amit Jakhar
Food & Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Monk Restaurant-Gurgaon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

Hi, i have visited this restaurant recently with a couple of friends . Its at the Galaxy Hotel on the NH8. If you are really fond of Thai,Chinese food then this place is a must visit.

Excellent taste,ambiance and service. Rates are steep but you can certainly indulge once a while. My fav is the Thai food served. Hot and delicious...

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tanu75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Monk_Gurgaon, Manager at The Monk, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to dine with your friends at The Monk located at The Galaxy Hotel in Gurgaon and for sharing your review here on TripAdvisor.

Our restaurant, The Monk boasts of modernistic Zen-like setting where guests can choose from an array of delicacies in a relaxing ambience. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed dining with us and loved the Thai delicacies served. Your positive comments have been conveyed to the team in the kitchen and they are really excited and motivated to further continue to strive to provide a wholesome experience to our guests.

Once again, thank you for your support and patronage. We would deem it a privilege to serve you again.

Best Regards,
Amit Jakhar
Food & Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Monk also viewed

Gurugram (Gurgaon), Haryana
Gurugram (Gurgaon), Haryana
 
Gurugram (Gurgaon), Haryana
 
Gurugram (Gurgaon), Haryana
 

Been to The Monk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing