We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food and service good but lacks ambience”
Review of The Monk

The Monk
Ranked #23 of 2,786 Restaurants in Gurugram (Gurgaon)
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$100
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed 17 October 2013

The Monk, the restaurant is situated on the first floor of Galaxy Hotel. As you enter the place, the ground floor has a bakery and coffee place, and various showrooms that offer a lot of variety to shop. As you take the escalator to go to the first floor, you'll be able to see the place completely because the good part and the bad part for some is that this place is not enclosed. Its open but inside the Galaxy building. There are no walls that define this place as such, apart from a floor that is a step higher than the rest of the floor.

Being open in the mall this place remains very lively throughout the day. The ambience looks cute , woody and warm as well.
However, being open the place does not offer exclusiveness or any privacy. Which is also one of its shortcomings.

We ordered various things on the menu, from schezwan to black bean sauce, wheat to pan fried noodles and five spice dimsums.
The dimsums were just delicious and so were the rest of the items. These days authentic food is really hard to find, however this place maintains its standard of serving good quality food.

The desserts were good as well.
I liked this place and would suggest everyone to pay a visit once.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Epicureansilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Monk_Gurgaon, Manager at The Monk, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for dining with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

Acknowledged across the world for its style, grandeur and superior services, our hotel is the ideal destination and offers a truly rewarding experience and I am glad that you found it worthy of recommendation. I agree with you that The Monk offers a unique mix of healthy oriental cuisine along with the fresh and an assortment of light Dim Sum amidst a modern setting.

Whilst I am glad you enjoyed the culinary delights, I also understand your concern regarding the noise that comes from the surrounding area which can sometimes be unpleasant. I hope the next time you visit us, you have a better experience.

Once again, we thank you for your support and look forward to the pleasure of serving you in the near future.

Best Regards,
Amit Jakhar
Food & Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (376)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

224 - 228 of 376 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2013

On my recent visit I was expecting the best service and food, but I was wrong on both counts, to start with the service, there was no one at the entrance to give us a table to sit, after searching for the manager we were given a table, we received the Menu promptly but there after it seemed that they were in no hurry to attend to us, finally we had a server come to our table and asked us what we would like to eat/drink, we placed our drink orders and also ordered the food simultaneously, the air-conditioning is much less than the requirement and specially when you are eating some spicy Chinese food ,one needs it even more. Our dish the chicken with ginger tasted like a normal chicken dish that one would get in a corner restaurant, the other dish seasonal veggies had hardly any seasonal veggies but had more of lettuce and pok choy . It was bland and had no taste, I could have had raw veggies instead which would be more healthy . I think if Monk wants to retain the position they have had then the team has to put its act together all over again. I would not say that I will never visit again, but surely expect a lot of improvement when I visit again, shall keep all readers posted!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gourmetboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Monk_Gurgaon, Manager at The Monk, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear Guest,

We thank you for dining with us and sharing your experience. The Monk is among the popular restaurants in Gurgaon and is known for its authentic Oriental cuisine. We are disappointed to learn that your dining experience was not upto your expectations. We have made a note about your concern regarding the quality of food and the services, and assure you that corrective actions will be taken at the earliest.

Once again, thank you for the feedback. We look forward to offering you an overall wonderful experience.

Best Regards,
Amit Jakhar
Food & Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Conveniently located, comfortable ambience. You dont have to worry about parking (valet available)

The place has a limited seating and more often than not, you will find yourself waiting, especially on weekends. Weekdays you could probably get lucky.

Safe to say, the most authentic chinese food, this side of the city.
However, a word of caution though. This is not the place to go to, if you like your chinese spiked up or Tadka Chinese (yup, that's what I cal the indianised-chinese).

The liquor choices are good. The cocktails are very innovative and delicious too.
Food is simply amazing and I think by now, I would have tried everything on the menu having been there so many times. my all time fave is - Pan Fried Wheat Noodles with chicken in ginger chilly sauce.

The price point is high. But then, you don't mind spending that extra bit coz of the fulfillment of your taste buds..

Must try!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MDhiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Monk_Gurgaon, Manager at The Monk, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to dine at The Monk once again and for sharing your personal experience here on TripAdvisor. We are always delighted to hear from our esteemed diners and food enthusiasts.

We are happy to know that you had a pleasurable time on your recent visit and that we were once again able to please your taste buds. Your kind words of appreciation have been conveyed to the team in the kitchen and they are really excited and motivated to continue to strive to provide a wholesome experience to our guests.

Located at The Galaxy Hotel & Spa, Gurgaon, our diners have the facility of valet parking and are glad that it added a value of convenience to your overall experience. Also, as you have great taste and were impressed with the innovative cocktails served at The Monk, we must inform you that we have five other dining spaces that offer creative cuisines from different continents altogether. Including The Monk, Axis, Terroir, Howzatt, Beanstalk & Ultra Premium, these venues represent the best in Gurgaon’s contemporary dining.

Once again, thank you for repeated patronage. We would deem it a privilege to serve you again.

Best Regards,
Amit Jakhar
Food & Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Once upon a time, Monk was rated the best chinese in the NCR. When we started visiting Monk some years back, we realized why. One of the best Dimsums, and their sticky rice and authentic flavors were great, and we kept going back to them again and again. And then there was a long break till yesterday, and we decided to take our visiting family members remembering the great food.

So whats different. To begin with, our mood went rapidly downhill on finding that the aircon was on the blink and we were sweating through the starters. Not entirely their fault, as the restaurant is located in a shopping arcade. From there, it went more downhill.

The Dimsums that we remembered so fondly were nothing what we had eaten before. The outer skin was breaking and sweating water. The meat inside was harder than it used to be. In short, just another chinese place, nothing to write home about.

The main course when it came, had lost the flavors that it was famous for. The sticky rice was not sticky, it was hard and congealed and had to be cut up. The fish in XO sauce didn't taste of anything special.

But the worst was the service. You go to a restaurant and pay through your nose for good food and attentive service. The staff was going through the motions and were inattentive. They took ages to clear away the starters service, and had to be reminded twice. Fresh plates were brought without removing the dirty service, and the staff acted as though it was normal for them to put fresh plates and leave the dirty service trays on the table. Twice they had to be reminded to bring fresh forks and spoons. The idea didn't seem to strike them on their own. The complimentary chopsticks had disappeared, only to to be provided on being asked. On leaving, we glimpsed the staff washing chopsticks, possibly for re-use. Uggghhh.

We left disappointed. And for the price we paid, there are far better options available.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sanjay44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Monk_Gurgaon, Manager at The Monk, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Dear Guest,

We thank for your recent stopover at The Monk and for your feedback. The Monk is counted amongst famed Chinese diners in Delhi NCR where our patrons can try out an array of delicacies. Though it is nice to know that you have been visiting us for last few years, it is disappointing for us to learn that your dining experience with us was not what we had aimed for. We regret the inconvenience caused to you and would like to assure you that it may have been rare incident and is surely not a norm at The Monk.

We hope to get another opportunity to host you again and offer you the best of our service.

Best Regards,
Amit Jakhar
Food & Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Amazingly nice. A perfect combination of shopping, hopping and dining out experience. Great food with freshly brewed beer.

Thank wsherwaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Monk_Gurgaon, Manager at The Monk, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to dine with us and sharing your valuable feedback on this public platform. Our restaurant, The Monk, offers a wide variety of authentic oriental delicacies in a zen-inspired ambience. The personalized service of our staff and the availability of freshly brewed beer have made us a favorite among residents as well as walk-in guests, however it is feedback from patrons like you that inspires us.

We are delighted to know that you had a fun-filled experience with us. Once again thank you for this wonderful review and we hope to host you again sometime soon

Best Regards,
Amit Jakhar
Food & Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Monk also viewed

Gurugram (Gurgaon), Gurgaon District
Gurugram (Gurgaon), Gurgaon District
 
Gurugram (Gurgaon), Gurgaon District
Gurugram (Gurgaon), Gurgaon District
 

Been to The Monk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing