We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A retreat from city life!”
Review of The Fort Ramgarh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Fort Ramgarh
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Panchkula
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A retreat from city life!”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

It is located in a remote area out of Chandigarh, Panchkula cities. The concept is nice but a lot needs to be taken care of. I had attended a party recently at there Golf site. The approach is a bit difficult as the road to the venue is not maked very clearly and one tends to forget the direction. There need to be proper signs to reach the venue.
Food was good and the arrangements were fine too but the aminities like toilets were not in very good condition and not kept clean.
The authorities need to take care of basic amninities and it will be a great destination for a retreat.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harsh L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    27
    14
    7
    14
See reviews for
37
10
Solo
0
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
252 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I came here for Lunch.
The fort is old with the largest wooden gate in India.
This restaurant is 100% veg with no alcohol which at lunch is no problem.
The people that were with me were surprised to see Tandori Fruit as they had also never seen this so we tried it. The fruit was cooked in a Tandoor on a skewer with a sauce. This dish did not invite a repeat order and we can say that we have tried it. The sauce did not add and rather detracted
The rest of the food was very good.
The service was excellent, not too cloying as sometimes is in India and the service fast.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Bustrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandigarh, Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2013

The Visit and Stay at The Ramgarh Fort Was Excellent.I arrived with my friend around 11 pm in the night.Staff was very hospitable,Especially the manager of Hotel.We Stayed there for 3 days.Delicious Breakfast and Lunch.Tunnel Museum was amazing.At The end,Stay at Ramgarh ForT was a pleassure

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 71Yaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandigarh, Chandigarh, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2013

The visit and stay at The Fort Ramgarh was memorable experience. The food quality and services are excellent.
The major thing was the personalized service and attention provided by all the staff specially
Mr. R.D,SHARMA .

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SHARADKS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaithal, Haryana, India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

The Restaurant of the hotel serves very delicious food. Specially Rajastahni One. A dish made of PAPAD has a very good taste. The staff is very polite and good. The style of serving food is very good.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajivved
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We booked a Rs5000 room with tax it came to around 5900. The room was ok but the bathroom was too old with no tub. It was as if living in a house in India in 1970's. We reached at night. The chap took a minutes to switch on the lights. The fittings in the bathroom, though of Jaquar, were probably more than 10 years old. We had to attend a wedding and checked out in the morning so we didn't make a fuss. And yes, the Tata Sky dish went blank. It said recharge required. On asking the desk that it was working at night and now why has it stopped, I was told that yes, the recharge has to be done. Silly, you keep a sony LCD and no channel to watch. The restaurant is purely vegetarian. So no english breakfast or eggs. You'd better eat parantha's at Murthal than there. The mushroom toast was good though. The property and rooms require a bit of investment but sadly the owner has invested that money on a Rolls Royce. This is on display and you wonder why are you not sleeping in the Rolls instead of the rooms.

Room Tip: I advice, avoid it. Get a room at the new resort in Morni hills. We attended the mehndi sangeet ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amit K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Panchkula hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

My husband and I quite enjoy looking round forts but this is the first time we have actually stayed in one. Lovely experience. This is a genuine heritage fort which has been quietly and genteely transformed into a hotel. Our room was spacious, had nice old furniture and an old-fashioned bathroom with just enough mod cons to make it comfortable. Only thing missing was warmth. it was a very cold day when my husband and I arrived and the room was stony cold. We had to ask for a portable heater and although one was supplied it didn't work for long and we had to request a replacement. The manager arranged for a staff member to take us on a .tour of the Fort It is a very attractive place and has a secret underground passage which we walked through bent double because it was very low. We enjoyed dinner in the very attractive dining room and it seems popular with local people. Breakfast was a let-down because although the room card stated that breakfast was available from 7.00 am onwards we found that the kitchen staff had not arrived and the proper breakfast menu would not be available until 7.30 am onwards. We had to leave early to travel to Delhi and managed to persuade hotel reception to rustle up toast for me and a paratha for my husband. All in all this is quite a good hotel but this is due more to the fort ambience than the professionalism of the management.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mumsy96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panchkula hotels
0.1 mi away
Ramgarh Heritage
Ramgarh Heritage
#4 of 11 in Panchkula
25 reviews
3.1 mi away
Golden Tulip Chandigarh Panchkula
3.9 mi away
WelcomHotel Bella Vista
WelcomHotel Bella Vista
#2 of 11 in Panchkula
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Chandigarh Panchkula
2.9 mi away
Hotel North Park
Hotel North Park
#6 of 11 in Panchkula
29 reviews
0.0 mi away
ANA Clarks Inn Panchkula
ANA Clarks Inn Panchkula
#7 of 11 in Panchkula
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fort Ramgarh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fort Ramgarh

Property: The Fort Ramgarh
Address: National Highway 73 | opposite Sector 28, Panchkula 134111, India
Region: India > Haryana > Panchkula District > Panchkula
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Panchkula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fort Ramgarh 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your The Fort Ramgarh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fort Ramgarh Hotel Panchkula
The Fort Ramgarh Panchkula, Chandigarh, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing