We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible view”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Himachal Pradesh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Banjara Camps - Thanedar
Reviewed 30 May 2013

While going to Sangla for our holiday we were booked in Banjara Orchard Retreat, Thanedar for a night. We had picked up the log huts and were really anxious as they were quite expensive.

When we reached there in the evening it was raining and we had just experienced hailstorm. We were wondering what to do, as the resort is a located at a level lower than the road.

Suddenly we were surprised to see 3 boys from the resort with umbrellas and we along with our luggage reached the resort safe.

We were served tea inside and the view was incredible.

In the evening there was a bonfire followed by the dinner. The owner Mr. Thakur sat with us throughout the bonfire & Mr. Sharma and his team made sure we were comfortable all the way.
The food is cooked home style. In breakfast they serve their own apple juice and cherries.
We were so impressed that we spent another night while we were returning from Sangla. But by that time the temperatures had gone up due to the heat wave in North India and it was quite hot in the afternoon in the log hut. I have suggested that they put curtains on the windows and I do hope they pay heed to my suggestion.

Room Tip: Try and book the log huts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rajeshwar Dayal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 63 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2013

Stayed there on 13th and 14th April. The expectations were high as was the price. The package was at INR 5000.00 per day with stay + 3 meals for couple and 2 kids (aged 3 & 9). Opted for a family suite (Cherry Suite) which has a living room + bedroom + toilet + Balcony. The suite is ok with wooden floor, no TV, No phones. The place has a no room service policy (not mentioned before we checked in- Its required with kids)

The Goods - Ambiance / Clean Air / The owner - Mr Thakur (Helped me with his laptop) / Food quality / the serving team / Valley Views

The Bads - Breakfast will end at 10 am / Dinner at 10 pm (Are you joking.....Are we on a vacation at a army camp) They will keep reminding you every 15 min until you say yes/no for food inside these timings....Looks like sleep deprived overworked or over planned staff. Only 10- 12 rooms and their plea is that they have to start preparing for next meal. I asked for soup and dinner for the younger daughter in room (which they supplied). Then my wife asked for a heated water cattle + 4-5 tea bags with a mug in the room (which they supplied with a little unwelcome gesture). Then I asked for a drinks glass + ice bucket in the room (which they supplied with they did not like either). Then I asked the manager for a plate of salad in the room and the pain became visible. He told me not to ask for things in the room as they have other guests who will start emulating and they only supply in the dining room or in the lawn.

Mr Thakur, please educate him that a single man cannot have drinks in public while others are having food. How can you expect someone to have drinks as per your wish???? We at vacations, expect no rules and regulations.....as we come to unwind these only.

All in all, a good place for foreigners and old age people ( as they eat in these timings and do not disturb the staff with room service). You can bet your money at your risk but I am sure that with Aamod coming up next week at Narkanda, the things are gonna get tough for Banjara....

3 out of 5 as we left with sour memories after wasting money. Anywhere else it would be awesome in that kind of expenditure.....And I know wise people will take this review positively..

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sachin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We spent 3 nights in this place and they were the 3 best days of our trip. From the time we checked in to the time we checked out, we were provided the best of service. The hotel is in an amazing location with breathtaking views. There is complete silence all around the place that we city-dwellers would die for.
The staff at the hotel is probably the best I have come across in any tourist hotel in this country - led by the owner Mr. Thakur. Though I did not have a chance to interact with him much, his attitude towards his guests is seen by the way his staff treats every guest. The team here truly embodies what Vijay Mallya claimed - "you are a guest in my own home".
The food is good, they are willing to customize it to your needs. Would absolutely recommend the apple chutney that they prepare here. They recommend picnic lunches for day trips - I have never seen such an elaborately packed picnic lunch in my life. 2 big bags for 2 people!!!
The hotel manager, Mr. Sharma, actually insisted on packing sandwiches for us the day we were checking out since it was a long drive.
All in all, was really sorry to leave this place. We will definitely go back there.

Room Tip: Go for a log hut - they are all close to the main building and give a different experience from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ritesh987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2012

I had been to Thanedar this October and chose to stay at Banjara Camp, Thanedar for one night before our trip to Sangla and Kalpa and also for another night during our return journey. I enjoyed the stay very much. It is peace and tranquility all around. The property is very good and it is within an apple orchard. In the background the peak Srikhand Mahadev stands tall and which turns golden during sunset. The in-house service and the quality of food served is very good. Mr. Thakur, who is all in all of this property, personally takes care of every guest. It is a place worth visiting.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ghosebhaskar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

few moments in life will make you a believer..one glance down the valley from hatu is one of them..
Reaching thanedar through a mountain laden drive is an exilharating experience..you'd be compelled to make stops to take in the expansive view of the breathtaking valley.. Once in Banjara, you will be given an option to chose from nut namesake rooms (apricot, chestnut) or 'log hut'. Needless to say, take the log hut..
the food is great (try the apple chutney), service even better, 'to die for' view of the mountains and cant miss the apple laden orchids all around...
things to do-
drive down/ up to hatu temple which is about 13 km from the resort but is every moment worth the drive, the view from the top will humble you..(height 3400 mts)
request owner of the property to appoint one of the guys to take you for a forest trek..
walk to St. Marys Church (although it can seem never ending in case you are not used to walking that much :-)
evening bonfire

Room Tip: 'log hut' all the way, though there is choice of vanilla rooms as well
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pritishnarula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

In April the white Cherry flowers take your breath away and the Banjara Resort at Thanedar does that too. We stayed only 1nt in Thanedar (enroute to Sangla), but the day was worth it.
We took in a 5km walk to the St. Marys Church, Kotgarh, through Thanedar village, Apple orchards with fresh buds, a slowly dipping evening sun, history and stories from our guide, and the cave of Samuel Stokes (father of Apples in Himachal).

The rooms were the original home of the propeitor, Mr. Prakash, and have the period charm with wooden floors and arches. They are very spacious for a family of 4.
The meals were well appointed and the warm rotis and puris added to the charm of the apple chutney. The dining room balcony was the added attraction with the evening cup-a-tea.
The blue-copper flames of the evening bonfire added a unique relish.

Great place, wish we were there longer.

Room Tip: The suite rooms are very spacious for a 2+2 family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank huzefac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Himachal Pradesh hotels
5.1 mi away
Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda
93.5 mi away
Ram Yoga House
Ram Yoga House
#85 of 1,467 in Himachal Pradesh
92 reviews
108.1 mi away
Himalayan Routes Camp
Himalayan Routes Camp
#1 of 7 in Sarchu
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Parvati River Cottage
0.0 mi away
Mulkila Adventures
Mulkila Adventures
#2 of 7 in Sarchu
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banjara Camps - Thanedar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banjara Camps - Thanedar

Address: Thanedar | Dist. Shimla, 172030, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 1,467 Speciality Lodging in Himachal Pradesh
Price Range: £275 - £294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing