We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Banjara Camps - Thanedar
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
LE GRAND(Manali)(Great Value!)
US$46
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Orchard Greens(Manali)
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fortune Park Moksha(McLeod Ganj)
US$127
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$150
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sun Park Resort Manali(Manali)(Great Value!)
US$67
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Golden Tulip Manali(Manali)(Great Value!)
US$94
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$60
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$384
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveller rating
41
20
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
41
20
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsapple treeshatu peakthe ownerforest walkmr prakashincluded in the priceservice was impeccablesmall propertypacked lunchtable tennisexcellent stayamazing placehot waterresortchurchbonfirechandigarh
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 63 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014

a short trip from Simla to Thanedar and you reach the camp overlooking the valley.

Rooms : excellently and tastefully done. the bathrooms however, could do with providing toiletries or better ones for those available and a bit of modernisation. there wasn't even a place to keep your toothbrushes.

Food : its a camp and not a hotel, so there is no room service and special times for buffet breakfast, lunch, tea and dinner. the food was AWSOME. you can also make requests for any specific cuisines that you may want. for those fond of their liquor, they don't serve anything there but they are happy to provide you with the other requirements if you get your own liquor (glasses, aerated drinks and so on). the non vegetarian BARBEQUE was AWSUM. the chicken tikka we had is not something that i have tasted EVER. anyone visiting must have this if its your choice of cuisine. the food cooked was just like home cooked food without the oils/spices as is wont in restaurants.

Activities : your choice of board games, to table tennis, to bonfires and so on. Treks to the church and Hatu Peak.

Staff : the best part......a totally super staff willing to go that extra mile to make you comfortable in the wilderness and get you to stretch yourself in the trekking activities. my compliments to them all.

Time To Go : May has the cherry crop so you can see all the cherries dangling from the trees.

Room Tip: not much to choose from. all overlook the valley. however, some suites are there in case of your requirement of a large room.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bhavik68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Our family of five visited in April 2014. This was just a rest stop for 2 nights on the way to Sangla Valley, but turned out to be a very pleasant experience. We reached in the night , after a very tiring journey from Chandigarh. Couldn't really see much of the resort that time. But we were instantly bowled over by the charming Mr. Sharma, the very efficient Manager of the place. By the way, one has to climb down a good number of steps ( may be around 80) from the parking to reach the resort.
We got first floor rooms. Rooms are simply appointed , but well maintained. The bathrooms are a bit small but spotless. The view is awesome, both in the day as well as in the night, when the whole valley gets lit up. One thing I want to specially mention is, they have very good quality room heaters. Even though they are portable, they were very efficient, able to heat up the large rom pretty quickly.
The food was the best part. Simple home style menus, but the chef really had a magic touch! Even a thing as simple as daal, tasted out of this world. The service in the dining room is very attentive, We just had to look up, and someone will be at our side instantly, including Mr. Sharma.
Mr. Sharma was also very helpful in suggesting us thing to do. We had only one day, so we did the Kotgarh walk, which we enjoyed very much. By the way Kotgarh is where the famous song "Piya Basanti re" was shot, as locals are fond of reminding you.
Unfortunately, the fruit trees were just coming into flower, even though the cherry was much ahead of others and in full bloom glory. Would love to visit again in the cherry season, and to sample the great food and amazing hospitality .

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Vidya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I went with my family in March 2013. we stayed for 2 nights and our stay was very good. We stayed in the Cottage. The view is amazing specially in the night when the surrounding area is all lit up. Mr. Thakur and his staff made us feel very welcome. The food was also good. Would love to visit again preferably in the fruit season and see the trees come to life.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Darsh2203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Thanedar was the first of our halt on the trip organised for us by banjaracamps.com. Our tour was Thanedar, Kalpa, Kaza and Sangla. So it was that we went to Thanedar from Chandigarh. The location where Banjara Resort is located is absolutely spot o beautiful. When we reached the resort, on 8th October 2013, we realised that we were the only guests at the place. Since the trip was already reserved earlier, we were put up in a room on the first floor of the resort. We actually had a choice of sleeping wherever we wanted The whole resort was openh to us. We were warmly wecomed by the staff. As we walked down to the resort, we started falling in love.

Immediately on reaching the place, the manager welcomed us, and arranged for hot tea n biscuits. This erally refreshed us after the journey. After checking into the room, we freshened up and started towards the dining room. Even though we were the only people, just me n my wife, the buffet spread was quite good. There was plenty of apple juice ( fresh) , The staff is the epitome of courtsey.
They were alert enough to our needs, and very helpful too. Mr Bittu Sharma - The manager then gave us tips of what we could do, the local trek that we could do , what little sight seeing can be done etc.
We were there only for one day, but we wished we could haqve been there for a couple more days just to relax a little more.

But on our next trip to HP, Thanedar is very much on our list. More importantly - Banjara Resorts.

Room Tip: The log room is a good option. Else, you can take in the suite on the first floor for a better view. Each room has a heater too.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nikhilrao68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in August and have been wanting to write a review for long...this is a place which will surely make u feel at home..if I were to showcase to the world what Himachal or himachali hospitality is then this will be my choice in HP...having stayed in Oberoi Wildflower and properties similar I can certainly say this, though both are two different segment properties and am not putting them in comparison..what a high quality food..you guys really made me eat so much...I am not able to put my experience into words..but let me assure you as avid traveller..one will love it 100%..all the best to the team at banjara..

Stayed: August 2013
3  Thank anilmibs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews