We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Calm Place with beautiful view of the Mountains”
Review of Tourist Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tourist Hotel
Ranked #36 of 126 Hotels in Manali
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed here from 7 june to 11 june 2014 on First floor room with a balcony.Has a very good view of the mountains and beautiful roses in the hotel garden.Room was spacious clean, bathroom too was clean and adequate.@7 min walk from the bylanes and about 12 mins walk via circuit house road to the mall.Room Service is good and staff is co-operative. Travel desk is ok need to be attentive dealing with them.If you like catching your news and soaps on TV that could be a problem cable reception(Local cable) not good at all.No WIFi available as mentioned on some hotel booking sites.
Overall a nice experience good calm place.

Room Tip: deluxe room on first floor 112,111,110 ,109. have the best unhindered view from balcony.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ravi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
There are newer reviews for Tourist Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

Hotel is fine n a very good location. It is just a walking distance from mall road. Hotel is located in a place with good views of snow covered mountains. Hotel is also good for people who are travelling with family

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
2  Thank Pankaj V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

When booking a budget hotel you know there are going to be compromises. As a teacher with a group of 16 British school kids, our stay at the tourist hotel was great.

Rooms were basic, Bed, Bathroom....but what more do you need? Rooms were spacious enough for groups of three to share, and with our 70l rucksacks and 30l days sacks each there was ample storage.

Some rooms even had nice balcony with great views of the mountains.

Hotel is like other reviews have said down some back paths, but not once did anyone get lost and we always felt safe to let the students go off in small groups to the town and back. We used Manali as a base to do practice hikes before heading off to more serious stuff elsewhere in the Himalayas.

In short if I was in Manali again I would have no problems about staying in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simonjb87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I stay at manali from 30 the may 2014 to 01 June 2014 in tourist hotel manali with my family . We had taken two rooms . The room size was very big and neat and cleaned . The bath rooms were not very attractive but it was OK . Room service for food was OK . Staff was very cooperative and had a very nice stay at hotel . Because the hotel is very old so electrical wiring is of old type . but they were working. The mountain view from the hotel is execillent. The location of the hotel is little trickey . It takes me about half an hour to find the hotel . The place is situated in narrow lanes but has enough parking space for no of cars. It is away from main road side and no noise of vehicles . I will stay again if I had been to Manali.

Room Tip: Room no 111 is very good.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Prabhat57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Don't judge the hotel with their website or any pictures . I stayed with my family for 3 nights . It was nightmare in staying in the hotel. There were several cockroaches and spiders in bathroom. The hotel was built in 1989 and thereafter none of the furnitures are replaced. No Wifi or TV functioning properly. Floors are damaged and carpets belong to old civilisation. Bulbs were not working and we have to buy on our own to install. The tiles in the bathroom were broken and bathrooms were not well maintained. Dirtiest hotel I have ever stayed in my life time !!! The hotel has 4.5 as trip advisor rating, which is artificial boost. It is not worth the rating as 2.0.

Room Tip: Choose in a serene atmosphere. Don't trust the websites or trip advisor rating.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mahesh1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
touristmanali, General Manager at Tourist Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Will any sane person believe that we would not have spare bulbs in the hotel and a very difficult customer using very abusive language with our staff, which even our other guests could not stand would make the effort to take out his precious holiday time to go to the market to buy an electric bulb to change in his hotel room. I presume our guest was expecting 5 star services while paying for a budget hotel. We wish that he finds a satisfying hotel in other destinations and luck to to the staff members of any other hotel he stays in .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I stayed here with my family..we booked 2 family rooms. Rooms was not as expected having water leakage in bathroom . Hotel room service is very slow. food is also not so good. Its difficult to locate as no sign boards provided.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DeepakHasani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed there from 19-21st April and it was amazing experience. Hotel staffs are humble, honest and soft spoken and very helpful. Starting from hotel manager Mr. Dharam to our driver Pankaj and room service all are great people.

Hotel is in a great location, isolated from crowd you could enjoy watching Himalaya for hours from your balcony. Walking distance from mall road, johnson lodge, hadimba temple is 2 km from hotel.

overall it was a very nice/enjoyable and relaxed trip and all thanks to hotel management. Wish to visit again.

Room Tip: Go for the independent balcony rooms for amazing views of Himalaya
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ronotosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manali hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Greenfields
Hotel Greenfields
#17 of 126 in Manali
271 reviews
0.3 mi away
Utopia Resorts & Spa, Manali
0.7 mi away
Hotel Vintage
Hotel Vintage
#18 of 126 in Manali
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Shingar Regency
Shingar Regency
#30 of 126 in Manali
146 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sun Park Resort Manali
Sun Park Resort Manali
#4 of 126 in Manali
992 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chichoga Holiday Inn
Chichoga Holiday Inn
#24 of 126 in Manali
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tourist Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tourist Hotel

Address: Circuit House Road, Manali, Manali Tehsil 175131, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kullu District > Manali Tehsil > Manali
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 126 Hotels in Manali
Price Range: £10 - £32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tourist Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This budget hotel is a hidden paradise and is very conveniently located just 1 Km from the bus station and the mall, off the Old Manali road. Most of the rooms are front facing and have independent balconies with beautiful views of the mountains. It also has a multi cuisine restaurant, spacious lawn, in-house laundry service and high speed internet facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tourist Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing