We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel but definitely not a 5 star- just 3 and a half.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Manuallaya -The Resort Spa in the Himalayas
Ranked #10 of 118 Hotels in Manali
Certificate of Excellence
Ghaziabad, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good Hotel but definitely not a 5 star- just 3 and a half.”
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We stayed at this hotel during the peak season i.e. New Year Time for 3 nights & 4 days. The hotel is not far off from the Manali Bus Station and it takes hardly 7-8 minutes to reach. Although, a local taxi may charge you higher claiming it is far off. It is better to get an auto or taxi on the fly rather booking it through hotel as it would definitely not be a value for money.

The entrance to the hotel is quite steep and while you may get excited thinking it is located on the higher side giving you better views but it may get real tough for anyone climbing the hotel in case you dare to climb on foot. This is one of the best hotel property in Manali but it would still not be value for Money. I booked a Valley View balcony room for me and my wife and were not very excited to see the room on the first look. Although, bathroom was kinda good which we are always particular about and hence we dint complain much. The hotel was running full and hence we could hear lots of noises from the narrow balcony for a 5 star hotel. The food at the hotel was okay too nothing lavish. However, breakfast was good with lots of varieties. The hotel has a travel desk of its own but it would again be better to book your trip for Rohtang/Marhi/Dhundi from outside the hotel as they charge extra. The hotel had a disc as well but it was strange not to see anyone in spite of being a new year party. Probably, everyone was busy just like us in listening to the in house Music arrangements done at the dine hall which was the best part of the trip.
The hotel has a sports room as well and most sports were charged. TT table at the hotel was in a sad state with literally very less space to play properly. Although, we enjoyed playing the badminton the garden area in bright sunshine. The spa at the hotel is a mere formality again.
In all, it was a good hotel to stay but definitely not a value for money thingy. But again there are not many better options in Manali. If i am travelling to Manali again, I may just go there again unless i find a better option.

Room Tip: I would suggest the traveller to atleast book a deluxe room or suite if you want luxury.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank atulagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    321
    137
    42
    10
    4
See reviews for
243
157
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
1 review
Reviewed 25 December 2011

We stayed here from 9th to 12th Dec, 2011. These guys have got many things right. The staff stand out for everything. We had a wonderful time. Food is excellent. We are going to have good memories of the time spent in Manali, thanks to a considerable extent because of Amby Hotel (now/also called Manu Allaya).
Way to go!
Arun Kumar
Bangalore

Room Tip: Go for duplex apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArunKumar1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Overall it was a very nice experience. Its away from the bustle of the town and so quiet. Got a very good view. Rooms were spacious and clean, except for two things which was the carpet in the room corridor was stinking and also the hot water system. It takes a long time for the Hot water and in the process wasting the water. Food was fantastic. Specially like the Mutton Roganjosh. Surely will stay there again if in Manali.

Room Tip: All rooms face the valley. So view is very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobby P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

We went for our honeymoon to Manali and spent 4 excellent days in this hotel. The plus point of the hotel is its excellent view. The locals say that this hotel has the best view in Manali. And we found it very very true. We took a deluxe room which was very much spacious, excellently decorated, very nice washroom and last but not the least….a mindblowing view of the mountain above the thin river which you can enjoy even from your bed. The staffs were friendly enough.

But we didn’t much like the food. Though there were varieties in Breakfast and dinner, we dint find it tasty at all. Then they didn’t keep a wine bottle, a palm cake in room which they had promised at the time of booking. There was one candle light dinner included in the honeymoon package. They only arranged for these after repeated requests. We got little irritated by this negligence as we were on our honeymoon.

In spite of the few negative points we loved the resort for its beautiful rooms and amazing views and would love to visit again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zinia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

we visited manali in first wek of nov 11, we were in group of 6 families. The stay was comfortable, the location of hotel is good. The balcony and arial view is mind blowing. We aould like to visit again. The hotel staff are co-operative and they arranged a lunch outdoor which was very nice experince.

Room Tip: they option are good , we stayed in 3rd floor it is very spacious. the balcony view is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Narikottil V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
200 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Have stayed at Manu Allaya more than a couple of times even when it was known as Ambassador like atleast a couple of years ago. Located with in the city centre, MAnu Allaya is a extremely comfortable place in Manali. Although we miss a lake view but the peaceful property more than makes up for it. Too good food and great service also . I happened to know Filmkaer Subhash ghai had shot saudagar here and a lot of bollywodd crew stay here. Quite a old property and experience and heritage show. It in a way quite old school heritage kind of a place . Not very comtemporary but pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ru80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

The Best place in Manali to stay . Excellent food , warm Welcome, Excellent staff. Excellent Spacious Rooms . Very clean Place and Above all very Helpful front desk.room service was in 1just 10 minutes. true to be rated as 5 star in manali.The rooms had a beautiful views and we liked it the most . Also beautiful Kids area and swings across. The Foyer , reception area we jsut loved it . I felt at home though on a Holiday. F& B manager constantly welcomed our suggestions and also offers Menu of our choice. True Spirit of hospitality.Would also luv to be back in this beautiful Hotel and Manali ofcourse!

Room Tip: Sunny side Valley View are the Best rooms.We stayed in Duplex rooms. It was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simran05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manali hotels
0.9 mi away
The Himalayan
The Himalayan
#1 of 118 in Manali
444 reviews
1.0 mi away
Apple Country Resort
Apple Country Resort
#9 of 118 in Manali
692 reviews
1.4 mi away
Honeymoon Inn Manali
Honeymoon Inn Manali
#6 of 118 in Manali
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sun Park Resort Manali
Sun Park Resort Manali
#4 of 118 in Manali
932 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Manali Inn
The Manali Inn
#8 of 118 in Manali
692 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Heights Manali
Holiday Heights Manali
#2 of 118 in Manali
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manuallaya -The Resort Spa in the Himalayas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manuallaya -The Resort Spa in the Himalayas

Property: Manuallaya -The Resort Spa in the Himalayas
Address: Sunny Side, Chadiyari, Manali, Manali Tehsil 175131, India (Formerly Ambassador Resort)
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kullu District > Manali Tehsil > Manali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Manali
#2 Luxury Hotel in Manali
#4 Family Hotel in Manali
#5 Spa Hotel in Manali
#6 Romantic Hotel in Manali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Manuallaya -The Resort Spa in the Himalayas 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MANUALLAYA- The Resort Spa in the Himalayas is situated in the tranquil green area of Manali, Himachal Pradesh. The location of the resort gives you a fantastic view of the Beas Valley and the majestic snow clad peaks at the Rohtang pass. The architecture is inspired by the local influences and provides a luxurious and comfortable atmosphere. Six and half acres of gardens have been landscaped at different levels to offer a feeling of tranquility and peace. Two natural streams on either side of the resort really enhance the ambience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Manuallaya -The Resort Spa in the Himalayas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manu Allaya Hotel Manali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing